We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok affordable breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooks Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brooks Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Wallace
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok affordable breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Three people had breakfast here. The breakfast area is pretty dumpy looking. I wouldn't describe the portions as huge but reasonable. The pancakes were average size. The cinnamon roll was huge - the size of a salad plate and very good. Hash browns were well cooked and crispy. The waitress was a little inattentive. She was busy discussing graduation with all the locals. Over rated in my opinion. It's okay, but I've been to a lot better breakfast diners.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GretchenDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WALLACE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistency”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

As locals, we appreciate the Brooks' consistency: open virtually every day of the year for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and in the many times we have eaten there the food has always been consistently good - albeit not gourmet - and the service excellent.
Compared to the erratic hours of the few other remaining restaurants in Wallace, this a big deal. Just about anyplace else you better check before you go to make sure they are open! (Not the case with the Brooks)
Only complaint is the lighting is too bright for our tastes in the evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DARRELL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“HUGE portions, lots of choices & excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I knew this place was good when I saw truck loads of off-road riders leaving to head out to explore. Four pages of offerings - omelets, huckleberry waffles, biscuits & gravy and you could even get a different types of gravy - country, sausage & brown. My compaion order the chicken fried steak - it was as big as the plate and very good (I had to check it out). Nice breading and good meat - not that sometimes mystery meat you get. I had the omelet with a biscuit and the best hashbrowns ever.
This is a small restaurant in the hotel's main floor. The service was excellent - one gal doing everyone and we didn't want for a thing. She didn't even write our order down - and we four all had changes and additions to each order - not one problem. Big tip was left!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGoddessofAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
363 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went somewhere else the night before for dinner which was not a great experience. So when we had breakfast here, my wife agreed that we should have had dinner here the night before. The full menu is extensive and if the Huckleberry cheesecake I had for desert the night before and the breakfast we had in the morning are any indication of the rest of the menu, this is the place to eat in Wallace.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good food, just needed help with the rush during the holiday weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The flea market is on this weekend, lots of people in town. We went out to breakfast and our waitress did the best she could with a restaurant full of hungry people. Food was good, recommend it, just hope management can plan better for busy times.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MTflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brooks Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brooks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing