We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing time”
other travellers have booked this property
Summer Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer Night
View from the loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Summer Night
View from the loft
Downstairs bedroom
Gazebo and bbq for outside dining
Look for Starfire cabin sign on your left on Sagle Road
Cozy up to the wood stove on a chilly night
Area Hike
Where you can find us :)
Kayaking on Idaho's largest lake - 7 minutes away!
Natural organic goodness from the Garden
More of Nature's Bounty from our 20+ year garden
Starfire Cabin garden
Peonies in the garden
Patrick,s cairn
Into the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sandpoint, Idaho

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nawaf a
1 review
“Relaxing time”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

It was just perfect. I spent a good time with my family. The cabin was clean , and very safe. I will come again soon :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Thank you, Nawaf, we are glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Sandpoint, and that you enjoyed the cabin. We look forward to your next visit, maybe the summer, so you can enjoy the lake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jT0873
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful, private, relaxing. A great place to disconnect and reconnect. The kids loved the loft. We brought an extra blow up mattress for the loft because we have a girl and a boy so they want separate beds. We will be back.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you for the great review.I loved that the children wrote in the guest book.We look forward to you coming back again.We do have an extra mattress that we will bring over next time .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room2Grow
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“Unique and beautiful cabin, great hosts!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cabin is all by itself in a wooded area and lovingly made and decorated. The queen bed in the only bedroom was very comfortable with side tables and lamps. The hosts had compiled a book with the history of the cabin, recommendations of where to eat, shop and hike. The gardens were wonderful and we were encouraged to harvest from their beautiful and extensive garden. We were even treated to some fresh blueberries upon arrival. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that they expected guests to leave their shoes outside and walk inside barefoot or in some supplied slippers. If we had known this before we arrived, we could have packed some slippers/sandals of our own for this purpose. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness and quiet
Liked least: The unstated expectation of leaving shoes outdoors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you for coming to say at the cabin.We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy W
Riverside, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dream Cabin”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Have you ever dreamed of living in a log cabin in the woods? George Orton had a bigger dream. He built his own log cabin, using logs from his 40 acres. Starfire Cabin is a seamless blend of clever architecture and skilled craftsmanship inside and out; with many hand hewn furnishings as well. It's truly a Dream Cabin! Upon entering the cabin, it seemed as if I was stepping into a Fairytale. I rather imagined that's how Goldilocks felt when she saw the welcoming interior of the Three Bears' Cabin. However; in the Starfire Cabin, nothing is too hot, too hard, or too anything. Everything about this cabin is JUST RIGHT!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cabin was beautifully crafted, with every attention to detail.
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thankyou for a review that is so charming, and left a smile on our faces!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Z
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely enchanting”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our 4 nights at StarFire cabin exceeded everything we had hoped for. The cabin is comfortable and lovely. The property is private and beautiful. Our hosts, George and Kristina, provided everything to make our stay memorable. George had more than enough wood for the stove inside, as well as, wood for the fire pit which we enjoyed sitting by in the evening. We can't say enough good things about this magical place. If you are looking for a charming cabin in the woods you need not look any farther. Coming from Hawaii we traded one paradise for another!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed the cabin, and enjoyed the amenities.It was great hearing your laughter around the campfire at night !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cabin!”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

George and Kristina's hand-crafted cabin is an ideal getaway. The cabin is breathtaking. A rustic log cabin with modern amenities (electricity, plumbing, heat). It is located in a beautiful area with tons of hiking on the grounds and nearby. We are already planning our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cabin
Liked least: no cell reception (could be a good thing, too!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thankyou so much ! We are delighted that you had such a good time, and hope that you will be back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa S
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the perfect place to go and get unplugged. No phone, no TV, no internet, no cell tower. It was brilliant- a perfectly relaxing two days. This beautiful log cabin, along with a lot of the furniture inside was crafted by hand by the owner using wood found on his 40 acre property. You can feel the love that went into it. I cannot say enough about the craftsmanship and quality. This is a getaway I will not soon forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing