We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Place, Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Village Resort
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The kitchenette room was enough for light cooking if you were to stay there for an extended period of time. The bed was comfy but there were cobwebs and spiders all over the place. Noise from the road wasn't bad at all but if you want a quiet room, ask for something on the top level facing the back, towards the river. You also HAVE to give the hot springs a try. It's free as long as you're staying at the resort. Just reserve a spot at the front desk and walk down to the cabin...totally worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

So this was the first time We went to Stanley we loved it we stayed in a suite it worked out fabulously for our family of 5. It had 2 seperate rooms with queen sized beds and 2 pull out cots about full size they kids loved those. They camped out in the living room. There was. A mini fridge. Coffer pot. A microwave. A toaster and dishes and dish soap. The bathroom. Was separated from the sink area incase you now you have to wash up while someone else is going. Super clean the nicest staff. And we were up stairs. So the view was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missyperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Possibly the worst hotel experience we've ever had, and we were not expecting the Ritz.

As others have mentioned, the walls and floors are barely there. Throughout the night we were constantly awoken by the farting, snoring, talking, and moving of other people in the hotel. I kept thinking the guy upstairs was going to fall through the floor.

The beds are awful, akin to spring loaded plywood. The heater works to drown out noise as it's rather loud itself, I had to get out of bed several times and tap the side of it when the fan went off balance and started clanking.

Don't eat at the restaurant, the food is terrible. The roast beef sandwich I was served was basically beef jerky (it was that firm and salty) over toast, drowned in instant mashed potatoes and canned gravy. The best thing we could say about the salad my wife got with "salmon" was that some of the lettuce was green.

Leaving here unrested, hungry, and disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GreenStateVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Clean, reasonable, a good place to clean up after a hike and sleep in a bed, or to get staged for an outdoor raft or hiking trip beforehand. Helpful people in office, centrally located in Stanley at the junction of highways.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was a larger place, a little more expensive because of location. Still, a pretty decent value and a very large room. A little surprised no mini-fridge, so we had to get ice. The associated restaurant had a limited menu, so we drove a short distance to another place for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

this is a quaint and beautiful area!! the mountain village resort was probably as nice as any other hotels in the area. nothing 5 star. most things seemed at most 3.5 star. you are not really there to stay in your room in this type of natural beauty. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

First: STAY ON THE TOP FLOOR! Okay, now that I have that out of the way. Stanley was full and I got a room here before it filled up...and it did. The price is okay (AAA discount didn't hurt either) for the room size and they are very clean. To cover a prior reviewer, no I didn't expect the Ritz but I will point out the flaws. Thin walls and the most noise I have EVER heard in my life from an upstairs room. I seriously kept waiting for something to fall off or even through the ceiling. I got about 3 hours of good sleep when I could have had 8 hours. The TV looked like it was picked up at a garage sale. The good, the staff in the evening and in the morning were very nice and helpful. If I stayed on the top floor and the end of a wing I would have had a better stay.

Room Tip: Top floor room only!! If you can get one at the end of a wing, go for it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnJohn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mountain Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Village Resort

Address: 3 Eva Falls Ave, Stanley, ID 83278
Region: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Stanley
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Village Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Village Hotel Stanley
Mountain Village Resort Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing