We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular natural beauty, extraordinary lodging, great hosts!”
Review of Talus Rock Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talus Rock Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I have travelled the world several times and always look for the best places to stay, but Talus Rock is now on the top of the list of my favorites. The views are spectacular: snow capped mountains in the distance, framed by big trees and a lake in the front yard. The rooms (suites, actually) are all uniquely constructed and decorated, and with the great bed and fresh air I haven't slept as soundly in ages. You couldn't find better hosts; Heather and Bruce are perfect. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastMikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2010

The Talus Rock is a beautiful place ran by friendly and wonderful people. Never have I traveled and felt like I was at home. Having full access to a house that has several rooms and an extremely comfortable movie room kept it interesting and relaxing. The hosts are very accomodating and welcoming. There is so much to look at and enjoy from knick knacks to dogs to scenery to a goat. As far as the showers and beds, everything was clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay at the Talus Rock again with pleasure!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobp_ike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed at Talus Rock Retreat for our honeymoon. It was amazing. Heather and Bruce were great hosts. We stayed in the Nooma Room, which is as big as most peoples houses. The heated floors were cozy, and the view was spectacular. Heather admits to lacking in the "breakfast" skills, so the refrigerator was well stocked with stuff for a quick and easy breakfast. Our favorite memory though, was of Twinklebell, the goat. She quickly greeted us and made herself quite at home with us when we would return for the evenings. When the pool and spa are completed, it will cap off beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyGhost29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

A wonderful place to stay in Sandpoint! Beautiful home in a gorgeous setting and a wonderful family. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere local for our honeymoon to keep expenses down and Talus Rock was the perfect place! Very reasonably priced, welcoming hosts, and extravagant craftsmanship throughout the house. We stayed in the Kipling room our first night and the Arbor room the second and third. Both had beautiful aspects but we especially enjoyed the tree shower and jacuzzi right next to the bed in the Arbor room. Our host Heather even had roses and a wedding gift waiting for us when we arrived! Very sweet and endearing qualities that sealed our love of the place right away. The only (and I mean only) thing we would have improved would be blinds on all the windows (being our honeymoon and all). Although the windows without blinds only looked out on the backyard, it was a little disconcerting not having complete privacy from the outside world (especially with the shower and tub facing the windows). But this definitely didn't take away from the experience and we will be back when we get the chance. Would be a great place to take the family, as well as a romantic getaway. Just walking around the house and looking at all the intricate and beautiful details that went into the design is a treat in itself!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandpoint_Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We have travelled the world, stayed in hotels, B&B's, lodges, cabanas, campgrounds and finally this retreat and I can assure you that you won't be disappointed with this one. Heather, Bruce and their great kids are the perfect hosts. They have great attitudes towards life and have the goods to make you feel special, love and respected. Smiles, attention to details during your stay,friendly manner and helpful tips, its all part of the marvellous experience we had at the home of Heather and Bruce. And I am not talking about the beautiful house and land, the cute animals and the serenity you feel when you breathe the fresh air of the forest. Go see for yourself. You will comeback with energy to spare and stories to tell. We loved it. Thank you. Merci beaucoup.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPRINGIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Enjoyed the thoughtful design of the house and the spacious rooms. The grounds and animals were fun to look at through the large picture windows. I would have enjoyed a greater sense of privacy though. Heather was a kind and helpful host, always available to offer tips and information about the local spots.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnbjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
2.9 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
2.1 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Pend Oreille Shores Resort
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
174 reviews
7.1 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talus Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Rock Retreat

Address: 291 Syringa Hts, Sandpoint, ID 83864-7318
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range: £107 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talus Rock Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the privacy and peacefulness of Talus Rock Retreat for your special getaway. A private, chic, and eclectically elegant timber frame and Tuscan-style retreat, this exceptional property caters to those who appreciate nature combined with old world charm. With 6 individual suites available, the cozy provisions can be enjoyed by a couple for a weekend getaway, a romantic honeymoon, a pristine mountain vacation, or a simple get-away to enjoy rejuvenation and inspiration. Or, take the tranquil villa in its entirety to accommodate an intimate extended family reunion of up to 24 people, a spectacular rehearsal dinner, an indoor catered holiday gathering, or a corporate or other non-traditional, informal group affair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Talus Rock Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talus Rock Retreat Hotel Sandpoint
Talus Rock Retreat Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing