We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Ski Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Valley Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Awesome Ski Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have actually stayed at this hotel twice now. Once at the Lodge during ski season, and once at the Inn during the summer. I would prefer to stay in the Lodge during the winter because of the awesome outdoor hot tub connected to the hotel.

The resort itself is not on the ski mountain, but the whole area is so small it doesn't really matter. I walked into town from the resort during the summer, and the whole area is beautiful.

The hotel is quite old, and I would say that the bathrooms could stand to be updated, but the room itself is always very clean, nice, and comfortable. The staff in the hotel have been very helpful on both my visits. I would try to get a room on the highest floor possible of the hotel, just because the ground floor rooms are very much ground floor, and if there's a lot of foot traffic, there's a little less privacy.

Truly, I didn't spend much time in the hotel during the winter--there's so many other things to do. My visit during the summer was shorter, and I spent more time in the hotel that visit. The food in the hotel is fantastic as well.

Also, if you can afford it, fly into the Ketchum airport, especially during the summer. The drive from Boise is very nice, but the airport is very small, and super easy to get into and out of. They only fly puddle-jumpers though from either Salt Lake or Boise, and I could forsee bad weather causing problems if you flew out of Ketchum during the winter, but I could think of worse places to get stuck!

Room Tip: High floor. The Inn is a little more private than the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    43
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
30
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We went for the Ice Show and our accommodations were fabulous. We were upgraded to an "apartment" which is a beautiful suite. The rooms are old but this adds to the ambiance. The room was so clean and the turn down service was so nice with chocolates on the pillows. The front desk service was very warm and welcome. The grounds are immaculate. The Ice Show and Buffet are a real treat. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceans226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

When we checked in we were given room 1. It was practically in the lobby backing up to the business office. We thought "Oh no". Well we couldn't have been more wrong. It was quiet and convenient to outside. We had wine and cheese out by the pond every night. Ate at the resorts restaurants after spending the days at Bald Mountain hiking and biking. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havefuntoday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Excellant service from the staff, clean, beautiful grounds and turn down service is included.! TThe hotel is close to the ski slopes too. The room had a refrigerator and safe. There are ponds, pools, jacuzzi, tenice courts and conference rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worth4law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Lovely accomodations, excellent and varied cuisine at several restaurants, elegant and sophistcated ambience BUT casual and NO pretense. All staff/service people extremely professional, friendly and helpful. Immaculate rooms. Grounds around the Inn and Resort are immaculate with swans and ducks swimming in ponds. A skating rink at back of Sun Valley Resort Inn where you can lunch and watch skaters rehearse or guests skate, this dining area is covered. Another patio restaurant where you can view the lovely lndscaping and listen to lovely piano music while dining. There is constant entertainment in the area close by. This trip was in June 2011. Will return when there is snow. Oh yes, shops galore!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank governorbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

There's only one decent hotel and this is it, so might as chill out and enjoy it. It looks a little dated when you walk in, but very well maintained and helpful staff. Not ski in/out, but that's not an option in Sun Valley hotels anyway. Great pool area and very family friendly. Restaurant in the hotel surprisingly good despite lacklustre appearance.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

As this was a business trip during the off-season, I was not particularly looking forward to the trip. However, Sun Valley knocked my socks off. And, had the place needed any help in impressing me, the staff at the Sun Valley Inn were superb. They were friendly and helpful - like one might expect, but to a person, they went the extra mile to see to it that my every need, whim and want was taken care of.
The Sun Valley Inn is a resort, and the surrounding businesses were great - they had the little things that I forgot, fun things to look at, and so much to do. In addition, the resort is a pleasant walk from town, and the town was really great.
Also, surrounding both the resort and the town is great hiking and biking. I was sulking at having to go and sulking even more at having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Valley
0.1 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
1.2 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Inn

Property: Sun Valley Inn
Address: Sun Valley Rd., Sun Valley, ID 83353
Region: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sun Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing