We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like one of the family (without the chores)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Pleasure Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Western Pleasure Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like one of the family (without the chores)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

An active stay at Western Pleasure is an incredible experience. The accommodations are surpassed only by wonderful common areas of the lodge building. The meals (three squares a day, including the Tuesday night boat cruise on Lake Pend Orielle) were varied and excellent. This was my first horseback riding in many, many years. The instruction was perfect for my level, and would be well-suited to a rider of just about any level of proficiency. They own the most wonderful herd of mounts (21 available for guest riding) and their wrangler staff are all proficient, friendly, and patient with beginners (or re-acclimators). The other activities are well-planned and accomplished. The ranch property itself covers 1,100 acres and adjoins National Forest land, so the options for trail rides are very varied. The location is magnificently scenic, nestled between the Cabinet and Selkirk Mountains, with summer and winter recreational opportunities nearby (if you get tired of riding). The value for what I paid for my four-night stay was outstanding.

Above all, Janice and Roley give you the feeling that you're one of the family -- without having to do chores! They definitely pamper their guests and make them feel at home. I can't wait for my next opportunity to visit them.

One bit of advice: Don't rely on Google Maps for the last leg of the journey; you'll end up on a rutted dirt road going the wrong way. Use the printed directions that you get from the ranch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW_Roadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    9
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

I just got married here and I can not describe how beautiful this place is! Not to mention the staff is great! Janice always promptly returned my calls when I had questions while I was planning. The whole staff was very friendly! The night before my wedding and morning of it was raining really hard and Janice and her staff were ready with a plan B if we couldn't keep on with the feastivies outside. Luckily it cleared up and the sun came out but everything was wet but I didn't have to worry a bit Janice and her staff fixed everything and my day was perfect!!! Not to mention the food is amazing! Two mornings in a row they prepared breakfast right on time for all 40 members of my family staying there while still preparing my wedding dinner for 150!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay here. From the accommodations to the horse riding instruction to the food, the owners of this ranch, Janice and RoleIy, know what they're doing. It was a quality experience, one we will never forget. The ranch is pretty remote and somewhat rustic, with classic lodge and cabin architecture. Yet the cabin we stayed in was quite comfortable for a family of 4. Janice, Roley, and their entire staff were gracious hosts, patient with our clumsy inexperience. They all worked tirelessly to give us a great experience. I am truly impressed with the amount of effort they put into their operation. One special note about the food: we elected to spring for the all-inclusive American Plan. We were impressed with every single meal, from the thick, crispy bacon at breakfast to the beef tenderloin with pomegranate sauce for dinner. The excellent meals capped an already enjoyable experience and made it even more special.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mji2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My 1 1/2 year old daughter, my 80 year old grandmother and I came for the Steinborn/Eich wedding the weekend of July 13 - 15 and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Grandpas room, we had plenty of space easy access to the play yard for the kids and the large grass space outside. Our room was beautifully tucked away downstairs in the basement making it very peaceful and a bit cooler. The staff at the Ranch are very kind and friendly. When we arrived friday we were the first and a little out of place coming from out of town and not familiar with the town or even knowing other family members of the bride and groom and Janice stopped what she was doing and took care of us on the spot, The place is amazing, I would love to plan a trip back sometime with my whole family and experience the ranch experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aalfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great food and accomidations. Their special meals are very nice . This is a true Idaho esperience. The lodge is so cozy and the cabins are great for families

Helpful?
Thank patmcglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Why do we go back every year? Because this is a beautiful place with friendly people who work very hard to make sure our group (aged 2 to 72) all have excellent horses, great food and fun activities at an affordable price.
Whether you enjoy a comfortable trail ride with stunning scenery or more challenging ring work with western arena ‘games’ or advanced horsemanship training, their programs and expertise can’t be beat. If sitting on the veranda is more your speed, you have a lot of excellent choices and, usually, a friendly dog or two to keep you company.
Guests who stay in the rooms in the lodge proper get their own sitting area with high ceilings, games and lots of comfy seating. Those who stay in the beautiful log cabins have their own porch in the woods.
The grown-ups look forward all year to riding and shooting skeet while the kids all remember the cast Iron cook-outs with fiddle and guitar sing-along, horse shoes, play structure and more…. Horseback scavenger hunt anyone?

Room Tip: The lodge is great, but if you're staying for a while, the cabins are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleTechMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our family has stayed at the Western Pleasure guest ranch in the past and this year we sent the kids for the horsemanship camp while Mom and Dad took off for some alone time.

They had a great time. They had SO many experiences that they would never have the opportunity for where we live.

We felt so comfortable and safe leaving our kids in the care of Janice, one of the owners. She clearly loves her job and cares for each of the kids. Her husband and daughter Danielle also work closely with the kids.

We would be lucky to stay here again in the future!

Helpful?
1 Thank ncocacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort
14.2 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Sleeps Cabins
Sleeps Cabins
#1 of 3 in Sagle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
11.0 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Pleasure Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Pleasure Guest Ranch

Property: Western Pleasure Guest Ranch
Address: 1413 Upper Gold Creek Rd., Sandpoint, ID 83864
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Pleasure Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the trail less traveled lead you to the Western Pleasure Guest Ranch where you can choose from a variety of lodging options. Accommodations are offered in the 10,000 square foot main lodge, hewn from local timber and offering six spacious guest rooms, each with private bath. If it is your own private log cabin in the woods you are looking for, well, we have three to choose from. Envision the quiet solitude of a modern rustic cabin to relax in after a day spent riding, skiing, hiking, snowmobiling or enjoying the stunning scenery of North Idaho! These cabins can accommodate up to six, yet are cozy enough for two, with a queen bed in the main bedroom, a loft sleeping area with a queen and two twins, furnished kitchen, and classic wood stove heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Western Pleasure Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Pleasure Guest Ranch Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing