We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great”
Review of The Roundhouse

The Roundhouse
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Sun Valley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lunch is good. Dinner so so. With what you have to pay you would expect 5 star service and food. Lunch is a 4. Dinner is a 2

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marks401k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You Only Get One Chance to Make That First Impression”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Honestly, I've never been forced to write such a terrible review but once you read this, then you'll see why this is warranted, especially given the affair and occasion of the evening. After traveling all the way from Alaska, (where we do know know a little something about great food at great elevations...) we were quite disappointed with how this evening turned out.

The reception was just that; a wedding reception and it was held in the smaller room, the one in the lower portion of the restaurant, which offers a fantastic view of the Valley. The rest of the decor was classic with old skiing paraphernalia, adding to the ambiance and character of the restaurant.

This dinner was for a small wedding reception for about 30/35 guests. Upon ordering, our first soup/salad course, we were served within about 20 minutes after arriving: which initially by the time we all took the chair lift up the mountain was somewhere around 6p. The troubles began when we waited
and waited!
and waited!!!! for dinner.

By 8.15p or thereabouts, two of us made enquires with the local manager and discovered that apparently the tickets printed by the POS were placed off to the side. Thus, the kitchen missed about 22 meals out of the 30+ or so of us. ;(
Just before 9p, (two and a half hours later!!) we were finally served dinner, only to have about 8 people not receive their dinner after all this. In earnest, a second enquiry was made and it was discovered that 'their' particular tickets had been put in another location and were missed as well - just for a longer period of time. In other words, they found the error once we brought their attention to it, but didn't catch all of the tickets initially, after our first enquiry! So about 40 minutes later the last 8 people were finally served dinner too. ;(( It was a simple mistake - it could happen in any restaurant. However, when it's your wedding reception, that just makes it quite a bit less excusable.

By the time the 'rest of us' were served it was almost half past nine. At that point, we requested that they only give us the plates so that I personally could slice and serve the wedding cake. (Yes, you are reading that correctly. I cut and served their wedding cake to make sure that we actually had cake served with in ten minutes and something we could control.) They did have a couple of servers help assist us too, which was nice. Interestingly enough, in retrospect, that first 2+ hours, the staff all but disappeared after they cleared the first course.

The main course, after all this, was just okay. It wasn't overly flavourful, nor was the presentation anything to speak of. It didn't help matters that the fact that lunch for many of us, was, so many hours earlier, that maybe we were just too fed up by this point to enjoy it.

Patrick the manager, apologised profusely to us about how this was completely the fault of the restaurant and "not their standard". He comped the entire dinner for us and all the beverages given the incident. It was a meaningful gesture but this was a wedding reception and worrying about their guests' dinner, did not bode well, for the couple. They felt terrible for all their guests and how the dinner presentation came off. I doubt I need to mention those with the tumbling glucose levels either.

The manager wanted us to return and have a meal on them at their expense but this wasn't possible with half the group flying in from around the country. Which comes back to the old adage - and an important one - you have one first chance, at making that first impression.

A side note to diners in the winter - although blankets do seem to be in the gondolas, if you have a spare, take it with you for the cold ride up the mountain, especially if you are dressed in elegant evening ware.

So the moral of this wee fairy tale, at the top of the mountain, is this - maybe this is not the best place to have a reception. Or maybe it is, if they promise you the world and your food on time? I hope that the local family there was able to take them up on the offer to have dinner on them at some point. Of course, if we are back down there in the future, it wouldn't be on my list.

So Trip-ster's beware… Maybe if you only go in two's (and leave the other 30+ at home), you'll do much better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheffK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“To create a memory”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Have lunch in the bar below the main dining room for a cozier atmosphere without sacrificing the view, and toast your excellent skiing or hiking adventure in the historic Roundhouse. The ambience and experience are the focus here, although the food is good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 79Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“7.30 pm”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Terrible food
Unacceptable service
It's a waste of time and money
Give it twice a try and will never go back again

Helpful?
1 Thank Nagara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location... location... location!!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Food is good, limited menu but the views of the valley are great to enjoy when enjoying lunch. The location and the midpoint of the mountain if nice, the gondola ride adds some excitement to the adventure and kids do enjoy it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roundhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Roundhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing