We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cabins, not so great service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moose Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moose Creek Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice cabins, not so great service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in both the twin cabins and the glamping tents. They were both clean and modern, but when we arrived there was no one to check us in. I got lucky and was able to retrieve an email stating which cabin was ours and that the keys were in the room. There was another group of people who came from the East coast while we were there and after a day of traveling, we're not able to get into their room. We had to search the entire property and guess which was their cabin. They have one lady who 'manages' the ranch, but never seems to be around or available at the phone number provided. It seems the owners have put a lot of money into making this a nice place to stay, but I don't see it working out with the current 'management'

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCRanchVictor_Idaho, General Manager at Moose Creek Ranch, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I am so sorry that you were displeased with our self check in system - I always try to either email or cal guests the day of their arrival and have the units set up and ready for them . We do not have an onsite manager for late arrival thru this check in system - it does add to the charm and feeling of ownership that makes people feel as if we are truly sharing the Ranch with them and I promise we will take our comments into consideration and try to make it more foolproof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    18
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
42
25
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here in October 2013. What was charged on the internet was not what they told us when we got there. We somehow got a really good rate on the internet that wasn't supposed to have been. However, they honored the internet price.

It was a great experience. We stayed in one of the Twin cabins. It had all we needed plus a beautiful setting. We got to see a moose on the hill across from our cabin. It was peaceful and clean. We hope to go again. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dala G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCRanchVictor_Idaho, Manager at Moose Creek Ranch, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review of Moose Creek Ranch to help others base their travel decisions from. We want everyone to realize what a jewel Teton Valley Idaho is and what it offers.

We try very hard to make sure everyone has a the best experience and I am glad that you noted that we honored the pricing difference. We have on and off season pricing and specials and so we are always happy to make any adjustment due.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed at Moose Creek Ranch during the winter. It was a great base for snowshoeing and cross country skiing in the Jedediah Smith Wilderness. The Ranch is also pretty much equidistant between Grand Targhee and Jackson Hole Resort - each 30 minutes away. The Ranch is off the main road, back against the national forest, and it is quite and private. One morning I awoke to find a moose and her yearling calf crossing through the front yard. The cabins are fully stocked, the beds are comfortable, and the lodge provides a great place to relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I came upon Moose Creek while searching for a sort of centrally-located place to stay in the Yellowstone/Grand Tetons area that wasn't Motel 6 for Broadmoor/Homestead/Greenbrier prices (which is pretty much the case with hotels/B&Bs that are closer to the parks). It is in a pretty area and has several double cabins and "glamping" tents, with a large central building that has laundry facilities and meeting rooms. The cabin we stayed in was clean and well-designed, with a full kitchen including full-sized fridge, range, toaster and coffee maker, dishes and cooking utensils; it was heated but had no air conditioning (not sure if it's ever needed, at that elevation). The bed was comfortable, the bath well set up, and there were plenty of electrical outlets. They do have wifi, but there is no password, so not sure about the security. We saw the manager (owner?) only once in four days, the day after we arrived; no one was there when we arrived. They had left a message on one of the windows at the front of the central building saying which cabin we had, and that it was open and the keys were inside. I guess that far out in the country security isn't that much of an issue. The other nice thing about the location is that it is just yards from the river and less than a quarter of a mile from a new hiking/biking trail, which we took advantage of. They also have horses for riding, but we didn't try that.

Room Tip: Just depends on what you want. If you want an adventure, the "glamping" tents might be fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a pleasant surprise after a long day's drive. Cabins are gorgeous! Tile and reclaimed lumber. Could not have been cleaner. Staff very friendly and helpful. Next time I will spend more time here and less time in Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We decided to try glamping en route to Yellowstone. We stayed for one night at Moose Creek Ranch and were very pleased with our choice. The setting is beautiful and John was extremely friendly and was able to suggest a number of places to eat in the area. Our tent was very comfortable and the shared bathroom facilities were very clean and well kept. It was lovely falling asleep to the sound of the creek.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

It was such a pleasure to stay at Moose Creek Ranch for my college friends' wedding this past weekend. We did not take advantage of the horseback trips, but we did find wonderful hiking and fishing nearby. The cabin was immaculately clean and had all the necessities for cooking. Jeanette, Susan, and John were all so helpful with any sort of request we had, personally and for the wedding. I would GLADLY stay at Moose Creek Ranch again, and I would recommend it to anyone headed to the Jackson area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sage #2, the furthest away from the barn and the lodge. It was quiet and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyEggo727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victor
15.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
11.1 mi away
Teton Valley Cabins
Teton Valley Cabins
#2 of 7 in Driggs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.6 mi away
Teton Springs Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed and Breakfast
11.0 mi away
Teton Hostel HideAway B&B
3.9 mi away
Teton Valley Motel
Teton Valley Motel
#7 of 7 in Victor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Ranch

Property: Moose Creek Ranch
Address: 2733 E 10800 S, Victor, ID 83455-5546
Region: United States > Idaho > Victor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Victor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moose Creek Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled alongside Moose Creek at the base of the Teton Pass and the Moose Canyon Trailhead the moose Creek Ranch is ideal for the independent traveler and family seeking a true mountain getaway in the outskirts of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, and the Caribou-Targhee National Forest.Our Moose Creek twin cabins each offer a queen bedroom and a full bathroom, a fully stocked kitchenette and a full size sleeper sofa. The Moose Creek Family Cabin features five bedrooms, three bathrooms, two living rooms, dining room and a full-sized, fully stocked kitchen and its own secluded picnic area outside. The cabins comfortably house 4 people and the house 10-15. There is a creek that runs thru the property and a stocked fishing pond minutes away. We have a lodge that has two large meeting rooms, a pool table and a caterer's kitchen. We are a non-smoking, pet friendly facility.We are proud to have Dry Ridge Outfitters servicing our equestrian needs. Their horses are impressive mountain horses. They can take you for a horseback adventure on or off the ranch.We are available for Weddings, Retreats, and Reunions and can help with all your recreational planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Moose Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Ranch Victor, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing