We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Harbour Cay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriearl Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Carriearl in late March and we are happy to say it exceeded every expectation we had! The beaches were beautiful and completely secluded - we saw one or two other people each day we were there and we spent a lot of time under our beach umbrella reading, snoozing or playing in the water. Angie and Marty are WONDERFUL hosts and they really made the hotel special. I felt like we were staying with friends - they are funny and sweet and made the trip that much better. The food is great, with a big selection and everything is very fresh. We stayed in the Rooster and loved it! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was tidy and it has french doors that open to the pool, so we slept with them open every night and enjoyed the sound of the ocean.

This place is truly unique. The natural beauty is astounding, you feel like you have the entire island to yourself, and there are wonderful accommodations with GREAT food for a reasonable price. AND it's a fairly easy trip from the USA. This little jewel blows the Four Seasons out of the water.

Some recommendations:
- As many others have said, the Rum Punch is fabulous!! We also recommend the key lime pie, lasagna and hog snapper. Everything is good, but those were out favorites.
- Swim with sting rays - it was wonderful! David and his girlfriend (and all of the staff!) are great. They have a large area closed off and you can swim with and feed the sting rays. They are like kittens - they will brush up against you legs!
- Hire a local to take you out snorkeling for the day on his Boston Whaler. We loved it! He was able to tell us all about the local flora and fauna. This is great for people who are comfortable in the water and have experience snorkeling. WEAR LOTS AND LOTS OF SUNSCREEN!
- Take the bikes out and explore the caves and the old hotel. Really beautiful.
- Enjoy meeting the other dinner guests and chatting with Angie and Marty.
- Grab a beach umbrella, a book and some rum punch and spend the day laying on the beach. Wander around at low tide and collect shells or walk across a sand bar to another little cay.

Thanks, Angie and Marty, for working so hard to create this little piece of paradise! We had a wonderful time and have been singing your praises back here in Arizona! Take care and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erincita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

I have just read your review again and really appreciate the time you have taken to describe our beautiful Island and beaches. It still amazes me when I walk down to the beach and see the expanse of blue and turquoise water in front of me!
We have just expanded our Menu, so we have lots of new and exciting dishes to offer. We still have the Key Lime Pie and Lasagna you will be pleased to know.

Thanks again.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Carriearl Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

This little spot, very unassuming from the outside, is a secret treasure in every way. The casually elegant atmosphere is both intimate and private making a perfect setting for various tastes. The rooms are clean and comfortable with care given to details. You absolutely cannot beat the miles of untouched beach just outside the door, which is only rivaled by the unbeatable cuisine inside the door. Marty and Angie are experts in the fine art of hospitality and dote and cater to whims and wants. If you are looking for hubbub or the usual tourist traps, don't go here. But if you are looking for a place to rest, relax, enjoy the beach, the sea, and some amazing eats and drinks, you will find rejuvenation for body, soul, and spirit in the pampering atmosphere of Carriearl.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbythesea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

We are so glad that you chose to stay at Carriearl to celebrate your 23rd Wedding Anniversary. Maybe you will be able to spend your 24th Anniversary with us too !!!!

Best Wishes,

Angie and Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Carriearl Boutique hotel on Great Harbour Cay in the Berry Islands is a hidden gem. With four rooms and magnificent, friendly hosts in Angie and Marty, this hotel and island will make spectacular choices for a get-away from it all. A quick trip from MIami, my partner and I were welcomed immediately when we arrived, like we were old friends. I appreciate the unguarded spirit of Angie and Marty, their personalities lend themselves to a feeling like you've just come home.

Living in Miami, we are often overwhelmed by crowds and noise, and Carriearl provided us with everything we were looking for and more. The room was immaculate, and I could tell that Angie and Marty are intent on keeping up a standard of excellent cleanliness (which is sometimes hard to do in a beach locale!) High ceilings in the bedrooms, superb linens, and a well kept bathroom gave us absolutely nothing to worry about in the sleeping domain of our trip.

If you see the chef, tell him I said thanks. ;) I had the prime rib and my partner had the chicken curry, which were both excellent choices. Plus, the meze was a great starter. Raquel was a strikingly friendly and knowledgeable bartender. (and a wonderful singer!!)

Carriearl provided us with bikes and a golf cart to explore beautiful Great Harbour Cay, and explore we did. The sand is spectacular, and the best part? You can walk for miles without seeing another soul. If you want to get away from it all, this place is it. We walked across the water to Hawk's Nest (low tide only), and Sugar beach is pristine as well. Conch are everywhere here!

Since our flight was in the afternoon, Angie was thoughtful enough to offer (without us asking) if we'd like to use the shower to clean up before our departure. This is the type of planning ahead and service that is difficult to find anymore, and we are very thankful. We are currently planning another trip very soon. If you are looking for attitude like a Viceroy or W hotel (both of which we have stayed at), Carriearl has those places beat in spades. Leave your attitude at the door and relax at this comfortable boutique hotel.

Thank you, Angie and Marty!
P.S. Marty, I owe you $5. I will have it plus interest when we return.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room choice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

We are so glad that we made you feel at home. We are only a small Hotel, and of course, Carriearl still our Home which we love to share with our Guests. I always say that only nice people find Great Harbour Cay, so that makes us very lucky !!!!!

Thanks, and we are looking forward to getting the $5 in person !!

Angie and Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We flew into Great Harbour for the day and spent the afternoon at Carriearl. Angie and Marty were so gracious. They treated us like special guests and were very personable. We had lunch and drinks of which both were wonderful. The lunch spread was incredible and the food was delicious. And the view...well, can you say AWESOME? They have a beautiful pool and access to the ocean. It's a tranquil little hideaway. And although we didn't stay overnight, we were shown the guest rooms of which were spacious and clean. This is a special "getaway from the rest of the world" type of place. It's just absolutely beautiful and relaxing. We're looking at returning so we can actually stay for a few days. If you want to get away from everything...this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIJaneCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We always enjoy having your group fly in for lunch and we are getting to know you all now after a few visits. Thank you for your kind comments about our food and our property. As you can tell, Chef Marty loves to make his food look irresistible.

We look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit from Savannah.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay was absolutely fabulous. As Bahamians we sometimes take for granted the beautiful amenities we have in our own country. My wife and I spent the Easter Holiday weekend at Carriearl and thoroughly enjoyed it! The service was great and the food was excellent. Waking up to the sound of the ocean is incredible, very peaceful and the miles long beach in walking distance is incredible!! We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: They are all great! Only Three to choose from.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EroldandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us to celebrate your friend's Big Birthday.
We are a great place for a weekend get away from Nassau. Our local carrier LeAir flies here morning and evening every day, and it is only a 20 minute flight.

I should point out that we do in fact have 4 bedrooms. Three on the North end of the Hotel, which was where you stayed, and one on the South end. All 4 rooms have en suite facilities.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope that we see you again soon.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 7 days on this tropical island and enjoyed every relaxing minute. No traffic, friendly people, beautiful scenery on this sleepy island. The house is very unique and felt we were personal guests of Angie and Marty. They are great hosts, Cara and Raquel provide excellent service as well. Angie's attention to detail when serving blew me away. Marty's mahi mahi fish was very good. We met some nice people during our stay at the hotel and had a few laughs during a guests 50th birthday. The beaches are beautiful and are secluded during the weekday. The island has a place called Shark's creek and yes I did see some small sharks, stingray and barracuda while looking for sand dollars during low tide. We felt very safe no matter where we went. The only downside is that for Canadian travellers, due to dollar conversion and all food has to be imported, the price of meals are on the high side. Whenever possible, try the locally caught fresh fish. If we have the opportunity again, we will definitely come back for a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Many thanks for the review and your comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always worry a bit when we have guests for 7 days, that there is enough to do, but you certainly made the most of your time and were out and about on the bicycles and the golf cart having fun.

We do appreciate that meals are not as cheap as on the main land, but our most delicate produce we have to fly back to Great Harbour Cay when we visit Nassau which adds a huge amount to our already high costs. We try to ensure that our food is as good a value as possible, and always include freshly baked bread with all our meals. Our produce is always of the highest quality e.g. Bonne Maman jars of preserves with breakfast, and the best meats available. You have to remember too that most of the food supplied in the Bahamas actually comes from the States and incurs duty.

Again, thank you for your constructive comments.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well what can I say, treated like Kings and Queens, what an amazing place, been to quite a few family islands in the Bahamas and this tops. This was our first visit. What a clean place, from the bedrooms, to bathrooms, and the kitchen. Serves was outstanding and spoilt rotten with my husbands 50th, one birthday never to be forgotten . Marty and Angie are such a lovely couple, you have to go, they treated us like family, Marty sure can cook!. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place for relaxation! 5* also great for a day trip with the flight times! Oh and that beach...sand dollars...wow!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but we stayed in the sea view, but the garden ones are just as beautiful! A...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillnRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your husband's Big Birthday with us, and it was lovely to meet your beautiful daughter. Hopefully you will make it back for her Birthday at the end of May. We have pencilled in rooms for you. We are so glad to have made new friends.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carriearl Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriearl Boutique Hotel

Address: Great Harbour Drive | The Berry Islands, B56 L13, Great Harbour Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Berry Islands > Great Harbour Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Great Harbour Cay
Price Range: £124 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriearl is your antidote to workaday worries, but is only a 20 minute flight from Nassau, and a hour flight from Miami. From the moment you walk in the door you will feel at home. With one of Dronzi's famous Rum Punches in your hand, you will just want to chill round our beautiful freshwater swimming pool and walk our amazing beach, where the only footprints you will see are your own! Owned by 2 'Brits', Angie and Marty, our British Hospitality is reflected in our attention to detail and wonderful International Cuisine. We have a 'Smart, Casual' dress code in the evenings, and we do ask Gentlemen to remove their caps please. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing