We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend 2014 at Carriearl”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Harbour Cay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriearl Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay was absolutely fabulous. As Bahamians we sometimes take for granted the beautiful amenities we have in our own country. My wife and I spent the Easter Holiday weekend at Carriearl and thoroughly enjoyed it! The service was great and the food was excellent. Waking up to the sound of the ocean is incredible, very peaceful and the miles long beach in walking distance is incredible!! We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: They are all great! Only Three to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EroldandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us to celebrate your friend's Big Birthday.
We are a great place for a weekend get away from Nassau. Our local carrier LeAir flies here morning and evening every day, and it is only a 20 minute flight.

I should point out that we do in fact have 4 bedrooms. Three on the North end of the Hotel, which was where you stayed, and one on the South end. All 4 rooms have en suite facilities.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope that we see you again soon.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 7 days on this tropical island and enjoyed every relaxing minute. No traffic, friendly people, beautiful scenery on this sleepy island. The house is very unique and felt we were personal guests of Angie and Marty. They are great hosts, Cara and Raquel provide excellent service as well. Angie's attention to detail when serving blew me away. Marty's mahi mahi fish was very good. We met some nice people during our stay at the hotel and had a few laughs during a guests 50th birthday. The beaches are beautiful and are secluded during the weekday. The island has a place called Shark's creek and yes I did see some small sharks, stingray and barracuda while looking for sand dollars during low tide. We felt very safe no matter where we went. The only downside is that for Canadian travellers, due to dollar conversion and all food has to be imported, the price of meals are on the high side. Whenever possible, try the locally caught fresh fish. If we have the opportunity again, we will definitely come back for a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Many thanks for the review and your comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always worry a bit when we have guests for 7 days, that there is enough to do, but you certainly made the most of your time and were out and about on the bicycles and the golf cart having fun.

We do appreciate that meals are not as cheap as on the main land, but our most delicate produce we have to fly back to Great Harbour Cay when we visit Nassau which adds a huge amount to our already high costs. We try to ensure that our food is as good a value as possible, and always include freshly baked bread with all our meals. Our produce is always of the highest quality e.g. Bonne Maman jars of preserves with breakfast, and the best meats available. You have to remember too that most of the food supplied in the Bahamas actually comes from the States and incurs duty.

Again, thank you for your constructive comments.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well what can I say, treated like Kings and Queens, what an amazing place, been to quite a few family islands in the Bahamas and this tops. This was our first visit. What a clean place, from the bedrooms, to bathrooms, and the kitchen. Serves was outstanding and spoilt rotten with my husbands 50th, one birthday never to be forgotten . Marty and Angie are such a lovely couple, you have to go, they treated us like family, Marty sure can cook!. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place for relaxation! 5* also great for a day trip with the flight times! Oh and that beach...sand dollars...wow!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but we stayed in the sea view, but the garden ones are just as beautiful! A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillnRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your husband's Big Birthday with us, and it was lovely to meet your beautiful daughter. Hopefully you will make it back for her Birthday at the end of May. We have pencilled in rooms for you. We are so glad to have made new friends.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned home from a week long visit to Carriearl. What an amazing find this place is and very good value for your travel dollar!
Angie & Marty are perfect hosts & we felt like we were visiting friends. Nothing is too much to ask & they are happy to arrange any activities, food, etc you might want. Stress just seemed to melt away in the relaxed ambience of Carriearl.
BEACH
We have always dreamed of being on a beautiful, deserted beach where you can walk for miles. This is exactly what it is like at Carriearl. You rarely see anyone else. The colour of the ocean &sand are beautiful.... Must be seen to be believed.
POOL
Great, large, clean
ROOMS
Lovely, clean & well equipped with numerous small touches. No detail has been missed. The fans & ocean breeze are all you need .... We never bothered with the A/C.
STAFF
Cara, the housekeeper, is so sweet & very good at her job. Our room was always spotless & Cara always had a smile & friendly greeting for us.
Raquel in the restaurant/bar, with her beautiful smile, was always welcoming & helpful.
FOOD
The food at Carriearl is amazingly good. Simple, beautiful, & varied. No heavy sauces will be seen .... Just tasty, perfectly cooked meals using fresh ingredients. The local Hog Snapper is excellent. All meals are served on pretty china with linen napkins ..... Very nice touch!
DRINKS
Dronzi's rum punch is not to be missed. Very nice wine selection.
EXPERIENCE
It was wonderful to be immersed in the island life for a week. Great Harbour Cay is full of interesting & colourful characters, all of whom made us feel welcome, safe, & part of the community there. Expect a honk & a wave from everyone you see when out for a bike ride.
All in all, our trip to Carriearl exceeded our already high expectations & we will definitely be returning ..... The sooner, the better!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking so much time and trouble to write a review. Marty and I thoroughly enjoyed your company and getting to know both. Guests like you make our job very easy. It was a shame that the weather was a bit windy, but I am glad that it gave you time to chill, and explore our Island on the bicycles. I know you made the holiday for our other guests, Jenny and Ken, more enjoyable by having some friends to chat and dine with.

It is great that there is a direct flight from Toronto to Nassau, and then our LeAir connection to Great Harbour Cay.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Thank you to all the people that passed up staying at Carriearl during our visit. We were the only guests which made to experience magnificent.
Angie and Marty are fantastic hostess and host. Being British they bring a proper atmosphere to their hotel. Angie makes your stay superb and Marty is one truly great cook. They do not do any local cuisine, leave that to the locals as Marty says, but his menu has a great variety which is guaranteed to please anyone.
Our room was right off the pool with a nice french door which allowed us to hear the ocean night and day. It did get a little warm for me, but there is A/C available for an added charge.
The hotel is situated about 80 yards from a four mile white sand beach. Let me say this. Thanks again people because we were the only ones on the beach everyday we were on island.
The locals are quite friendly and you meet a variety of people who come to the island to spend the weekend.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carriearl Hotel, you need to think seriously about staying here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Marty and I are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us, as much as we enjoyed your company.

The Bombay East gin was obviously a great hit with you both, and was new to our Drinks List. I hope our other customers will find as much pleasure drinking it on the beach as you did!!!

I think you made a typing error about the Air Conditioning as there is NO EXTRA CHARGE for it, for anyone reading this reply.

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor, we so appreciate it, not just for us but for our future Guests.

Marty and I hope that our paths cross again sometime.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The weather was perfect and the accommodations quintessential. This is one of those "best kept secrets" ! A wonderful experience if you are looking for a relaxing stroll on the beach, excellent food, clean rooms, and that feeling that you are staying with friends. A quaint hotel with unique decor adds to the experience. We arrived by air, and after clearing Bahamian Customs (which is very much a welcoming committee) we were met by a very cool guy wearing shades and bare feet - yes our host, Marty - driver, bartender, chef - Later that evening we met our hostess, Angie - lovely, entertaining, delightfully British. The Carriearl Boutique Hotel strives to provide the best in dining and cleanliness. No detail ignored. Great Harbour Cay has a jewel in this destination.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 574JoyceF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Marty and I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you both to stay with us and were glad that you used our bicycles to see the Island. There are more hills than you think here!!

'The Barefoot Chef' hates shoes, and only wears them under sufferance when travelling.

We hope that you get the chance to come and stay with your daughter so that she can swim with the Stingrays which is an amazing experience.

Happy Christmas,

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

From the quaint comfortable decorations, fantastic food, exquisite service, to the incredible views....this place is fantastic. We came by boat with friends to Great Harbour Cay. The weather delayed our boat travels home, but this hotel kept us comfortable, entertained and well fed. We will be back and would recommend Carriearl to anyone/everyone. Our recommendation would be NOT to miss this treat!!

Room Tip: There is no fitness center/spa, but incredible pool, beach, and ocean to keep even the active busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

It was such a shame that the weather was not kinder on your first visit to stay with us. We were so glad that you all still managed to enjoy our lovely Island and you certainly made the most of your time with us. It is rare here that the sun does not shine for part of the day!!!!!!
Marty and I really enjoyed your company and hope you had a good boat trip back to Freeport and we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carriearl Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriearl Boutique Hotel

Address: Great Harbour Drive | The Berry Islands, B56 L13, Great Harbour Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Berry Islands > Great Harbour Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Great Harbour Cay
Price Range: £127 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriearl is your antidote to workaday worries, but is only a 20 minute flight from Nassau, and a hour flight from Miami. From the moment you walk in the door you will feel at home. With one of Dronzi's famous Rum Punches in your hand, you will just want to chill round our beautiful freshwater swimming pool and walk our amazing beach, where the only footprints you will see are your own! Owned by 2 'Brits', Angie and Marty, our British Hospitality is reflected in our attention to detail and wonderful International Cuisine. We have a 'Smart, Casual' dress code in the evenings, and we do ask Gentlemen to remove their caps please. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing