We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous on Every Level--Don't Miss It!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swan Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Fork Lodge by Natural Retreats
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Anyone who wants to have the perfect vacation experience needs to visit the this Lodge. From the moment we arrived we were treated like kings by all the staff--Megan at the reception desk, Kirsten at the rustic lounge and Caroline who attended to all our dining needs as we ate one of the best meals we have ever had amongst the spectacular views all around--the setting is truly superb! We had the tremendous good fortune of having Ed Emory as our fishing guide for an all day fishing excursion the next day who is a fishing guide extraordinaire--we caught every kind of fish the Snake River had to offer--he positively is beyond description in his knowledge of the river, ability to guide you and give you your hoped for peak fishing and nature experience and just a great human being. How lucky we were to have Ed as our fishing guide--don't miss the chance to have him take you down the Snake River and fish!! Thanks to Ed (he truly is amazing) and to all the staff of the South Fork Lodge--we are already trying to figure out when we can make a return trip with Ed and another stay at the Lodge! Everything about this venue is totally first class!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We held a Board meeting at SFL this week
The setting was spectacular and the view from the conference room unbeatable
Efficient unobtrusive service, charming, helpful staff and a great chef complement the special setting
Our team building day drift boating the Snake River was really epic
All the boats caught over 25 trout to 18 inches in breathtaking scenery
The guides were brilliant, hard working coaches focused on you enjoying CATCHING all three trout species. There is nothing more beautiful than a 16 inch Cutthroat trout
We will return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanRatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The South Fork Lodge is "fintastic" in that it offers superb fishing coupled with superb accommodations.

The fishing is done mostly on drift boats through scenic canyons. The river has plenty of side branches which gives the angler privacy and a ton of banks to work to lob large dry flies to hungry and willing trout. The guides know the river exceptionally well and create a positive fishing enviroment.

The lodge is first rate with spacious rooms all facing the river. The dining area is tops among lodges as the menu is diverse and flavorful.

If you want great fishing coupled with fine accommodations, the South Fork Lodge will offer you a "fintastic" experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I just returned from my second visit at the South Fork Lodge in Swan Valley, ID and it was terrific. The lodge is very beautiful and is situated right on the Snake River with spectacular views. The rooms are large and comfortable with vaulted ceilings, exposed wood beams all with a rustic feel. The service and food are first rate. The fishing is excellent with multiple points to fish and fishing is mostly floating with stopping points to wade at the guide's preferred gravel bars. The fish are strong and healthy with opportunities to catch cut throat, rainbow and brown trout during the day. The guides are friendly, patient and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Always bring a rain coat and warm clothes in case the weather turns cool and wet. I brought low wad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

After 30 years of marriage and you think you know... This vacation get away for my mothers day gift was absolutely the BEST ever. 5 star experience and tranquil outdoor scenery. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom! The sound and smell of nature... I slept with the sliding door open so I could hear the sound of the river. We made a simple breakfast in our room since we had a mini kitchen. We fished the river with a guide, shopped in Jackson Hole, spent the day at the Grand Tetons, went Beer tasting at Teton Valley Brewery and Dined at the resort. One of the best vacations with nature and my loving husband. I could not ask for much more.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms with the kitchen. I liked the option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Wonderful from beginning to end. Will come back to vacation with the family. Have been telling friends and business associates about the trout benedict for breakfast with the snow falling,river view, fire in the fireplace and the greatest wait staff.

Room Tip: Try a deluxe suite with jetted tub, heated tile in the bath and great views on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I work in the fly fishing travel business and have stayed at many 3-5 star fishing lodges and fished with many outfitters in my days.
I also was a guide in that area for 5 summers. With no hesitation, the South Fork Lodge is one of the best places to fish and stay I have ever experienced. The lodge is right on the river and offers beautiful views from every room. Each room is very well appointed and tastefully decorated. The food was varied, delicious and reasonably priced. The bar was such a welcoming and comfortable spot to park in the evenings. Every member of the staff was always smiling, helpful and making you feel like a new friend and their only priority…. and you are. They can easily accommodate non-angling guests with visits to Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, Jackson Hole, or arrange a variety of activities closer to the lodge.

The South Fork of the Snake River has always been a phenomenal trout fishery. I found the guides to parallel the quality of the accommodations, customer service and fishery. This August I am returning with several of my best clients.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jfcampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swan Valley
4.4 mi away
Sleepy J Cabins
Sleepy J Cabins
#1 of 3 in Swan Valley
41 reviews
17.6 mi away
Teton Springs Lodge and Spa
6.2 mi away
Hansen-Silver Guest Ranch
Hansen-Silver Guest Ranch
#1 of 2 in Swan Valley
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Snake River Roadhouse
Snake River Roadhouse
#2 of 2 in Swan Valley
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to South Fork Lodge by Natural Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Fork Lodge by Natural Retreats

Address: 40 Conant Valley Loop, Swan Valley, ID 83449 (Formerly South Fork Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Swan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Swan Valley
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning wilderness location, and the finest dry fly fishing waters in the USANatural Retreats South Fork Lodge rests on a dramatic bend of eastern Idaho's world-famous South Fork of the Snake River in scenic Swan Valley. This stunning wilderness location offers a perfect blend of rustic elegance, outstanding activities and exceptional hospitality. The unique setting, first–class amenities, and Natural Retreats' dedication to customer service all combine to provide a truly memorable experience for guests. Whether relaxing at the lodge, taking advantage of a guided activity through The Outfitters, enjoying a Starbucks coffee at the Storehouse, or sitting down to dinner at The Riverside Bar And Grill, The South Fork Lodge will exceed your expectations. The 65 miles of the South Fork of the Snake River is known by many as one of the best tailwater and dry fly fisheries in the US, and The Outfitters offers unparalleled unique guided fishing on these waters. Natural Retreats Concierge service is happy to arrange horseback riding, rafting, hiking, and kayaking for all guests who want to explore these adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Fork Lodge By Natural Retreats Swan Valley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing