We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but expensive”
Review of The Stardust Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stardust Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We received friendly and courteous service during check in.
The room was large and clean. Furniture and decorations were dated.
Well-equipped with TV, coffee, microwave, refrigerator, and a quiet air conditioner.
Comfortable bed and pillows.
Relatively expensive.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MoragaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for The Stardust Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

There aren't many lodging choices in Wallace which is a shame because my husband and I really enjoyed this town. The Stardust motel is old and all the decor is very dated but it has a certain charm that goes well with this historic town. There is nothing fancy about it, in fact it was a pretty drab room but it was clean and the folks that run the motel were very nice and easy to deal with. The real plus is the location to enjoy the town. Everything is a short walk away. My only complaints that might make me stay at the Wallace Inn next time instead was the bathroom. No place to put anything or plug anything in and the shower was awful. I couldn't get it to stay on a tempurature. It was either freezing cold or scorching hot so I gave up and showered at our next destination.If I was staying more than one night it would have been an issue. It's time to bring the plumbing up to this century or reduce the rates. I still give this lodging a very good because of the location but just know when you choose this motel that your expectations should be low and you will be happy.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room had a front and back door which was handy. Parking was tight and we pulled a b...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harleytravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Clean, staff friendly and accepting when we needed to check out late. Best feature is location, location.

It's clean, other guests were courteous; design is old style, but I will stay there again because of the location on edge of downtown - well downtown such as it is. Walkable easily - winner.

Wallace is an old mining town seemed to be built about 1900 and a gem to stroll through. Eateries, wine bar, brew pub, mine tours, liked the stay a lot. Planned to leave at 9:30 the next morn, left at 12;30.

W/O a pool of its own, Stardust apparently has arrangement with another motel walkable distance (long) to use their pool if just show Stardust room key. There is also a city pool in walking distance.

Room Tip: no advice on room choice, but front desk help seemed straightforward.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is the second year that we attended the Wallace Blues Festival and stayed at the Stardust Motel. There's no argument that the Stardust is a piece of Americana because it's an older motel in a small town, but that doesn't diminish the hospitality of the folks that run it. Ed and Nancy Larsen are extremely friendly and accommodating; as is Rick when dealing with him via emails. The rooms are comfortable and the A/C works great. It had a coffee maker as well as a small refrigerator. Every time we return to Wallace we'll see about getting a room at the Stardust. The best part is its location to the major venues of the annual Blues Festival.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying at the Stardust for the annual Wallace Blues Festival, book early.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gs8055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We’re thrilled about your two fabulous stays and reviews. Glad you were happy with Stardust hospitality. See you next July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I got an amazing deal to do The Route of the Hiawatha and two nights at the Stardust Motel. What a great deal that was! Ed & Nancy were so nice and very personable. The motel has an older feel to it, but is very clean. You can count on us to be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon_LauraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We’ll look forward to seeing you again soon! Please let us know if we can help you plan another bike ride, hike, or other adventure. Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here during the 2013 Blues Festival. Rick and Ras graciously welcomed us and made us feel right at home. They were most helpful, very knowledgable about the area and quick to respond. They were delightful to work with.

The Motel is a slice of Americana, with a classic look and setup. The rooms are clean, comfortable and complete. The rates are very good. Restaurants and bars are an easy walk away. The location is ideal.

We had a blast at the Festival. Many of our friends stayed there too. This was our first time at the Stardust. We have already made our reservations for the 2014 Blues Festival, and intend to stay here for many years to come.

I highly recommend this fine motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Your great review means a lot! Happy to have you for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A blast from the past, an older motel off the beaten path. Very friendly front desk woman. We liked the look and feel of this place even with the mixed reviews we decided to stay and see for ourselves.
Everything was expected from a pretty well maintained older motel. We laughed at the air in the pipes when we turned on the water. That didn't bother us and didn't last long once we figured out just how much water pressure was needed for that not to happen. The room was clean, had a fridge which we appreciated and used.
The location is great, actually. Just off the beaten path about a block or so from Main Street where most of the town's businesses are. The neighborhood is mostly residential and quiet with lots of lovely flowers and HUGE trees. We took a fairly long walk around the neighborhood and admired the old homes and the many churches for such a small area. Some of the buildings were maked with the yr built back to the 1800's. As I said before, A step back in time~

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the second floor room 38, it suited our needs well. It is more o...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

So happy to hear you enjoyed the historical buildings and the rest of your visit. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
0.3 mi away
Wallace Inn
Wallace Inn
#1 of 3 in Wallace
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brooks Hotel
The Brooks Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wallace
36 reviews
10.7 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryan Hotel
Ryan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallace
65 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
21 reviews
10.3 mi away
Trail Motel
Trail Motel
#2 of 2 in Kellogg
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stardust Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stardust Motel

Address: 410 Pine St, Wallace, ID 83873-2255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range: £45 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stardust Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stardust Motel offers only the best to our guests. Our spacious, western-style rooms are clean and provide excellent amenities. Room types include twins, queens and king-size beds. We are pet friendly and pride ourselves on our hospitality and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Stardust Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel Wallace
The Stardust Motel Wallace, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing