We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute theater with an eclectic blend of acts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Panida Theatre

Panida Theatre
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Sandpoint
Attraction details
Anacortes, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute theater with an eclectic blend of acts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Set in downtown Sandpoint, the Panida is a community gem. They attract acts ranging from music to dance to theater to documentary films.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NW-K9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A gem from a bygone age”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife is a Sandpoint native, and she's often told me about the Panida Theatre. I've walked past it many times on visits to Sandpoint, but never, until recently, had the chance to go inside.

In July, we had the opportunity to see one of the local amateur dramatic companies perform The Wizard of Oz, so I finally got to see the interior of the theatre, and it didn't disappoint.

The architecture and interior decor are a fascinating example of a style called Spanish Mission, and you can easily imagine that you've been transported to Arizona or New Mexico or California.

As a theatre, it has comfortable seating, and all seats have a good view of the stage.

The performance of The Wizard of Oz was excellent, and it was easy to forget that this was an amateur production.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidInCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A step back into the golden age!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The theater is beautiful and well preserved. They have a little refreshment counter manned by very personable locals. They serve local artisan brews and wine. Casual, eclectic, local color. We have loved every event we've attended and look forward to the next. A must see in Sandpoint!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeziemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Live Theater was better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Bought last minute tickets for the Wizard of Oz production, took a group of kids and found the production quality to be much better than expected for the size of town and community theater. There's a small concession which serves non-alcoholic beverages, popcorn and candy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the ole panida”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

a piece of history. I watched plenty of movies here when I was a kid. the panida has been a part of sandpoint history for many who grew up here. opened in 1927 it still holds the charm of days gone by, thanks to people who cared enough to keep it that way. stop in a watch a show. live performances and or movies still go on here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panida Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Panida Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing