We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Dark and Stormy"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Harbour Cay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriearl Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Dark and Stormy"”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful weeks at the Carriearl in mid July...the reference to "Dark and Stormy" is of course to the habit forming rum drink that Marty introduced us to and far from a description of our stay. We have been to 7 "out-islands" and are accustomed to the "little-to-do-and-all-day-to-complete-the-task" routines that one embraces on small islands. We weren't however prepared for the amazing combination of beach, food, ambience, and the graciousness of our hosts. We were made to feel like house guests rather than hotel guests. The accommodations were bright, airy, and spotless. The food prepared by Marty never failed to leave us craving more, and Angie's decorative touch gave the property that perfect sense of barefoot elegance. The Carriearl has vaulted to the top of our "short list" of vacation sites.
Joe and Kelly
Louisville, Kentucky

Room Tip: There are currently only 3 rooms...all quite nice...we did however choose the one with the king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeKelly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you Kelly and Joel for taking the time to write such a glowing review on Carriearl. Laura's daughter came to stay after you left and we have a secret addition to the 'Dark and Stormy' which I cannot reveal, so you will have to come back to try it !! She is a 'Mixologist' so gave us some great ideas and tips for our cocktails. Trouble was we had to drink them all !!

It was a shame you were not here when she came as we told her how much we enjoyed your company and she would have loved to have met you both.

We were a little bit worried that as we had a quiet week when you came that you would feel a bit uncomfortable, but you were such delightful company and so easy going and it was obvious that you just wanted to spend some time together, as you have such busy lives at home.

You know you would be more than welcome to come back sometime, we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
59
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spent 9 days with Angie and Martin this August, celebrating a special event. It was just the most wonderful time we've had. Everything was perfect and we want to go back again soon. They both work so hard to make your time there special. I have great memories of afternoons in the pool with one of Martin's 'Dark and Stormys'. Phil managed to relax and that is so hard for him.
We love them both and GHC now feels like another home for us.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool. Perfect for early morning dips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you Morag and Phil for coming to stay with, especially as you chose to spend your 40th Wedding Anniversary with us. We felt very honored as we know you plan an extra special holiday for your Big Wedding Anniversaries.

We enjoyed sharing the bottles of Champagne and having the chance to catch up on all the stories Marty and Phil had to tell about when they were building Marty's boats together.

It was a very special time for us as well, having such good friends to stay and being able to enjoy your company. We always feel a bit guilty when we are busy and have to leave you to your own devices but you just got on with chillin' and walking the beach. It was great to see you both relax and enjoy yourselves. Marty and I hope we all manage to have a few more celebrations together !!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have visited Great Harbour Cay for many years. On my last trip during the 4th of July holiday I discovered this little gem called Carriearl. I could not believe that this tiny island had such a charming B&B and restaurant. I met Angie and Marty who welcomed us with open arms and gave us a quick tour of the darling property. It is very tastefully decorated and they have really done their best to make it feel as if you are staying in a home away from home or as I call it the Oasis by the Sea. I did not stay in the hotel but I did enjoy the bar and restaurant. The food was very fresh and artfully prepared. They both have truly spent the time thinking of all the little details that make this B&B so special. Even the napkins in the restroom were beautiful! I would certainly recommend Carriearl for anyone that enjoys boutique hotels, exceptional service, beautiful views and a little R&R!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Wow, thank you so much for such glowing praise. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor as so many of our Guests say that reading the Reviews made them want to 'Come Stay'. It makes all our hard work worth it, as life on a small Island running an Hotel is not always easy !!!!!! Please come back soon, as you know our door is always open.

Thanks, Angie and Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This boutique hotel and restaurant is like staying at a friends house. The decoration is exquisite and interesting with accents from all over the world collected by Angie while working for British Airways. The beach and natural surroundings of Great Harbour Cay are incomparable. The bar overlooks the beach and is perfect for a happy hour. Marty's cuisine is delicious, healthy and surprising.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ortegaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you so much Ana for taking the time to put a Review on our website. I have to admit that in all my travels of the world I have never been to Tahiti, but your comparison is a delight to hear !

In fact, we had never been to the Bahamas until we came to Great Harbour Cay. We always say that the house waited for us, as it had been empty for 10 years, until the 'Mad Brits' fell in love with it.

We always love to have you, Pepe and your friends visit us, and appreciate that you tell everyone about us.

Angie and Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We discovered this little jewel on a recent cruise through the Bahamas. Angie and Marty really make this a special place. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxing. They have a beautiful beach as well as pool. Can't say enough about the place. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanMoloneyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you Dan, we are so glad that you found us, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your cruise4.

Angie and Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A great destination in the Berry Islands, Bahamas, for family and friends after journeys from the mainland. Six of us met and stayed two days in Mid-May with clear, breezy warm weather. Proprietors Marty and Angie's amazing hospitality almost outshined the rugged beauty and solace of this island paradise. Their 3-room boutique hotel has a beautiful freshwater, tiled pool overlooking the warm azure blue Atlantic ~50 yards to the East and more than 5 miles of fine, sandy walking/running beach. We also enjoyed the well-stocked poolside bar, the covered patio-deck beyond the dining room(with several comfy hammock chairs!), the clean attractively decorated rooms reflecting a simple tropical ambience, the uninterrupted cell phone and internet service, and a very appealing dining menu. Marty's breakfast omelets, oversized burger platters and salads and seafood and beef entrees were uniformly excellent. Each room had paddle fan, DVD player, its own bathroom, and in the center hall - a jug of fresh cold drinking water every morning. There is a fairly extensive selection of DVD's in the hotel lobby. All in all a wonderful experience in a remote location. Many thanks for a great stay!

By the way, although we did not require it, for larger groups such as weddings, Marty and Angie will arrange for additional rooms at nearby properties.

Room Tip: One room (the 'wedding room' suite) has its own sliding door entrance to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobtay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Wow, thanks Bob for such a glowing review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write so much on our lovely Island. We enjoyed having you here, it makes it so much fun for us when we have a group like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just got back from a multi-island tour of the Bahamas by private plane. We spent one night at this wonderful hotel. The owners (Marty & Angie) were superb. Great rooms, great cocktails at the pool overlooking the ocean and Marty is one hell of a chef! One of our party had a birthday and Angie baked chocolate chip cupcakes that were out of this world! The beach was devine and saw no other folks on the several mile long beach all day. You have to go to shell beach a couple of miles away. The hotel has a nice golf cart you can use for free or you can walk it if you like a leasurely stroll. The beach is to die for! At low tide you can walk out on a sand back at least 1/4 mile out and collect shells, see starfish, live conch and a host of other animal life. We've been to many islands in the Bahamas but if you are looking for that special get away place this is it. We may go back in June and have contacted the seaplane company in Ft Lauderdale listed in a previous posting. Even though many of us are pilots none of us have experienced the adventure of seaplane travel.

Room Tip: They have 3 rooms and all are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackhills57702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Glad you enjoyed staying with us and the cup cakes!!! I am glad we were able to have a Birthday celebration, we always enjoy a party here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carriearl Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriearl Boutique Hotel

Property: Carriearl Boutique Hotel
Address: Great Harbour Drive | The Berry Islands, B56 L13, Great Harbour Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Berry Islands > Great Harbour Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Great Harbour Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriearl is your antidote to workaday worries, but is only a 20 minute flight from Nassau, and a hour flight from Miami. From the moment you walk in the door you will feel at home. With one of Dronzi's famous Rum Punches in your hand, you will just want to chill round our beautiful freshwater swimming pool and walk our amazing beach, where the only footprints you will see are your own! Owned by 2 'Brits', Angie and Marty, our British Hospitality is reflected in our attention to detail and wonderful International Cuisine. We have a 'Smart, Casual' dress code in the evenings, and we do ask Gentlemen to remove their caps please. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing