We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GRUMPY Atmosphere”

Grumpy's Goat Shack
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Victor
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: This is a great gourmet hot dog burger restaurant slash tavern with a very unique atmosphere and food located in a tiny town on the backside of the Grant Teton mountain range from Jackson Hole. Let the kids check out the goats in the backyard while the parents enjoy a cold one.
Victor, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GRUMPY Atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We used to enjoy a cold beer on the patio at Grumpy's every now and then, appreciating the no-frills vibe. But over the past two summers the owners have gotten so negative about Victor and the other local businesses, it's no longer enjoyable to visit. The food is mostly made in a microwave or hot plate set-up. Some good grilled items. If you like hot dogs, you'll enjoy the food. Limited seating and limited menu. Not sure if we'll support this establishment any longer if we keep hearing that Grumpy gets drunk, rude, and sloppy at the other Victor restaurants.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MtnSurf208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience Not for Children”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were looking for a quick place to grab lunch with our children after a bike ride into Victor and we thought a hot dog place would be perfect as the hamburger restaurant our children love (Brakeman's Grill) was closed for the day. The people who work there are the only rude people we have ever met in this cute little town (we have a vacation home here). The inside decor is covered with undies, bras, and suggestive pictures not suitable for children. The restaurant is dirty. We asked about children's items, and we were told (with the waitress rolling her eyes) that they didn't have anything for children. We ended up ordered plain hot dogs for the children, our kids said they were disgusting, and very expensive. The kids were still hungry, so we ended up purchasing sandwiches for the kids at the Victor Market and ate them at the park across the street-- a much more pleasant and clean experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bradyandkristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S, Owner at Grumpy's Goat Shack, responded to this review, 14 June 2015
After we told Salt Lake City cult member Kris that we didn't have a kids menu with reduced pricing because we are bar as well as a sandwich counter, she flips out and says "how am I supposed to feed six kids at these prices?. Our thoughts were, try leaving your magic underwear on! The kids ate every scrap as mom ranted about the fare.

The underwear on the ceiling are our idiot detectors and also worked very well with fellow cheapskate Mary Pat Verde and her husband and fellow ranter Arturo(see previous reviews).

We serve Vienna Beef and premium condiments and buns, and have legions of families that order while the kids play and sit in the backyard with the goats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not family friendly!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Okay first of all, the name says it all; the hostesses were rude. Inside are somethings that shouldn't ever be in a restaurant! Not a good place to bring children or anyone under 21. Couldn't even eat in that awful place...

Helpful?
1 Thank MaryPatVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Name is accurate.....Not for families!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Rude hostess. We obviously made a mistake by bringing the kids here and when we decided to leave, before we sat down, hostess told us: "there's a McDonalds in Idaho Falls". Thanks, went over to Big Hole BBQ and had excellent dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ArturoVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best "Chicago Hot Dog" I've had in a long time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you can't relax and have a good time or your underwear is on too tight, then don't stop here. With a free day to do as we pleased in Jackson Hole, my girl and I wanted to set feet in Idaho as we've never been to the "Gem State." We Googled Victor and found Grumpy's website. We had to check this place out. So we rented a Harley in Jackson and rode the Teton Pass up over the mountains and headed for Victor. We met Liz and Mike, who own the place and are the only two employees. We really weren't hungry so we split a Chicago dog. Liz told us we would want another and she was right. Second dog was an Idaho Teton...good, but I liked the Chicage better. Then we ordered the Roasted Garlic and Cheese with toasted baguettes plate. (Did I say we weren't hungry?) The 8 stool shack was filled with locals who made us feel like part of the gang. Opinions are aired here, but the banter is friendly. The only down side was our schedule didn't permit us to stay longer,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wharfdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grumpy's Goat Shack also viewed

 

Been to Grumpy's Goat Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing