We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An inspiring time of beauty and relaxation!”
Review of Talus Rock Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talus Rock Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, WA
1 review
“An inspiring time of beauty and relaxation!”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The Talus Rock is a beautiful place ran by friendly and wonderful people. Never have I traveled and felt like I was at home. Having full access to a house that has several rooms and an extremely comfortable movie room kept it interesting and relaxing. The hosts are very accomodating and welcoming. There is so much to look at and enjoy from knick knacks to dogs to scenery to a goat. As far as the showers and beds, everything was clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay at the Talus Rock again with pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobp_ike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    13
    0
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
204
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brookings
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed at Talus Rock Retreat for our honeymoon. It was amazing. Heather and Bruce were great hosts. We stayed in the Nooma Room, which is as big as most peoples houses. The heated floors were cozy, and the view was spectacular. Heather admits to lacking in the "breakfast" skills, so the refrigerator was well stocked with stuff for a quick and easy breakfast. Our favorite memory though, was of Twinklebell, the goat. She quickly greeted us and made herself quite at home with us when we would return for the evenings. When the pool and spa are completed, it will cap off beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyGhost29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

A wonderful place to stay in Sandpoint! Beautiful home in a gorgeous setting and a wonderful family. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, ID
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere local for our honeymoon to keep expenses down and Talus Rock was the perfect place! Very reasonably priced, welcoming hosts, and extravagant craftsmanship throughout the house. We stayed in the Kipling room our first night and the Arbor room the second and third. Both had beautiful aspects but we especially enjoyed the tree shower and jacuzzi right next to the bed in the Arbor room. Our host Heather even had roses and a wedding gift waiting for us when we arrived! Very sweet and endearing qualities that sealed our love of the place right away. The only (and I mean only) thing we would have improved would be blinds on all the windows (being our honeymoon and all). Although the windows without blinds only looked out on the backyard, it was a little disconcerting not having complete privacy from the outside world (especially with the shower and tub facing the windows). But this definitely didn't take away from the experience and we will be back when we get the chance. Would be a great place to take the family, as well as a romantic getaway. Just walking around the house and looking at all the intricate and beautiful details that went into the design is a treat in itself!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandpoint_Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We have travelled the world, stayed in hotels, B&B's, lodges, cabanas, campgrounds and finally this retreat and I can assure you that you won't be disappointed with this one. Heather, Bruce and their great kids are the perfect hosts. They have great attitudes towards life and have the goods to make you feel special, love and respected. Smiles, attention to details during your stay,friendly manner and helpful tips, its all part of the marvellous experience we had at the home of Heather and Bruce. And I am not talking about the beautiful house and land, the cute animals and the serenity you feel when you breathe the fresh air of the forest. Go see for yourself. You will comeback with energy to spare and stories to tell. We loved it. Thank you. Merci beaucoup.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPRINGIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Enjoyed the thoughtful design of the house and the spacious rooms. The grounds and animals were fun to look at through the large picture windows. I would have enjoyed a greater sense of privacy though. Heather was a kind and helpful host, always available to offer tips and information about the local spots.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnbjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We so much appreciated the kind hospitality, comfort, clean interior with everything you can think of at your finger tips. I have a background in interior design and was so impressed with the thought put into each room, down to the placement of antiques mixed with world travel finds. We left to get back to Seattle and stayed at the very impressive "Davenport Hotel" in Spokane and wished we had stayed back at Talus.. It was an experience that a fancy Hotel could never capture.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tractor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
2.1 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
3.0 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
3.6 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleeps Cabins
Sleeps Cabins
#1 of 3 in Sagle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
#2 of 6 in Sandpoint
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talus Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Rock Retreat

Property: Talus Rock Retreat
Address: 291 Syringa Hts, Sandpoint, ID 83864-7318
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Talus Rock Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the privacy and peacefulness of Talus Rock Retreat for your special getaway. A private, chic, and eclectically elegant timber frame and Tuscan-style retreat, this exceptional property caters to those who appreciate nature combined with old world charm. With 6 individual suites available, the cozy provisions can be enjoyed by a couple for a weekend getaway, a romantic honeymoon, a pristine mountain vacation, or a simple get-away to enjoy rejuvenation and inspiration. Or, take the tranquil villa in its entirety to accommodate an intimate extended family reunion of up to 24 people, a spectacular rehearsal dinner, an indoor catered holiday gathering, or a corporate or other non-traditional, informal group affair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Talus Rock Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talus Rock Retreat Hotel Sandpoint
Talus Rock Retreat Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing