We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want more!”
Review of Scratch

Scratch
Ranked #10 of 29 Restaurants in Victor
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“I want more!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This had to be the most amazing food I have ever had! When we walked up to the restaurant the first thing we notice was that the maximum seating was twenty! Then on the menu was a notice that they didn't own a microwave and if you were in a hurry to eat , not to stay ! We knew then that this was going to be good! And we were right!!!!! The gyro with fries that I ordered was unforgettable! The lamb was amazingly tender and the flavors incredible! My husband's veggie burger left him speechless until he was begging for more! The couple that do it all are wonderful people with a true passion and love for good, wholesome, natural foods! How refreshing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    1
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victor, Idaho, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My family has eaten here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The food is always good. This is a Mom and Pop business and they may have to close sometimes unexpectedly...so what! I have never been disappointed and highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bummed out :(”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have given Scratch several tries. The food is really top notch. The beverages, great! So good that I really looked forward to breakfast several times but was sorely disappointed when I found them closed when they said they were open. They were unapologetic and explained that they just were not ready to open. This happened twice to my husband and I. The last time I tried Scratch, my friend and I were really looking forward to the outing and sitting outside in the sun with our babies. We walked in to be seated and soon discovered that they do not have high chairs!!! Really?! That sucks! Sorry, but that did it and I won't be trying Scratch again :(

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply one of the finest Everyday Restaurants in eastern Idaho”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We've eaten here many many times over the last four years. "Scratch"--as in "cooked from scratch"--is our favorite for everyday meals in Idaho's Teton Valley. Located in Victor, ID, it's on the loop of roads that surround The Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. Head west from Wilson, WY, over the Pass and into downtown Victor. The food is truly exceptional--really fit for special occasions though the ambience is so laid-back and comfortable that one feels he's just sitting at the kitchen table. One can't eat this well for three times the price in most other such establishments. The menu evolves over the year, but the "constant" is quality, no matter what's being served. Not only do locals love this spot. But so do the out-of -town travelers who are known to drive miles extra just to check it out, or to return having already been won over by the great --really great--food, the quirky but tidy ambience, and the kind attention of Chef Will and Jessica, his wife and co-originator of all that draws us back again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stopped at this place on our way to Grand Teton. We didn't plan to go there - just wanted to have lunch somewhere. The food was amazing! I had the greek dish (Chicken souvlaki on pita, field greens, feta, cucumbers, homemade tzatziki). I am originally from Europe and had lots of greek dishes in my life (at restaurants operated by greek people). The one at scratch was the best ever! The ingredients were very well balanced (at many other places the only taste was the tzatziki) and I can confirm that the tzatziki is really homemade, fresh and neither to spice nor to weak. We stopped there again on our way back and it was great again. I can confirm that the service was not that great but the food made this more than up. Can't understand why people only give 2 stars. 4.4 rating at google fits much better. I know this place is remote but when you are around you have to go there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_D934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scratch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing