We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Sandpoint

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Not the greatest place to stay. Room was OK, but seemed very used. Location is good for walking into town, but that is about it. A bar right in sort of the middle of the divided property lent for an uneasy feeling. a Poor continental breakfast was served in the main building and we had to run through the rain to get there. Price was good for room, but not the kind of place I usually stay at.
Probably would not stay here again unless I really had to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmcma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I am sorry to hear your stay was "just OK".
Maybe a room in building one ( same as the lobby) would have been better for you. I can understand running in the rain to have breakfast is not fun. I apologize the clerk did not think to give you an option as to what building to stay in.
We always try to accommodate our guests needs. I am sorry we failed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    139
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
99
117
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, CANADA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spent one night at La Quinta Sandpoint on a late autumn ride and it fit the bill on all fronts. Requested a room in the new building --just across from the lobby --and it was newly refurbished. Spotlessly clean and comfortable.. Front desk clerk was extremely friendly and efficient, and offered a 20% "biker-friendly" discount without being asked. We took the short stroll down to the main street of shops, restaurants and bars, and were pleased that no taxi was required to return home after a few beers. This establishment scores much higher than many hotels at this price point,and I've stayed in them, too (unfortunately). Good job, La Quinta Inn

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building just across the parking lot from the lobby. They're mostly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Gadman,

I like to say THANK YOU! for the nice post.
You are absolutley correct. The location is great for motorcycle riders because we are in the heart of Sandpoint.
We always try to have covered parking for the bikes, and in the summer we have an area set up where you can wash the bike as well.
We hope to see you next time you visit Sandpoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel has a friendly staff, and is very helpful. There are many places to see and eat in
Sandpoint, and they were able to guide us around town,and answer any questions too.
The room has a refrigerator and microwave, which is helpful. The beds were a little soft, but all else was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. I 'll be sure to share them with the staff.
We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for a week in August with our 3-year-old, and so glad we did. We walked to the beach, restaurants, grocery shopping, and there was a convenience store right across the street. Pool was wonderful - never crowded, and virtually no noise throughout the hotel - day or night. The hotel's far enough away from the railroad lines that you only hear a distant horn. Hotel decor wasn't spectacular, and cleaning service was just OK. Breakfast included SOS, wafflemaker, assorted cereals, that sort of thing, so the huckleberry muffins were a bonus. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Full kitchen was a worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieinthe202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Debbie,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and visit in Sandpoint.
We look forward seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midvale, Utah
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My first tip: Call them directly to book. You will likely get a better price than if you go through an online booking place!

Okay, on to the motel. It is fantastic! It is in town, a short walk from the main part of town. Our room was in the second part of the motel, above the swimming pool. The room was large and clean. The beds had incredibly comfy pillowtop mattresses. The carpet was clean and soft. The bathroom had a double sink so someone could be getting ready while someone was in the shower. The shower was nice with a light in the shower, a heat lamp and a fan. The fridge worked great and the room had a nice flat screen TV that had an HDMI port so we could hook up our laptop and watch TV. Free wifi that worked well.

The pool area was clean and nice. The pool was definitely on the cool side. :) The hot tub is located in a different area than the pool which was a bit of a disappointment since you couldn't just jump from the cool pool to the hot tub. But the hot tub was in a nice building with a tall ceiling. The hot tub is huge and a perfect temperature with nice jets. Again, the only bad thing is that the pool and hot tub are located in different sections of the hotel.

The staff was all very nice. They brought extra pool towels to us even though it was really late. We did not try the breakfast.

So the only two problems we had: The parking is nuts. The way the hotel sits (spread out along a crazy triangle shaped block) makes for some crazy parking. Maneuvering a big vehicle can be tricky. The other problem was the air conditioning. The way the 2 bed rooms are, one of the beds is practically sitting on top of the a/c unit. Because it's a tall pillowtop mattress, the a/c unit turns on and blasts freezing cold air until the area next to the bed is ice cold. Then it shuts off. This goes on all night. So the person closest to the unit gets freezing cold, but the rest of the room never really stays very cool. I imagine in a room with one bed this would not be a problem. And with 2 queen pillowtop beds I can't see how they would fix that problem.

All in all it really is a quality hotel in a great location at a great price. My suggestion is to get one bed if at all possible.

Room Tip: Be aware that the 2 bed rooms have a/c unit issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jedigirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Jedigirl,

Thank you for the nice review.
I am not sure when you stayed with us. We had the vents turned on the a/c units so the air is not blowing out but up towards the celing. Sounds like it was more a noise problem than cold air the way you describe it.
I apriciate you comments.

We look look forward seeing you next time you visit Sandpoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Sadly needs an update. The rooms could have been cleaner. Beds were comfy, shower worked well. Friendly front staff. Good complimentary breakfast with wonderful staff!! Great location to walk to everywhere. Pool is outdoor, which I was looking forward too, but needs a net so that bugs can be removed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherbear71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laquinta0470, Manager at La Quinta Inn Sandpoint, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am not sure what building you stayed in? Here is an inside tip for you.
Next time you come back ask to be in building one. The rooms in that building are the once most recently renovated.
I think it is a great idea to maybe have a net on the wall incase there are bugs in the pool. We clean it every morning but with the hot weather we had this year the bugs where all over.

We look forward seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 6 in Sandpoint
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Sandpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Sandpoint

Property: La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
Address: 415 Cedar St, Sandpoint, ID 83864-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Sandpoint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Sandpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint Hotel Sandpoint
La Quinta Sandpoint
Sandpoint La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing