We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western Pleasure Guest Ranch Is An Amazing Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Pleasure Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Western Pleasure Guest Ranch Is An Amazing Adventure”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

My wife and I live in South Texas where things are very brown and hot during the summer. Going to Western Pleasure Guest Ranch in August was like visiting paradise for a week. We loved riding the trails through green canopies of tall pine trees with temperatures in the 70s and low 80s.

Almost all the Western Pleasure horses are related. The owners, Roley and Janice Schoonover, have taken special care in the selecting and breeding of their herd. What we didn't know about riding, we learned from expert wranglers in the arena. Safety was always foremost in all the rides. We all wore helmets.

Our accommodations looked like something you might see on a postcard. So idyllic. Although we stayed in the lodge in a room called "The Dude," named after John Wayne, we saw the cabin where our friends stayed with their three kids. The Schoonovers pay attention to detail as the rooms and cabins are decorated tastefully along with all the extras one would expect from an expensive hotel such as moisturizing lotion, etc.

My mouth still waters when I think of all the wonderful meals we enjoyed at Western Pleasure. Several times during our meals, Janice came to the table with a tray of fresh baked cookies. The Schoonovers are actively, involved owners. They make sure all their guests enjoy their stay. Also, I'll never forget the dutch oven meal around the camp fire. All the beef served at Western Pleasure comes from grass-fed cattle raised by Janice's brother on nearby ranch. For carnivores, it doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SojournerSouthPadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    9
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, IL
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Our family set out on a 16 day vacation out west. The Western Pleasure Ranch was, by far, the highlight of our trip.

Our 7 and 9 year old boys were in heaven and did NOT want to leave. We stayed in a cabin and participated in the American Plan. I was a little nervous about the 7 year old on a horse because he is little and can frighten at times. He did awesome. The gave the kids all the instruction they needed and matched them up with gentle horses. The wranglers were all amazing.

Janice was outstanding. She certainly went above and beyond allowing our kids to play games and do activities along with the kids in the horse camp. This meant Mommy and Daddy had some alone time!

The food at the lodge was great. Our cabin was stocked with popcorn, coffee, games, puzzles, anything you could need.

I only ranked cleanliness a little lower because we had a lot of bugs in our cabin. Large ants, earwigs and large spiders. Of course this is a CABIN in the WOODS, so that is somewhat expected. The lodge building was immaculate and the kids certainly enjoyed the pool table, the outdoor basketball court and playground area. We were even able to do our laundry before we left and borrowed glue from Janice to fix our son's glasses.

This place certainly treats you like a "guest" as opposed to a "customer" We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ncocacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Western Pleasure Ranch may be a bit out of the way, but worth every mile to get there. You can see pictures on their website and that is exactly what it looks like. We have been fooled before, but not at Western Pleasure. The Roley and Janice Schoonover and their family and staff are top notch, their horses are fantastic, and the rides are so much fun. There is never a dull moment while you are there. If you don't ride, you can take a trip to Sandpoint to a lovely little town and just enjoy a couple of hours browsing around and having something to eat. If you like wine, be sure to visit the Wine Bar over the Coldwater Creek store. If you like to knit or crochet don't miss the Yarn Store in Gordon's Crossing it was fantastic! I hated leaving Western Pleasure and can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan110350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My husband and I decided to do a weekend getaway. We booked at the Western Pleasure Ranch because it was out of town and have always wanted to take a sleigh ride. We checked in on a Saturday afternoon and when we got there the front desk lady said "The sleigh ride has to be cancelled, I was going to call you, but I forgot" Apparently there was some ice in January, making a sleigh ride too difficuly. I understand this, but REALLY wish I would have been called before we drove 3.5 hours to get there. I would have cancelled if I had known this. To top it off, I was sprayed by their cat and the heater broke in our room. No staff is up until 9am, so we froze in our room. Overall, this was a crappy experience. I wouldn't recommend this "ranch" and won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ahreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Unfortunately, we only had time for three nights, but it was absolutely the highlight of our ten day driving vacation. The wranglers were able to allow my almost seven-year old twins to ride their own horses, and they LOVED it. The lodge, cabins and surrouding acreage is immaculately maintained by Janice and Roley - I figured that they must have a staff of 10, but it's mostly the two of them plus their two children and some part time folks. And as our host, Janice made us feel more like visiting friends than paying guests. We're looking forward to going back next year for a whole week. Also, if you have children between ages 8 and high school age, consider the weekly kids camp - all of the kids that we met were having the time of their life.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChappySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

This lovely working horse ranch resides in a beautiful setting and is a warm family lodging. Situated just north of Sandpoint, Idaho, the lodge and family cabins are surrounded by forest and meadows which rival views in Banff and Switzerland. The Schweitzer Mountain is visible from the top of the sledding hill on the sleigh ride and the Lodge is all I dreamed it would be with it's 10,000 square feet.
We stayed in a family cabin which slept 6 in comfortable. warm beds. Their were ample quilts and a well stocked fire to keep us warm the week after Christmas. If we strated to experience cabin fever, we would go to the lodge to enjoy the Hot Tub, the poll table, or to watch a movie. I appreciated the fact that there were no phones or TVs in the cabins and I think that we didn't miss them once. We did not eat at the lodge although dinners of Prime rib, salmon, and barbequed ribs and chicken were available nightly. The food looked delicious when we happened into the dining room. The girls and their beaus took a sleigh ride and loved it! It seems that the nightly sleigh ride followed by the dinner is the bread and butter of the lodge and there were good crowds each night for that.

Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

I took my 15 year old grandson for a weeks stay at Western Pleasure. We had a great time and he loved the place.
Neither of us had ridden before but the wranglers had us in the saddle and going in short order. Instruction was given by competent people. We had horses that were easy for us to handle but big enough to support big guys. The trail rides were great.
The lodge is a beautiful log structure with big comfortable rooms for sleeping with big bathrooms. The food was marvelous. A variety of meals and each delicious.
The staff is friendly and the owners and their kids are delightful people. I cannot come up with a single negative. My grandson said it was the best vacation of his life. The other guests we met were equally pleased with their experience. Some of them had been there before and came back for more. I'd come back too.

  • Liked — The really great lodge. A log structure with big comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tallman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
12.3 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
14.2 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
10.4 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
14.0 mi away
Talus Rock Retreat
Talus Rock Retreat
#1 of 7 in Sandpoint
330 reviews
11.7 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Pleasure Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Pleasure Guest Ranch

Property: Western Pleasure Guest Ranch
Address: 1413 Upper Gold Creek Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864-4930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Pleasure Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the trail less traveled lead you to the Western Pleasure Guest Ranch where you can choose from a variety of lodging options. Accommodations are offered in the 10,000 square foot main lodge, hewn from local timber and offering six spacious guest rooms, each with private bath. If it is your own private log cabin in the woods you are looking for, well, we have three to choose from. Envision the quiet solitude of a modern rustic cabin to relax in after a day spent riding, skiing, hiking, snowmobiling or enjoying the stunning scenery of North Idaho! These cabins can accommodate up to six, yet are cozy enough for two, with a queen bed in the main bedroom, a loft sleeping area with a queen and two twins, furnished kitchen, and classic wood stove heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Western Pleasure Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Pleasure Guest Ranch Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing