We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe-inspiring experience!”
Review of Talus Rock Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talus Rock Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a beautiful part of our country Sandpoint, ID is located in! After a seven plus hour drive, my husband and I were greeted by our lovely hostess, Heather, along with her sweet dog, "Panda." Such an awe-inspiring get-away - unique in every way, yet welcoming, warm and relaxing. Our suite, the "Arbor guest room" included a magnificent octagonal copper-colored stamped ceiling and double headed tree shower.
Lovingly decorated and maintained, Talus Rock Retreat stands as a testament to the Pedersen family, who have worked hard to create a special place where they can "serve those who serve others." We would highly recommend that anyone considering a vacation in Northern Idaho check here first.

Room Tip: Visit the Talus Rock Retreat website and choose the room which best fits your needs. Whichever one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sons4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Beautiful, rustic retreat with panoramic views. Magnificent, warm, charming and relaxing. Our room was extremely comfortable and uniquely decorated. Has something special for all age groups. The keeper of the keys extremely kind, considerate and helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Depends on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This unique spot offers something for everyone. It is an amazing structure with each room lovingly made special. The grounds are wonderful! Beautiful scenery - a swimmable pond with paddle boat, pool and jacuzzi make it a relaxing and wonderful experience! Hostess Heather could not have been more interesting and helpful! If you want a break from motels as usual, this is for you! We had a marvelous time and loved every minute...

Room Tip: We were in the Kipling room and loved our view and the association. The suites downstairs were just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Room comfortable, staff welcoming, breakfast and layout unusual. Interesting architectural features, but it would have made more sense to have the toilet roll holder within reach of the toilet. Pint size bathroom and a loft which seemed to have no purpose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRWINK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the retreat when it first opened. It was an extraordinary experience then,having the whole ground floor to ourselves. I just happened to get on the site today wondering if the picture they had taken of us was still on the site but it wasn't.
Someone said that it was not worth the price, I can't imagine what their expectations are.
Wonderful place and I'm thinking of a family reunion there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a lovely bed and breakfast! Very private retreat - we loved meeting Heather and Rebecca, both were extremely helpful and friendly. Our dog enjoyed playing with Panda. We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for our tenth wedding anniversary and will not be back.

Bad service from the start. When we called to verify our reservation the person on the phone acted put out and asked didn't we get the initial email after booking it online.
It was a very odd to stay here it felt like paying to stay in someone else's room. The room was dirty, especially the tub, it has green stuff growing in the jets. Sheets were safely pinned to the bed. The trash can was lined with a grocery bag. They had a couple closets covered with a curtin that had a note saftey pinned to it saying it was the owners stuff and to keep out. Our breakfast was a Yoplay and store bought granola. Not to mention all the outside furniture was cheap or falling apart. The person who checked us out had to ask us how much we needed to pay despite the fact that there was only one other group staying there.

Not what you expect from the #1 rated place in Sandpoint or for the almost $300 a night price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sasha701x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hpedersen, Owner at Talus Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Sasha:

Thanks so much for your candid review and bringing a few items to our attention; it is feedback like yours that make us stronger and better and I would like the opportunity to address each issue. First, please accept my sincere apology that you had inadequate service from the start at Talus Rock Retreat. I am unsure as to whom you spoke to confirm your reservation, but I can assure you that this is not the way we address any of our guests and I do again, apologize on their behalf.

The family members of the home do have personal closets in which they keep their things, and to prevent guests from seeing them, these areas are clearly labeled with tags that state, "Private Closet. Please Respect, Thanks!" I am not surprised curiosity got the best of you (it certainly does me!) and you found yourself peeking, which is totally fine, but please don't say we didn't warn you!

Based on your feedback, we did manage to get the hard water stains out of the jetted tub with Q-tips and bleach, so thank you for bringing that to our attention; we do apologize that the jets were not properly cleaned for your stay here and now have edited our cleaning checklist a to inspect the jets routinely.

With regard to the plastic grocery bags in our cans, please understand that although we are a retreat of abundance (as well as a country of one), we do choose to recycle plastic grocery bags using them for a secondary purpose of trash can liners in guest bathrooms. While they might not be completely aesthetically pleasing, this is only one of the ways we seek to employ good earth stewardship.

The bed skirt is indeed pinned to the bottom of the box spring to keep it from shifting around endlessly keeping it stay together in one place. We are sorry that they were exposed in such a way that made you think the actual sheets on the bed were safety pinned together.

Breakfast is continental style, and even though you stayed in a suite that was also stocked with milk, juice, English muffins, bagels, yogurt, and granola, there's duplicate food offerings in the main kitchen that is available for all guests. You are correct: the granola we serve at the retreat is purchased from the grocery store, but what you might not know is that it is actually locally made.

Finally, the outside furniture does go through some extreme weather and unpredictable changing of seasons up in here in North Idaho, even though we do store it under shed for the winter. The furniture can look worn from time to time, and it sounds like it is time to carve out some funds for an upgrade as we do try to replace things in less than great condition.

Again, Sasha, we sincerely apologize for the lack-luster stay that both you and your husband experienced here at Talus Rock Retreat. Please call us if you'd like to give us another try and see for yourself the changes made due to your critique!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
2.1 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
2.9 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 6 in Sandpoint
89 reviews
7.1 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talus Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Rock Retreat

Address: 291 Syringa Hts, Sandpoint, ID 83864-7318
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range: £93 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talus Rock Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the privacy and peacefulness of Talus Rock Retreat for your special getaway. A private, chic, and eclectically elegant timber frame and Tuscan-style retreat, this exceptional property caters to those who appreciate nature combined with old world charm. With 6 individual suites available, the cozy provisions can be enjoyed by a couple for a weekend getaway, a romantic honeymoon, a pristine mountain vacation, or a simple get-away to enjoy rejuvenation and inspiration. Or, take the tranquil villa in its entirety to accommodate an intimate extended family reunion of up to 24 people, a spectacular rehearsal dinner, an indoor catered holiday gathering, or a corporate or other non-traditional, informal group affair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Talus Rock Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talus Rock Retreat Hotel Sandpoint
Talus Rock Retreat Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing