We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”
Review of Sun Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Valley Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Expensive rooms but a very beautiful setting. The Inn has had a major overhaul and is much better than before. Nice for couples retreat. Conference center is very nice. IMO room is overpriced even in summer when there's not as much to do in the area, but still an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JHE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent three nights at this wonderful place and can't wait to bring our whole family back for a great vacation. There is something for everyone to do here, bikes, hikes, ice skating, tennis, golf, and just lots of space to run around outside. It is an easy walk to Ketchum and all that town has to offer. The room was large and very comfortable and quiet. The inn has a van to drive you almost anywhere you would like to go so renting a car isn't a necessity.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vegaspali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed in a lodge room with a view of the outdoor ice skating rink. Very surprised to see it being used by so many in the middle of July. Absolutely amazing that they can keep the ice in place. The room was very comfortable and clean. The entire resort is very self contained with wonderful restaurants and places to wander. The golf course is also very nice. The little town of Ketchum right next door is a great little walking town with numerous restaurants and shops. Don't miss a visit to Ernest Hemingway's grave just outside of downtown Ketchum. Also, we took two cable cars up to the top of Old Baldy and it is a fantastic view.

Room Tip: Room with an ice skating view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed here for three nights as part of a small (200) conference. The room was very comfortable and roomy although there was not much for the business traveler...no desk or comfortable work chair, just a round glass-topped table with two straight-backed, cane bottomed chairs. There are plenty of dining options on the resort property and we were lucky that the weather wasn't so harsh that the walks between buildings didn't involve snow drifts! The conference facilities were also very nice and comfortable, although the heat was on so high everyone was shedding layers of clothing.

The town of Ketchum is very close and the resort has shuttles every 15 minutes to the downtown area as well as the ski areas.

The staff at the Inn, Lodge and shops was phenomenal! They truly understand hospitality and service!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacqueet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Went to a great wedding - the ceremony was on top of Dollar mountain. My wife and I decided to do the full Sun Valley package by staying at the resort/inn. Everything was so easy to get to with free Ketchum bus network. The bars and restaurants at the resort were actually pretty cheap compared to the restaurants in town.

Plus the 'country store' sold Ninkasi Total Domination for less than four dollars.

Great location, great skiing, great package!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Xfortythreex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

“Beautiful, inviting, comfortable!
In March, we co-hosted a local Parkinson’s Disease Educational Forum with the University of Utah Movement Disorders medical staff. The advance planning went smoothly with all details attended to promptly and efficiently. This event was a great success and executed flawlessly, thanks to Natasha’s excellent organizational and communication skills. Microphones, a podium and screen were set up for the physician speakers. The Limelight Conference Room was beautiful, comfortable and inviting with round tables and white tablecloths. A coffee and snack table was placed for easy access and the food presentation was very attractive. We especially appreciate the attention to detail that Natasha and staff brought to the planning and execution of our event. We anticipated about 60 people. When an additional 20 began arriving, Inn staff quietly brought in two more tables and needed chairs. Ours was a lovely event. We highly recommend the Sun Valley Inn as an event venue!
The Wood River Parkinson’s Support Group

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank WRPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I arranged a ski trip for a group that usually skis in Europe every February. What a treat, with the help of Bert and Natasha at Sun Valley everything surpassed our expectations. The rooms were great, we stayed at the Inn. The mountain was great,ease of access to the mountain with the bus system was easy, and free ski storage at the Mountain was an added bonus. All of the restaurants were good and the service was outstanding, we ate at the Ram, the Roundhouse, Trail Creek Lodge, and Bald Mountain Pizza. I read some of the previous reviews before going and I have to tell you this place is a home run. The history, the nostalgic feel all encomappessed at the Sun Valley village made this a great ski destination. This group has skied all over the world and they felt that this was one of the best trips.

Thanks Bert and Natasha and everyone at Sun Valley from the Long Beach Ski Club!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ajsaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Valley
0.1 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
102 reviews
1 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
1.1 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Inn

Address: Sun Valley Rd., Sun Valley, ID 83353
Region: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Price Range: £159 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sun Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing