We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best”

Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Malin Beg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cobh, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

one of the best beaches i have seen so far as its quiet and often lonely.


no tourist crowds, no noise, .... just you and your beach.

you have to be fit enough to get down and up all the steps but its so worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tienchen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    13
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“goreous area, nice beach!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My 9 year old wanted to play on a beach so we headed to Malin Beg to the beach. It was beautiful and a nice place to play in sand. I was a bit of a hike down the steps but still nice. We loved the entire Donegal area!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank honase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Challenging Beach Walk”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This beach is unbelievable in its setting, a real horseshoe shaped beach backed up by steep sides, so nicely protected from winds and storms. However, there has to be a downside to this idyllic location. Not sure how many there are, but there are a lot of steps down to the beach and you will feel them even more on the way back up.

No facilities here, just a beach in a glorious setting, at the end of the world, oh and a few steps of course....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JGrant44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came on this part of the world by accident one evening towards dark and decided it deserved to be explored so we stayed in a nearby hostel run by Frank (hostel was exceptionally clean and Frank great host) and in the morning headed to this most fantastic beach. It truly is a little piece of heaven. We spent a couple of hours just enjoying the peace and tranquility and had a swim in the beautiful clear water. We were the only ones there for most of the time. The beach is half moon in shape and as it is surrounded by cliffs/mountains it is nicely sheltered.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Got lost, ended up here, glad we did!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Long story short, we missed a sign for the Slieve League cliffs and went straight when we should have turned. I saw a map by the side of the road and picked this spot out and thought, "That looks cool, let's head there..."

I'm glad we did! In the midst of cliff faces rising out of the sea, is this gem of a beach. It's slightly curved, and is banked by said cliffs on either side. The car park can fit a number of vehicles, but we were the only five people on the beach that day. (Granted, it was in the 50s and overcast, not particularly "beach weather".) There is a number of steps down to the beach itself, which is quite sandy at low tide. (From the indicators I could see, it didn't look like much sand was left at high tide.) We walked and walked and just listened to the waves.

One thing I found quite weird, and perhaps this is why there were no "beach-goers" (besides the weather), was that there were thousands (literally, thousands) of jellyfish dotting the sand. Some the size of a half-dollar, and others a good 8 inches across. (Presumably waiting for high tide to take them back out to sea.)

If you have the time, I'd make it up here. If not to go to the beach, just to enjoy the view! But look out for the jellyfish!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Strand Beach also viewed

Carrick, County Donegal
 
Glencolmcille, County Donegal
Ardara, County Donegal
 

Been to Silver Strand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing