We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let the buyer (renter) beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa Cottage Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 South Fintry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent 1 week here in August 2011. I was very disappointed on arrival to see that this "cottage resort" is 1/2 cottage resort and the other half trailer park.
The General Store and Restaurant noted in the listing from the owner has closed, and the "20 minute drive" to Kelowna is more like 45 minutes, on a very windy, challenging road. So dont arrive there without all your groceries.....(but nobody tells you that)
We rented directly from an owner, who did not inform us that the resort would charge us an additional $100 fee to use some of the resort amenities including the kayaks, gym, etc.
The cottage itself was lovely, but the location is poor. I think you would be alot better off with something closer to town, to enjoy some of the surrounding area. This place is like suburbia carved into the hillside. Your vacation dollars are better spent elsewhere.
I will NOT go back.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMC6808, Manager at La Casa Cottage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for your review. As the new management we decided to no longer rent out anymore RV spots at the resort. We have the restaurant reopening this May. There will be a basic shop at the resort but we do advise that guests stock up on their groceries before arriving at the resort.
Not all cottages at the resort are rented out by our rental program, for cottages in our program we offer all the information you will need to plan for an enjoyable stay. La Casa offers the best of cottage living with resort amenities. We have a fabulous set up for a family vacation with everything from a movie theatre, to games room, mini golf, 2 swimming pools, 3 hot tubs, kayaks, tennis, and an aqua park. Driving time from Kelowna is indeed about 35 min along Westside road, which is a spectacular lakeside drive with plenty of wildlife including the local heard of mountain sheep and many deer along the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

The first house that they gave us has no internet and water! They eventually moved us to another house. The has has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, dining area, living area with sofa bed. The house is clean and complete kitchen items necessary for cooking. Just bring the ingredients. There are amenities in the resort like pool, court, marina. It's a good house for big group, you can probably sleep 12 people there just bring some airbeds. Location is quite remote no shops nearby because it's a 30 minutes zigzag drive from the main road but the view is beautiful. Overall I would go back here if I'm with a big group, just a note though that hot water in the house runs out quickly!

Room Tip: Ask politely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

La Casa is approx 45 mins from Vernon and or Kelowna so be sure to stock up on all your groceries before hand as there are no shops/stores in between. Resort does offer many lake views; however, most cabins require a short 2-5 min drive to get to the lake.

If you are looking for a nice big sandy beach this is not your resort. Beach was mostly a rock beach with several defined lounger deck areas (mostly dominated by adults) but did have large water toys in the lake to play on (trampoline, water logs, kayaks).

The restaurant and shop were closed when we were there (mid July!!). When asked why they were closed, resort staff did not know why, when we asked when it would be open staff could not tell us. Would have been nice to have something open to grab milk or an ice cream, and considering this should be peak season....weird.

Pool area was nice, and was complemented by tennis courts and a mini golf course. There are some short hiking trails nearby which offer spectacular views of the lake.
We were responsible for our own garbage removal and recycling wich was a 2 min drive down near the marina.

The theatre on top of the hill was also closed, but did open up one day for a movie (rain day).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank canadianIslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMC6808, Manager at La Casa Cottage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for your review. As the new management we very much appreciate feedback and as in previous post, we are excited to announce the reopening of Zocalos restaurant and grill. The restaurant will reopen this May. There will also be a small shop at the resort where guests will be able to buy basics like bread, milk and ice cream.
This summer, amongst many other activities, we plan to organize multiple movie viewings per week at our theatre. This theatre will also be free for use to our La Casa Club Membership guests as one of many benefits at the resort. On our beach from we have added beautiful lounging decks, and will continue to have the ever popular aqua park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Let's be quite clear about the location of La Casa. It is situated 38km on the West side of the lake from Kelowna. The road is at times terrifying... and i write this as someone who drives both a sports car and an SUV and regard myself as being more than competent. The point is, the road itself is a sheer drop on one side for most of the way to La Casa. It is very twisty and has many many blind spots. The corners are severe this should therefore dictate a slow speed for most of the 30km of the drive. The only problem is the locals who know the road drive at crazy speeds and if you don't have an idiot coming head-on on the wrong side of the road fairly often, then you have some idiot on your tail the whole way up the road. There are no overtaking points. Add to this mix a full car full of kids and family, luggage weight - you need to have a good engine to safely drive this road. Don't even think about doing it at night. There are no lights.
When you eventually get to La Casa, you will find it split across two sections. The resort is built into the side of the hill with the main office and restaurant etc. located on the top, the villas underneath on the other side of the road. It is a VERY steep climb and if you’re over the age of 40 you may have difficulties in the summer heat. The pool is also located on the top side of the road meaning an uphill climb to it.
As for the ‘beach’ this is almost non-existent with a shallow area before a steep drop-off into rocks. The sun loungers exist in a long string and there is no sand.
I’m not going to spend any further time commenting, except to say we had a terrible location there last July and it caused a lot of friction in that we felt stranded there. The website badly describes the location. Have a look at Google Maps using this link: http://maps.google.ca/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=kelowna&daddr=la+casa+resort&hl=en&geocode=FSQc-QIdcG_h-CmzMMfjtox9UzH3xLTaPeX4Tg%3BFaDP_AIdp13g-CF0eC92L32U4g&mra=ls&sll=49.931555,-119.484558&sspn=0.166853,0.445976&ie=UTF8&ll=49.99494,-119.493484&spn=0.344303,0.891953&z=11 and look at the location with the ‘Satellite View’ turned on. Even better, view it on Google Earth. I’m surprised anyone would buy a villa there.
Save your money and enjoy your holiday time somewhere easier to get to and with local amenities. IF you ever safely get to La Casa, you’ll be stuck with nothing to do and knowing that if you want to go into Kelowna…it’s 38 km on a dangerous road.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank stuabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Resort closed for the season, including pay phone service. Reservation was canceled 4 days prior to arrival while we were not at home to get the message. Did not leave any message at resort notifying of cancellation, either by person or written notification. When confronted later, the company wouldn't acknowledge any responsibility for poor customer service. Older people should know that this is 45 minutes away from any medical services should they be needed. Very narrow winding road to resort.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank rainydays20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed at LaCasa for an onsite wedding and all-in-all enjoyed ourselves. Definitely stock up on supplies before heading there from Kelowna, you don't want to forget anything and have to drive 1/2 hour down that windy road again. They do have a small store, but most things were closed down for the end of the season (we were told they were shutting down right after the wedding and it did feel that way).

Inside the cabins were beautiful, stocked with everything you'd need, and very comfortable. Fireplaces, great kitchen, lovely deck. The outside we found a little esthetically unappealing. They all have siding and from the outside look almost exactly the same (making it feel very much like the suburbs, not the remote lakeside destination you may be imagining after driving down the quiet windy road to get there). They are built so close together that you could talk to your neighbour on the deck next to yours without raising your voice if you wanted. They have a ton of land, so it cheapened the effect for us a bit. Build them a little farther apart and plant some trees between, it would be much nicer.

As another reviewer pointed out, "Televisions" does not mean cable or satellite. Seriously? Seemed a little like false advertising to us. While we all had TV's, some of our friends had channels, most didn't. If it's important to you (we thought it would have been nice), be sure to request one with a connection!

We had asked for a lake view (and offered to pay more for it), but wouldn't consider what we had a full lake view. We more overlooked the mini-golf area and highway, and had a sliver of lake in the horizon. Wouldn't have minded this so much if they had put us with some of the other wedding guests, but we were the only ones in our section. Since the place was almost empty and all guests had a set rate would have been nice to try to put us somewhat together (we had to drive to most of the other cabins where our friends were staying, we were that far away).

The reservation process was excruciatingly painful. It took over a month from the first email to make the reservation, and only because we were so persistent. The rate changed constantly, I never had the same person email me twice. Had the wedding not been there, we never would have booked there after all that with so many options in Kelowna. Really needs to be simplified.

Our kids would have enjoyed this resort: movie theater, mini-golf, etc., but I think a couple would find it pretty kid-crazy if they went in the summer!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BTMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The whole resort is on a very steep hillside so to get anywhere is a steep hike up or down. The pool area is at the top of the site. The resort itself is about 30 minutes (definitely not the promised 20 minutes) from West Kelowna and the nearest shop travelling on a very windy road, but we did get to see a baby black bear and the mountain goats! BUT beware if travelling in September as apart from the pool and hot tub, ALL other amenities were closed for the winter - and that was w/c 18th September. So no tennis or boating, no restaurant, no shop, no golf buggies to hire. Just nothing. And virtually noone else there either - so quite a feeling of isolation. The beach area itself is tiny & stoney. Lots of chalets with a 'for sale' sign, however! We did contact the owner but were told that the shop management is independent from the resort so nothing to do. Our chalet was near the bottom of the valley and our UK mobile signal was very weak (roaming onto Rogers). Stunning views across the lake, but weather wasn't great -rained for first few days and mostly not warm enough to sit out on the deck and enjoy the beauty of the lake views. We didn't eat out on the deck once. The chalet itself was great, however - 3 beds and 2 bathrooms and lots of opportunity to enjoy some of the delicious wines tasted from the 92 wineries around the area!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheNard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fintry
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,164 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
698 reviews
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Cottage Resort

Address: 6808 Westside Rd N | South Fintry, South Fintry, British Columbia V1Z 3R8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > South Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Fintry
Price Range: £75 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa Cottage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west side of Lake Okanagan, 30 minutes north of West Kelowna, British Columbia, offering 60 vacation rental cottages in the La Casa resort. Beautiful new, fully-equipped 2 and 3 bedroom cottages near the lake/marina, around the swimming pool/activities centre, or on the upper ridge with spectacular lake views. Activities include: 2 swimming pools, 3 jacuzzi, 2 tennis courts, mini-golf, beach volleyball, basketball, playground, group BBQ area, kayaks, lake aqua trampolines, marina, trails right behind the resort for hiking, biking, ATV, and nearby horseback riding, golf, and wineries. Perched on the hill, the lake view Events Centre is ideal for weddings or groups up to 130 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Casa Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing