We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of K2 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandpoint
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
K2 Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The K2 isn't the worst place you could stay, but it certainly isn't that nice. Our room didn't look nearly as cheerful as the photo above, but the bed was fairly comfortable and the linens were clean. The bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have liked, and the room was stuffy.

We were looking for a budget room for a one-night stay in Sandpoint that was dog friendly. K2 fit the bill. The man at the front desk was very friendly, and Sandpoint is quite charming.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, but it did the job.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiegirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at K2 Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
I'm very sorry that your room didn't meet your expectations. One of the main comments we get from guests is that our rooms are much cleaner than average, so I am very disappointed that you had issues with the cleanliness of the bathroom. The rooms being 'stuffy' is also another comment that I haven't heard from other guests. Had these issues been brought to my attention at any time during the stay we would have done our best to correct them by any means at our disposal. The only way we can fix problems with rooms is if we are informed of them. I have contacted this reviewer and will address the issues stated above and any others that they may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    25
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
36
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

A very nice, cheap and clean place to live. Staff is amazing, we arrived late in the night and they left room open for us without even charging us. Location is excellent. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Single queen rooms are little smaller but enough for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhawarKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

At the K2, you are staying at the local family-run option. The rooms are clean, small, and affordable.

We stayed in the room across from the office for two nights. The first night we stayed, there were some partiers staying next door, and there was a door in our room that could be used to connect to their room. As a result, you could hear every word of the drunken reverie. I called the hotel manager (and woke him up, sorry!) and he went out and asked them to be quiet. We didn't hear a peep after that.

You'll be spending your time upstairs at Eichardt's anyways, so save some money for pints of brew!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My week at the K2 inn was perfect. The room (which was actually 2 rooms with a kitchenette) was spacious and immaculate. The management was friendly and accommodating. The central location was key, and the L shaped structure with the square office within it gave cover and privacy from the noise and activity of the street. I shopped hotels before choosing the K2, they also had the best price localy. The chocolate muffin in the morning was pretty good too.

Room Tip: 35 and 36 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank menephtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Some rig, Somewhere
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great spot to catch the free shuttle up to Schweitzer or walk to great food and music like Cody Beebe & the Crooks at DiLuna's Cafe. Rooms are perfectly legit, friendly staff and even a little kitchenette to save from always dining out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Rolled into town on a Friday night and after a call from where we had dinner, we were able to get a room at the K2 Inn. Not fancy but the rooms have been redone and are clean, comfortable but basic. Home baked muffins and coffee in the morning. The owner took the time to look up the road conditions north of Sandpoint which was great of him. Good place to stay when you plan to be away most of the day, easy walk to town - close to brew pubs and resturants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiedagarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed at the K2 for almost a week. The new owners were so amazing and friendly. I was born and raised in Sandpoint and my memories of the K2 have always been good, but now I can say they are stellar. I felt at home the whole time I was here and the rates are the best in town. If you want to stay in town, walk everywhere and feel that local small-town love that Sandpoint is famous for, you should definitely stay at the K2. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay31978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 6 in Sandpoint
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
#2 of 6 in Sandpoint
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K2 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K2 Inn

Property: K2 Inn
Address: 501 N 4th Ave, Sandpoint, ID 83864-1512
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Sandpoint, the K2 Inn offers clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. From single queens to our 2 bedroom suite, all rooms include microwave, refrigerator, flat panel HDTV, WiFi and our light continental breakfast. We're within walking distance of virtually everything downtown Sandpoint has to offer and just one block from the S.P.O.T. Shuttle stop if you're heading to Ponderay or Schweitzer. You don't have to sacrifice comfort, convenience or amenities to save money. Come stay with us and see why our guests say we're the best place to stay in Downtown Sandpoint. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
K2 Inn Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing