We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - even off-season, this place is amazing.”
Review of Sun Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Valley Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow - even off-season, this place is amazing.”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

As this was a business trip during the off-season, I was not particularly looking forward to the trip. However, Sun Valley knocked my socks off. And, had the place needed any help in impressing me, the staff at the Sun Valley Inn were superb. They were friendly and helpful - like one might expect, but to a person, they went the extra mile to see to it that my every need, whim and want was taken care of.
The Sun Valley Inn is a resort, and the surrounding businesses were great - they had the little things that I forgot, fun things to look at, and so much to do. In addition, the resort is a pleasant walk from town, and the town was really great.
Also, surrounding both the resort and the town is great hiking and biking. I was sulking at having to go and sulking even more at having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    43
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
32
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed over on a Saturday night while on a driving trip to enjoy the fall colors north and east of Ketchum. This hotel and resort still exudes old-world charm; the public areas are well kept and the landscaping is gorgeous. My issue is that the rooms are quite small and service is not what you expect when paying $300+ per night. I also feel that if you are a hotel business and you book in a large convention over a weekend, you should keep enough staff on hand to accomodate the number of guests. Staff seemed tired, probably are at the close of the busy summer season, but there will be the lull of shoulder season before ski season begins in November.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rareflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Had a very pleasant stay at the Sun Valley Inn. Room was gorgeous, clean, and large. Very helpful staff. The Inn sits right in the heart of the Sun Valley Resort with the various entertainment and dining options. It is also one of the nicest places to hold a conference. Top of the line conference facilities with the best equipment. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Awesome place to discover. Ketchem is just 1 mile away. Lots to see and do. It is a spread out place make sure you have a car. Stables are close. The Lodge & Inn are with in Walking disitance. The villiage shops are close too.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PattieB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Stayed at the Inn for a week in March, 2008. We stayed in a standard room, very comfortable. The bathroom faucet was the only problem with the room - it was hard to turn on and very hard to turn off!! But everything else was so wonderful that this didn't bother us. The Inn offers the BEST transportation - buses to and from the ski areas every 15 minutes, free transportation to and from Ketchum without a wait - excellent service. The resort is self-contained, pools, bowling, movie theater, excellent food. There is a sidewalk from the resort to Ketchum that is cleared of snow so walking is convenient and pleasant - about 1 mile to Ketchum. Ketchum has just wonderful restaurants and the friendliest people. The views in this area are incredible. We rented a car for a couple of days and, as recommended, drove to Stanley which is 60 miles north over the Galena Pass - don't miss this drive. Stop at the Galena Lodge on the way for a cozy bite to eat. This area offers great cross-country skiing. What a paradise for outdoor adventure!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Valley
0.1 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
1.0 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Inn

Property: Sun Valley Inn
Address: Sun Valley Rd., Sun Valley, ID 83353
Region: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sun Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing