We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful village setting with everthing at your fingertips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Visiting Schweitzer Mtn Resort during Fall Fest 2011. We had a room that faced the mountain and was a suite. One room was typical hotel with queen beds, and the adjoining was two queen beds with a bunk and kitchenette with a small dining table. The staff were very friendly and prompt. The rooms have a lodge feel to them, and feel very NW. Clean rooms, and again a great staff to make your stay enjoyable. Location was great, there is a great coffee shop in the hotel and a very good restaurant with a bar. If it wasn't so beautiful outside, you might not need to leave the property. Tons of summer activities, they just put in a zip line which looked fun. You can mountain bike all over Schweitzer, take the chair lift to the top and enjoy the views and hikes. Pick Huckleberries, and so much more.
A few choices for food include the hotel, there is a pizza place a few steps away from the hotel, a couple of small markets for bottles of wine, and odds and ends. There is a pub on the South end of the village. If you are coming with a big group, be sure to stock up with grocery and supplies down in Sandpoint before making the journey up the mountain to Schweitzer. Overall we will be back again and again. We recommend this hotel. Oh and there is a pool with a couple of hot tubs, not sure if open in winter, though...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at Schweiter Mountain Resort during a business stay in Sandpoint. We arrived very late at night and the hotel staff was ready and waiting for us. Check-in went very smooth and our stay was very enjoyable. The Lodge also has a coffee bar downstairs with great coffee and amazing pastries. The shops around the lodge are very pleasing to the eye and have fantastic merchandise.

We look forward to our next chance to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merry_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Room was spacious and clean. If you want to walk the trails around the resort and can cater for yourself, it is a good spot. If you want to be close to town and do not want to cater for yourself (limited restaurants), then stay in town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hickorypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I visited the schweitzer mountain resort on our way to Glacier National Park this july,from Seattle.
Though we found it a bit difficult to find,but not so much and it was a good find indeed.
I had read about the resort and found out that they provide a certain lift ride upto the mountain top.The resort is well built and quite a few shops are also there.The lift ride was only 10$ and oh we loved it.Its a pretty long ride and takes you upto the mountain top and gives a magnificent view of thelake and mountain ranges.
Apparently we were the only ones up the mountain and we saw few people in the resort premises.I am sure the place is a skiing paradise in winters but fun place in summers.It was a fun stop for us on the way but we certainly plan to visit the place again and stay in the resort for a few days to enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nikita060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Wow! What a great place! We spent the weekend at the White Pine Lodge and had a wonderful time. As a frequent traveler, I use Tripadvisor reviews as a major source for information on hotels. The reviews here however combine two very different properties. The Selkirk Lodge and the White Pine Lodge are apples and oranges. The White Pine offers fully furnished condos, complete kitchens, private hot tub, execise room, and plenty of underground parking. The Selkirk is more of a hotel, the rooms only have a kitchenette. Also the Selkirk Lodge has a view of the White Pine, while the White Pine has a view of the lake. I understand that they are managed by the same company, but they are completely different. The majority of reviews are for the Selkirk Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BikesalotSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Nice hotel, picturesque location at the top of a ski mountain. Very peaceful in summer (not a whole lot going on). Rooms were nice, hotel itself was nice, service was poor. Hotel is woefully understaffed (experienced this at front desk and coffee shop). Front desk check in waits were long (20+ minutes), and generally staff were unavailable for assistance. Too bad, because the hotel scores well on just about every other dimension.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

The lodge is 9.5 miles up a windy mountain road from the main drag outside of Sandpoint. It was the off-season, so not much was open except for one restaurant, which was good for the price. The room was clean, spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable, with a lovely bed sporting a new Tempur-Pedic topper, which made for a great night's sleep. An early morning hike up the nature trail yielded spectacular views of Lake Pend Oreille and surrounding mountains in three directions, as well as wildlife along the way.

During summer, this is a good choice for peace and quiet, but not for one looking for any kind of nightlife or lots of activities. Also, pairs of rooms share a primary door, with each room having its own secondary door. This probably is a nice touch during ski season for families who book two rooms, but otherwise is a minor annoyance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmoore76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
7.4 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
9.6 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
174 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sleeps Cabins
Sleeps Cabins
#1 of 3 in Sagle
54 reviews
7.1 mi away
Talus Rock Retreat
Talus Rock Retreat
#1 of 7 in Sandpoint
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging

Address: 10000 Schweitzer Mountain Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864-9235
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range: £140 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schweitzer Mountain Resort manages accommodations in the Selkirk Lodge, White Pine Lodge and various off site condominiums. All guest check-in and check-out is in the Selkirk Lodge lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging Hotel Sandpoint
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing