We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The generosity of this place saved us!!!”
Review of High Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to check in at Rocky Mountain ranch but a forest fire had the road blocked. Since all hotels were booked, we had visions of sleeping in our car.
Luckily the ranch manager worked out a solution with Melinda at HCI. She cleaned a room for us.

It was great! Immaculate. King bed with kitchenette. Small outside area to sit. Very clean nice bathroom. And a little closet like sleeping alcove with a bunk bed and sleeping bags that kids would love.

Please support this wonderful inn right in the middle of town. Hear they have a great breakfast but we were up an out.

Thank you Melinda!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stanley, ID is a town with a posted population of 69. Yet, they have about a dozen lodging places! This hotel is a block off Hwy 21 and on the town's "main drag" (which is dirt!). The young lady checking is in was super friendly, and personally showed us around the hotel and to our room. Nice touch!

The hotel feels very new, although it is several years old. It is spotlessly clean and the room was decorated in a "mountain cabin" theme, which was perfect for the location. It was very quiet and the bed was quite comfortable.

They have complimentary coffee available 24/7 as well as a self-serve soda machine ($2 day, endless refills!) which was very nice. The breakfast was average in variety but tasty.

If we venture back to Stanley, we'll stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Clean, quiet, and friendly. What more can you ask for lodging, especially in a remote and beautiful town like Stanley. Breakfast was simple but prompt, and popcorn and cold drinks or coffee readily available. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Yes, we'll return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Very pleasant place to stay although an elevator would have been appreciated. Staff was very pleasant and breakfast was quite good. Room slightly small, but it and bathroom were spotless, comfortable and well furnished. Quiet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We had reservations at another hotel and at the the last minute decided to stay here and we were not disappointed. The dinner the first night was deelicious and quite gourmet but a bit pricey. We went hiking the next day and they took us there and picked us up which was going above and beyond. After our rafting trip we had reservations at another motel. But, due to waking up with a rash on my face when we moved to this hotel for the first night of our raft trip my husband decided to run over and see if the HIgh Country Inn had a room available. They did and we were very grateful for a clean, comfortable room! The location is great and we hope to be back..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viscaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Having never been to Stanley, I booked a room based on reviews and the intriguing possibility of a gourmet dinner at our own hotel. The room at the High Country Inn is nothing fancy but it was clean and comfortable. The sheets and towels were really soft and the shower worked perfectly with lots of hot water and a strong spray. There is a lovely deck off of the back to relax on or you can sit in the two very comfy chairs by the fireplace downstairs (we read there for two hours after breakfast). The best part, however, was the fantastic dinner we had at the Bistro downstairs at the Inn. The chef, Shane, created a really unique and wonderful dinner. I had antelope! It was delicious and the accompanying mashed potatoes were so fluffy and smooth they looked like a cloud. Fresh vegetables were a great side dish as was the grilled Caesar Salad. My husband's clam dish was perfectly cooked and seasoned. We finished dinner with a great creme brulee. It was a wonderful surprise and one of the best meals we have had in quite a while. A fresh and varied breakfast came with the room and we left our stay feeling contented and relaxed. Melinda was very friendly and helpful with ideas for activities and directions to Stanley Lake; quiet and uncrowded...a perfect way to spend an afternoon. All in all, we will be back and are happy to recommend the Inn to other travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have a view of the mountains and are off the street front. They also open onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked the Inn last April to plan our journey to Stanley. Our room was on the first floor. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Melinda was very accommodating. While the breakfasts could have had more variety and the coffee stronger, we did not travel to Stanley for breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed the Inn and the surrounding area. Walking to restaurants was a plus, the folks friendly and we would stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrywaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.2 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stanley Town Square
Stanley Town Square
#1 of 2 in Stanley
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Village Resort
Mountain Village Resort
#8 of 10 in Stanley
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 21 Ace of Diamonds Blvd, P.O. Box 290, Stanley, ID 83278-5002
Region: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel
Country Inn Stanley
Stanley Country Inn
High Country Inn Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing