We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Soup, Sandwich & Pie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pie Hut

The Pie Hut
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Sandpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Soup, Sandwich & Pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We drove to Sandpoint to go to the farmers market and discovered the Pie Hut. My wife had a delicious veggie panini while I had the chilli soup and peanut butter chocolate pie.The service was good as was the chilli soup and pie. The only problem I had was with the back of the bench I was sitting on. I guess a nail or something was protruding and I snagged my brand new shirt. I would have mentioned it at the The Pie Hut but I did not notice it until later that evening and we were about 40 miles away. You need to bring cash as they do not accept any credit cards.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    32
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pie! What's not to love?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I love their giant selection of pies, obviously. I've been in for lunch several times. I'm always happy with my meal. Their soup is homemade, as are the pies. Everything is always fantastic. I know that's a very general statement, but it truly is awesome. My favorite pie is the chocolate pecan or the lemon cream. This is one place I don't miss when I'm in town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Upon our visit to Sandpoint, we heard good things about The Pie Hut so we stopped for lunch. The Thai soup was amazing and the sandwiches were all good. The highlight was the pie and with the staff suggestion of lemon sour cream being their top seller, we opted for that and butterscotch. The lemon sour cream was so good we stopped again before leaving Sandpoint to pick one up to take home. Truly a little gem with awesome food!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FluffyBunnyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Coulee, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pie Hut.... totally worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Pie Hut is the real deal. Friendly staff, great soup and sandwiches, and the pies are to die for. Pie selection is truly incredible. Atmosphere is quaint. It is a little tight but nice small town atmosphere. The owner is an awesome lady and, with her staff, make most items from scratch. Service is really friendly and efficient. There ya go ....secret is out now. You are in the inner circle now. Try it out. I am local and, when I take my family out to eat, our first choice is the Pie Hut.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This one is a bit hard to find but totally worth it. Everything is fresh and delicious. The cream of mushroom soup was worth the drive from Hayden. The pie was excellent. The service was great. The locals know about this one and anyone in Sandpoint for the day should plan on lunch here. There's an interesting antique store next door for shopping after lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pie Hut also viewed

 

Been to The Pie Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing