We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Grumpy's Goat Shack
Ranked #16 of 29 Restaurants in Victor
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a great gourmet hot dog burger restaurant slash tavern with a very unique atmosphere and food located in a tiny town on the backside of the Grant Teton mountain range from Jackson Hole. Let the kids check out the goats in the backyard while the parents enjoy a cold one.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a great gourmet hot dog burger restaurant slash tavern with a very unique atmosphere and food located in a tiny town on the backside of the Grant Teton mountain range from Jackson Hole. Let the kids check out the goats in the backyard while the parents enjoy a cold one.
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had no idea what to expect as we walked up towards this rather small indoor/outdoor establishment. By the time we left we were extremely glad we came here. Burger, sandwich and hot dogs for our family of four were all excellent. The folks running the place were entertaining to speak with and even wrote down for us a list of places they recommend to visit in the Yellowstone and Idaho Falls area. Our two boys were able to feed the goats out back, and to top it off the homemade huckleberry ice cream sandwich we split was reason alone to visit. If you are looking for a chain restaurant experience, probably not the place for you; otherwise, if in the area, this place is worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We used to enjoy a cold beer on the patio at Grumpy's every now and then, appreciating the no-frills vibe. But over the past two summers the owners have gotten so negative about Victor and the other local businesses, it's no longer enjoyable to visit. The food is mostly made in a microwave or hot plate set-up. Some good grilled items. If you like hot dogs, you'll enjoy the food. Limited seating and limited menu. Not sure if we'll support this establishment any longer if we keep hearing that Grumpy gets drunk, rude, and sloppy at the other Victor restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MtnSurf208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were looking for a quick place to grab lunch with our children after a bike ride into Victor and we thought a hot dog place would be perfect as the hamburger restaurant our children love (Brakeman's Grill) was closed for the day. The people who work there are the only rude people we have ever met in this cute little town (we have a vacation home here). The inside decor is covered with undies, bras, and suggestive pictures not suitable for children. The restaurant is dirty. We asked about children's items, and we were told (with the waitress rolling her eyes) that they didn't have anything for children. We ended up ordered plain hot dogs for the children, our kids said they were disgusting, and very expensive. The kids were still hungry, so we ended up purchasing sandwiches for the kids at the Victor Market and ate them at the park across the street-- a much more pleasant and clean experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bradyandkristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S, Owner at Grumpy's Goat Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2015

After we told Salt Lake City cult member Kris that we didn't have a kids menu with reduced pricing because we are bar as well as a sandwich counter, she flips out and says "how am I supposed to feed six kids at these prices?. Our thoughts were, try leaving your magic underwear on! The kids ate every scrap as mom ranted about the fare.

The underwear on the ceiling are our idiot detectors and also worked very well with fellow cheapskate Mary Pat Verde and her husband and fellow ranter Arturo(see previous reviews).

We serve Vienna Beef and premium condiments and buns, and have legions of families that order while the kids play and sit in the backyard with the goats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Okay first of all, the name says it all; the hostesses were rude. Inside are somethings that shouldn't ever be in a restaurant! Not a good place to bring children or anyone under 21. Couldn't even eat in that awful place...

1  Thank MaryPatVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Rude hostess. We obviously made a mistake by bringing the kids here and when we decided to leave, before we sat down, hostess told us: "there's a McDonalds in Idaho Falls". Thanks, went over to Big Hole BBQ and had excellent dinner.

2  Thank ArturoVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grumpy's Goat Shack also viewed

 

Been to Grumpy's Goat Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing