We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If looking for something different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Magnolia Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If looking for something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at Sweet Magnolia for one night on our way back to Canada. The location is superb, very close and walking distance to everything. While Jill was friendly enough, it was Cal that was particularly warm and welcoming and breakfast was delicious! The toilet/bathroom was a bit awkward/small but apart from that the room was spacious and well maintained. The reason I am rating 4/5 rather than 5/5 is for sleep quality/value.

Due to the age of the house, the hardwood floors, although beautiful were quite squeaky and we found we could hear our neighbours walking around, getting in and out of bed, up during the night and early morning etc. as well as people shuffling outside our door. I also felt bad moving around as I was worried I was waking neighbours up too. I did also find it was a bit overpriced relative to a lot of other BnBs I have stayed in but regardless, the property, location, and breakfast make it a pleasant place to stay in Sandpoint, especially where there are not a ton of the beaten track options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal O, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Old Cal is starting to notice a pattern - 3 years, three reviews that I felt compelled to respond about and ALL THREE ARE CANADIANS ON THE WAY HOME FROM A LONG TRIP late in the season...grumpy? already spent your budget? dreading the long ride home? No idea...BUT if you take 3 - 5 minutes and look at our website, you can't help but notice that the inn was built in 1907. Maybe it isn't obvious to all, BUT THE FLOORS DO SQUEEK IN AN OLD HOUSE, as do the stairs. Fans are provided in each room to provide white noise. Obviously, I can't control when the other guests come and go and I have no desire to do so. I can report that 99.9% of our guests claim to have an extraordinary night's sleep while here.

As for the value issue, I have covered this before. Our season is July/August/Sept. If you choose to visit then, you will indeed pay more than you will in the off season. If you want to buy cheap, you will get what you pay for. There are $75 rooms in CDA at Motel 6 and several lower priced options in Sandpoint, where you will get what you get. If you consider a minimal amount of value for the gourmet coffee and a pretty darn good breakfast, not to mention the charming hosts, our prices are really too low.
So if you are trying to save a Looney on the way home, you should stay somewhere else.
70% of our guests are Canadian and we love almost all of them...many of them are repeat guests, so I suppose I should ask them to rebut their countrymen rather than show my frustration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Husband and I paid for the night but once we saw the amount of spiders hanging from the sun room ceiling, plus saw how fragile the house/rooms were we decided to stay somewhere else for the night. There was no TV or air conditioning.. The location is nice and close to everything however there are far cleaner places for a lot less money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal O, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dirty rooms? Are you kidding me? All I can say is read the other reviews and how clean they say the rooms are. As was the case for our only other questionable review, they certainly never expressed any concerns to us or we would have responded in an attempt to satisfy them, even if they were unreasonable.
Sweet Magnolia B&B is a Victorian home built in 1907. We have kept the style Victorian, so yes there are all kinds of cool old heirlooms, many of them from our families.
All I'll say is that if you want the Holiday Inn Express, it's available about 5 miles north of town.
We do not have TVs in the rooms to protect the other guests from some hard of hearing person blaring CNN all night.
It's a pretty amazing summer when only 1 couple out of more than 500 complain - although we have had several jerky people, the vast majority are nice and happy people who greatly enjoy their stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband, daughter, and I spent 2 nights in the Grandiflora Room. What a beautiful home and marvelous rooms! We happened to be the only ones there, so were able to peek into the other rooms; they were all exquisitely furnished, and just what my expectations of decorating a Victorian house were.

We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evenings; the flower garden was so pretty, and large spruce trees obscured the empty parking lot across the street.

Cal and Jill are great hosts, and their breakfasts were delicious! We couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay. We felt very much at home; I hope we get to come back some day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Sandpoint ID is a charming small town situated in the mountains on a spectacular glacial lake. This B&B is just a few blocks from the "action" and a 10 minute walk from the lake, on a quiet street, athough the immediate surroundings are a 1950's motel across one street, an empty lot that was a car dealership on the other side, and the local hosptal on the next block, you can see the mountains from the lovely sunroom on the second floor, and it is quiet at night. Cal and Jill bought the b&b 2 years ago. They are a warm delightful couple who are very accomodating. Most of the rooms are upstairs, ours was on the main floor. The public rooms are decorated in a Victorian/eclectic style. The guest rooms are similar (I told Jill the bed in our room may be Stickley furniture), apparently not much changed from the previous owners. The reason this merits 4/5 and not 5/5 stars it the servious lack of storage in the rooms, both drawers (only tiny draws unfit for anything but change and underware) and hooks on the wall substituting for a closet. I know fixing this problem is on their to do list. Hot water with tea/hotchocolate is left out with a guest refrigerator upstairs. Breakfast is a full breakfast. when informed that I was on a restricted diet (in advance) they purchased special things for breakfast for me! we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Did not see theupstairs rooms. Liked the one on the first floor because we were the only ones on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falls church va
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

One of the best B and Bs we have been to, and the best value. The room was charming, the breakfasts were wonderful homemade masterpieces, and the hosts were a perfect blend of helpful and unobtrusive. We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiafam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My second visit to Sweet Magnolia B&B was even better than the first visit. The hosts are very accomadating and friendly. The location is walking distance to downtown. Coffee and Breadfast were prompt and wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58759Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have been to the Sweet Magnolia B&B three times in the last 12 months. Prior to finding it, we were at a few local hotels and a condo at Schweizter. Sweet Magnolia is our preferred place to stay. The accommodations are comfortable, the breakfast is excellent, the breakfast conversations are fun. The location is a short walk to the local restaurants, so is very convenient. I wholeheartedly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 6 in Sandpoint
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
#2 of 6 in Sandpoint
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Magnolia Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Magnolia Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sweet Magnolia Bed and Breakfast
Address: 502 N 4th Ave, Sandpoint, ID 83864-1513
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sweet Magnolia Bed And Breakfast Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing