We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous old-school vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous old-school vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved the old-school vibe of this property. The history and legacy of the lodge is rich, and the current management does a great job of keeping this place charming and welcoming. We were pampered from the moment we met our shuttle driver at the airport. The rooms are quaint, clean, and charming. There's really no need to leave the lodge, with its cozy lounges, lobbies, and sunrooms. The hottub/pool is amazing! The staff members—every single one—treated us with kindness and a sincere interest in making sure we had everything we needed.

If you go, be sure to experience apres ski in Duchene's. Great music, fun atmosphere, good food and drinks. Also, spend some time in Ketchum, the town near the ski mountain.

This was truly one of the best vacations we've ever had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deidra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    74
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
81
106
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for a friends wedding, and it was lovely! The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, I had some items shipped to the hotel, and they were in our room when we arrived. The shuttles to the mountain are very convenient and run frequently. They even had a shuttle driver who took us into town for dinner one of the nights, and picked us back up!
It is not inexpensive, although I do think they have good deals during certain times of year.

All in all, we would love to go back, it was a very nice and relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My friend and I flew in to Hailey and were whisked off to the lodge where our room was ready. The service you get from the moment you arrive is amazing. We paid for the stay and ski package which was $143 a night pp but included your $99 lift ticket. The skiing is great, the bus service is easy and the town fabulous! Low key elegance! You do not need a car, they keep your skis at the mountain and there is plenty to do in the village and town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Accomodations and restaurants are first rate. Staff very attentive. Spa and pool outstanding. Overall ambience cannot be beat. The skiing even with manmade snow was excellent. The lodges at Baldy and Dollar Mountain are outstanding for food, staff attention, ski rentals, ski clothing, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanman5025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Excellent staff, accommodations, service, quality. Previous positive reviews are accurate. The lodge is charming and has a wonderful history you notice though out. You cannot beat the convenience! I loved the proximity to great food, shopping or the ski bus. Of course, the bus is transportation to town AND the slopes but we mostly used it to get back and forth to the lifts.

Two things that stood out in our experience:
1) We were upgraded to a parlor for booking though their website, rather than a third party. The other folks in our group used a third party site and paid the same rate.
2) Breakfast at the bakery. Fantastic! Excellent meals, Great service from the wait staff, and darn tasty coffee! We asked for to-go cups for the remainder of our breakfast coffee and were offered fresh cups of coffee ready to travel instead. A small gesture that had us returning morning after morning.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the third floor and were upgraded to the Parlor room from our standard king -- our room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

When we pulled up to check in instead of a greeting we were asked to move our car. I've never had this happen before. Proceeded to check in. Our car had been moved slightly but the bags were still in it so I unloaded them while the bellman watched. Small room with the world's smallest bathroom. Mold in grout around the tub. Decor is very dated. Our room did have a wonderful view of the ice rink and mountains.
The maids were very nice and the staff in Gretchen's was great.
Spa looks like something out of the 80's. Spa staff could not find our room to charge our services.
There is a great lobby on the second floor that we stumbled across. Nobody mentioned this when we checked in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momandktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, GA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My title says it all!
My husband and I visited Sun Valley because we had never been to Idaho and we enjoy skiing. The lodging was elegant and simple. We reserved a one bedroom apartment because we wanted access to a kitchen; we loved our apartment! It was larger than we expected and we felt so comfortable calling it home for a week. The kitchen had everything we needed; we were able to send a shopping list to the local grocery market who did our shopping for us, for a small fee. The groceries were delivered to our apartment and ready for us when we arrived. The bedroom and living room were large, and the walk-in closet was more than we needed; it was all we could ask for! It was a close walk to the main lodge, shopping area, and bus pick up from our apartment. We thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor heated swimming pool each night after a day of skiing on the slopes.
Everything was decorated for a festive Christmas season. We loved participating in their tradition of The Nutcracker on Ice. The performers were a delight! We enjoyed the hot chocolate and cookies served. The whole evening was so enjoyable!
I cannot say enough about the beauty of the area and the sweet spirit of the people there! The concierge was quite helpful in helping with our plans (dinner reservations, groceries, etc...) We will definitely stay and ski at Sun Valley again! In fact, we are thinking of a summer vacation of hiking in the future!

Room Tip: All of the apartments are in a good location - walking distance to the lodge. We were in Sierra Neva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Valley
0.9 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
12.0 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
11.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Hailey - Sun Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Lodge

Property: Sun Valley Lodge
Address: 1 Sun Valley Rd, Sun Valley, ID 83353
Region: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Sun Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Lodge Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing