We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the journey getting there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2008

It is an 8 or 9 mile (I can't remember) ride up the mountain to the lodge, and we were on motorcycles. We loved it, it winds back and forth and the temperature difference was extreme from the top to the bottom. Which was nice since it was summer.

Of course we were there during their off season and got an excellent rate, but due to this, there was only 1 restaurant open and it was VERY pricey and all the shops were closed. We were told they all opened the following weekend, which would have been good to know before we booked the rooms. Regardless we still liked it. The one thing we DIDN'T like was you had to go through two sets of doors while standing in the hallway, just to get to your room. The rooms could have been a few feet larger if they would have made the room entry like normal.

The rooms are very nice - ours faced the runs on the mountains, and they even had a little snow still left on them, and it was the end of June.

The pool and hot tub area is outdoors and it was full of dirt, bugs and didn't look appealing, so we passed on it.

All in all, if we were in the area, we'd probably stay there again, just for the ride up the mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank elleebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 147 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2008

This is our 3rd trip to Schweitzer Mountain for skiing and we have stayed at the Selkirk Lodge each time.

This is a fantastic location for skiing. You are only steps away from the lifts of Schweitzer from the hotel which makes it effortless to ski. A ski storage room is also right inside the door. The hotel staff is very friendly and go out of their way to be personable and make your stay comfortable. In fact, I found most of the staff on the mountain to be that way. Quite a difference from the ski atmosphere in California.

The rooms are very nice - some face the runs on the mountains, while others look out at Lake Pend'Orey. However, it is cloudy quite a bit so you may not see the lake on many winter days. The pool/jacuzzi area looks up towards the mountains and they too are very nice.

The lobby has a nice coffee shop with pastries and breakfast foods and the hotel also has a restaurant and bar. Overall the food and service is good - not fantastic -but the setting makes up for that.

The village is small so be prepared to have only a few choices for dining or shopping. But if you want great skiing, friendly people, and a beautiful setting, you can't go wrong with this location.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank keyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2006

We had a wonderful stay at the Selkirk Lodge. The price ($145 during the summer) was very reasonable considering our spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated room. The kitchenette was convenient and we loved lounging in our plush robes. The hot tubs have a beautiful view of the mountains. The hotel is a bit of a drive up the mountain from Sandpoint, but was worth it to take in the views and enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jerri_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

Because Sandpoint is roughly 6 hours from home and 6 hours from grandpa's house, I've stayed there on half a dozen occassions. We've stayed at the Selkirk Lodge 3 times. Please note that the resort is up on Selkirk ski mountain, so it is several miles from town. That's not bad, it is a beautiful setting, but be ready for a short drive to al the nice things in town. The rooms are very ski-lodge style. They are nicely decorated but a bit small for a family of 4. The pool and hot tubs are excellent. Very different from the Best Western in town, though probably on par.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Wa
17
Reviewed 31 August 2004

Very nice hotel/Resort. Was there in early August. Rooms were renovated a few years ago and are very nice and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a wonderful heated pool area with three hot tubs behind the hotel with views of the mountain/ ski area. Resturants and businesses in the village had limited hours during the summer months. Bring your own food. Most rooms have mini fridges and microwaves and coffee makers. The hotel resturant was very expensive and seemed to be lacking in quality compared to the winter months. ( although, it is a ski resort) I stayed here two years ago in the winter and everything was great ! Great place to Ski !

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
7.4 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
9.6 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 6 in Sandpoint
89 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging

Address: 10000 Schweitzer Mountain Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864-9235
Region: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range: £105 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schweitzer Mountain Resort manages accommodations in the Selkirk Lodge, White Pine Lodge and various off site condominiums. All guest check-in and check-out is in the Selkirk Lodge lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging Hotel Sandpoint
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing