We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carriearl Boutique Hotel
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
115
7
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
7
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartwonderful hostsget awayrum punchmake surehome away from homewonderful experiencegreat harbourfresh water poolmade us feelhidden gemexcellent foodwhite sand beachfew dayslook forwardhotel guestsminute flight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Carriearl in late March and we are happy to say it exceeded every expectation we had! The beaches were beautiful and completely secluded - we saw one or two other people each day we were there and we spent a lot of time under our beach umbrella reading, snoozing or playing in the water. Angie and Marty are WONDERFUL hosts and they really made the hotel special. I felt like we were staying with friends - they are funny and sweet and made the trip that much better. The food is great, with a big selection and everything is very fresh. We stayed in the Rooster and loved it! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was tidy and it has french doors that open to the pool, so we slept with them open every night and enjoyed the sound of the ocean.

This place is truly unique. The natural beauty is astounding, you feel like you have the entire island to yourself, and there are wonderful accommodations with GREAT food for a reasonable price. AND it's a fairly easy trip from the USA. This little jewel blows the Four Seasons out of the water.

Some recommendations:
- As many others have said, the Rum Punch is fabulous!! We also recommend the key lime pie, lasagna and hog snapper. Everything is good, but those were out favorites.
- Swim with sting rays - it was wonderful! David and his girlfriend (and all of the staff!) are great. They have a large area closed off and you can swim with and feed the sting rays. They are like kittens - they will brush up against you legs!
- Hire a local to take you out snorkeling for the day on his Boston Whaler. We loved it! He was able to tell us all about the local flora and fauna. This is great for people who are comfortable in the water and have experience snorkeling. WEAR LOTS AND LOTS OF SUNSCREEN!
- Take the bikes out and explore the caves and the old hotel. Really beautiful.
- Enjoy meeting the other dinner guests and chatting with Angie and Marty.
- Grab a beach umbrella, a book and some rum punch and spend the day laying on the beach. Wander around at low tide and collect shells or walk across a sand bar to another little cay.

Thanks, Angie and Marty, for working so hard to create this little piece of paradise! We had a wonderful time and have been singing your praises back here in Arizona! Take care and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erincita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

I have just read your review again and really appreciate the time you have taken to describe our beautiful Island and beaches. It still amazes me when I walk down to the beach and see the expanse of blue and turquoise water in front of me!
We have just expanded our Menu, so we have lots of new and exciting dishes to offer. We still have the Key Lime Pie and Lasagna you will be pleased to know.

Thanks again.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This little spot, very unassuming from the outside, is a secret treasure in every way. The casually elegant atmosphere is both intimate and private making a perfect setting for various tastes. The rooms are clean and comfortable with care given to details. You absolutely cannot beat the miles of untouched beach just outside the door, which is only rivaled by the unbeatable cuisine inside the door. Marty and Angie are experts in the fine art of hospitality and dote and cater to whims and wants. If you are looking for hubbub or the usual tourist traps, don't go here. But if you are looking for a place to rest, relax, enjoy the beach, the sea, and some amazing eats and drinks, you will find rejuvenation for body, soul, and spirit in the pampering atmosphere of Carriearl.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbythesea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

We are so glad that you chose to stay at Carriearl to celebrate your 23rd Wedding Anniversary. Maybe you will be able to spend your 24th Anniversary with us too !!!!

Best Wishes,

Angie and Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Carriearl Boutique hotel on Great Harbour Cay in the Berry Islands is a hidden gem. With four rooms and magnificent, friendly hosts in Angie and Marty, this hotel and island will make spectacular choices for a get-away from it all. A quick trip from MIami, my partner and I were welcomed immediately when we arrived, like we were old friends. I appreciate the unguarded spirit of Angie and Marty, their personalities lend themselves to a feeling like you've just come home.

Living in Miami, we are often overwhelmed by crowds and noise, and Carriearl provided us with everything we were looking for and more. The room was immaculate, and I could tell that Angie and Marty are intent on keeping up a standard of excellent cleanliness (which is sometimes hard to do in a beach locale!) High ceilings in the bedrooms, superb linens, and a well kept bathroom gave us absolutely nothing to worry about in the sleeping domain of our trip.

If you see the chef, tell him I said thanks. ;) I had the prime rib and my partner had the chicken curry, which were both excellent choices. Plus, the meze was a great starter. Raquel was a strikingly friendly and knowledgeable bartender. (and a wonderful singer!!)

Carriearl provided us with bikes and a golf cart to explore beautiful Great Harbour Cay, and explore we did. The sand is spectacular, and the best part? You can walk for miles without seeing another soul. If you want to get away from it all, this place is it. We walked across the water to Hawk's Nest (low tide only), and Sugar beach is pristine as well. Conch are everywhere here!

Since our flight was in the afternoon, Angie was thoughtful enough to offer (without us asking) if we'd like to use the shower to clean up before our departure. This is the type of planning ahead and service that is difficult to find anymore, and we are very thankful. We are currently planning another trip very soon. If you are looking for attitude like a Viceroy or W hotel (both of which we have stayed at), Carriearl has those places beat in spades. Leave your attitude at the door and relax at this comfortable boutique hotel.

Thank you, Angie and Marty!
P.S. Marty, I owe you $5. I will have it plus interest when we return.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room choice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronzi, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

We are so glad that we made you feel at home. We are only a small Hotel, and of course, Carriearl still our Home which we love to share with our Guests. I always say that only nice people find Great Harbour Cay, so that makes us very lucky !!!!!

Thanks, and we are looking forward to getting the $5 in person !!

Angie and Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We flew into Great Harbour for the day and spent the afternoon at Carriearl. Angie and Marty were so gracious. They treated us like special guests and were very personable. We had lunch and drinks of which both were wonderful. The lunch spread was incredible and the food was delicious. And the view...well, can you say AWESOME? They have a beautiful pool and access to the ocean. It's a tranquil little hideaway. And although we didn't stay overnight, we were shown the guest rooms of which were spacious and clean. This is a special "getaway from the rest of the world" type of place. It's just absolutely beautiful and relaxing. We're looking at returning so we can actually stay for a few days. If you want to get away from everything...this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIJaneCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We always enjoy having your group fly in for lunch and we are getting to know you all now after a few visits. Thank you for your kind comments about our food and our property. As you can tell, Chef Marty loves to make his food look irresistible.

We look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit from Savannah.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay was absolutely fabulous. As Bahamians we sometimes take for granted the beautiful amenities we have in our own country. My wife and I spent the Easter Holiday weekend at Carriearl and thoroughly enjoyed it! The service was great and the food was excellent. Waking up to the sound of the ocean is incredible, very peaceful and the miles long beach in walking distance is incredible!! We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: They are all great! Only Three to choose from.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EroldandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us to celebrate your friend's Big Birthday.
We are a great place for a weekend get away from Nassau. Our local carrier LeAir flies here morning and evening every day, and it is only a 20 minute flight.

I should point out that we do in fact have 4 bedrooms. Three on the North end of the Hotel, which was where you stayed, and one on the South end. All 4 rooms have en suite facilities.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope that we see you again soon.

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews