We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
Bahama Beach Club(Treasure Cay)
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$394
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hope Town Harbour Lodge(Hope Town)(Great Value!)
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Turtle Club & Marina(Green Turtle Cay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
10
2
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
2
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontiernight staythe cottagesdive guanamariatroynippersislandboat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was the best vacation our family has taken! The cabins were great. They were clean and roomy. Having a refrigerator, microwave and stovetop made quick meals easy. We didn't want to miss a minute on the beach. The beach was beautiful with white sand and turquoise water. There was plenty of space for the kids to play and you could practice snorkeling right off the ocean. There is a landing/deck that overlooks the beach. We would sit and watch the sun go down and listen to the waves hit the shore. The grounds of Oceanfrontier Hideaway were lush and provided nice privacy. Nippers next door had good food and entertainment. We decided it had the best caesar salad we have ever tasted. The food was good, drinks a plenty and a short walk to the cabin. We hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbeach2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A delightful experience. From the trip planning all the way through the goodbye's, this was as good as it can be. I felt as if I had a personal concierge guiding me. The way of live, the beach, the water, and the people we met couldn't have been better. Thank-you for letting preview Heaven.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GuanaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Our family just returned from our eight days spent in paradise. It was heavenly!!!! We had a fabulous time... From the moment we stepped off the ferry onto the dock at Guana Cay, we were instantly under the spell of the island. It is breathtakingly beautiful and unspoiled. I'd never seen anything so gorgeous. Maria was there in her golf cart to whisk us and our luggage away to the cottages/cabins. She is so sweet and accommodating. We found the hideaway cabins to be wonderful... An oasis and perfect... Very roomy, clean, and comfortable. They are equipped with everything you need and the porch with adirondack chairs is so inviting. It was PERFECT! We are a family of four and both children had a room of their own. Loved the fact that we could spread out. So close to Nippers, which is fabulous. We had no problem with noise at all. The lush vegetation made it feel like you had your own privacy as well. My favorite was the patio that oversees the PRIVATE beach. We loved to eat our breakfast and watch the sunrise overlooking the ocean or have our cocktails there in those comfy adirondack chairs. Our whole family LOVES the chairs. The beach is a sight to behold and as I've mentioned before it is PRIVATE!!!! Upon first sight, it just takes your breath away... Really, it takes your breath away every time you look out at that view. The Oceanfrontier Hideaway is an unspoiled beautiful gem that I hope to return to one day. Our children are begging to become permanent residents there. The restaurant at Nippers is fabulous and we happily ate their for dinner each evening except for one. Everyone is soooo friendly. We shopped at the market and they were so friendly. The kitchen in the cabin was great and we cooked up breakfast and a dinner. You will RELAX on this island and I found myself smiling constantly. It's refreshing to not have crowds and so wonderful to not have to share a beautiful beach with anyone but your family and a few others... Thanks to our parents for taking us along on their Anniversary trip. This was a trip of a lifetime. Thank you to the owners of Oceanfrontier Hideaway. We LOVE your place in paradise!!! And we hope to come back real soon. By: Kristin Gibbs-Beach

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KristinLarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Ahoy me Hearties! Be prepared to be transported back in time as you're met by Maria at the dock in her golf cart for your 3 night stay. She will whisk you to your cabin, but not before mentioning that you owe an extra $75 as there are two guests and she was only expecting one. You can try to fend off this cutlass blow by producing your hotel voucher which explicitly states you've paid for two already. Surely this will suffice....hmmmm....no, Maria isn't interested and and claims 'I don't have my glasses'. She'll then demand her pieces of eight i.e your credit card. Is this a scam? Has anyone else been pirated in the same way? On a positive note - the beach is nice and the rooms ok but be prepared for night time noise from Nippers especially at weekends. Holidays are about mood and relaxation, not having a tug of war over $75. I didn't notice any customer service skills on this trip.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
17  Thank Tom_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanfrontier, Owner at Oceanfrontier Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

The aforementioned additional charge was indeed levied, an aggregious oversight on the owners part. The funds have subsequently been credited to the offended party. Our goal remains a great vacation for a fair price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed for 8 nights over New Years. The island seemed fairly quiet and there was always space available in one of the units. During our stay the weather was variable - warm day one day, windy the next. Florida supposedly had the coldest December on record to put things in perspective.
We had a great time on Great Guana Cay. We took a taxi from the airport in Marsh Harbour to the Albury ferry dock with a shopping stop at Maxwell's (A very large, well stocked modern supermarket) while the taxi waited. Albury ferries run on time - yeah! Be sure to have the ferry captain call Troy from the ferry, even if you have been in email contact, so he can be sure you caught the ferry that you said you were going to so he can be there to greet you at the dock.
The Oceanfrontier Hideaway is a simple well-appointed accommodation. Troy and Maria care about this island and are very helpful. Otherwise you are on your own. The island grocery was surprisingly well stocked if you were not too particular when you ran out of something. Troy arranges for golf carts as does Donna's carts. They run about $45 a day but really since the top half of the island is inaccessible by land due to the Baker Bay development (for the richest among the rich) and the south end inaccessible due to the Orchid Bay development, in 3 hours you can pretty much see all there is to see. Everything else is accessible by foot. We had lunch at the Market at Baker's Bay which was very upscale but reasonably priced. Worth a visit although that's as far as you can go unless you're a member. There were hints that the Orchid Bay restaurant was going to open soon.
Nipper's, Grabbers and the Pirates Cove were all alternatives to eating in. The kitchen made it easy to prepare everything.
The best reason to stay at the Oceanfrontier Hideaway is the beach access and the beach itself - miles of unspoiled, uncrowded beach to wander except on Sunday's when Nipper's (right next door) has a pig roast. They come from the other cays to enjoy the feast. You can hear Nipper's music during the day when outside but once inside the unit that's not the case. The unit, as others have commented, has good space. We were very comfortable there. Be sure to check out the diving with Dive Guana (Troy again). He dives many of the same spots that the dive shops from Marsh Harbour with far less travel time. Be sure to bring your 3 to 5 mll suit to dive in December. Also think about paying for more reliable internet service from Bahamas telephone. It's worth it.
Staying at Oceanfrontier Hideaway on Great Guana Cay is like stepping back to the 1970's with all the modern conveniences - It's very laid back just the way we like it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TGB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews