We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are REALLY bad/ food and drinks are good”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Guana Cay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Great Guana Cay
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rooms are REALLY bad/ food and drinks are good”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great place for a drink, lunch or sunset. This isn't a place you would want to stay. Rooms are dark with one small lamp. Rooms were filthy and bathrooms were disgusting. Camping would have been better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    9
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Grabbers is in a beautiful location to watch sunsets. It also has really good seafood, service and drinks.

We didn't stay at the hotel, but came here three times for food and drinks. They often play local rake n scrape music, so it feels like the Bahamas. The seafood was fresh - I had conch salad twice, and grilled grouper on the third night, and they were all fabulous.

The mosquitos were pretty bad, but the bartender loaned us bug spray the first night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spike256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We traveled to Great Guana Cay to inspect a house (Dreamkeeper) on which we had a contract to purchase. Grabbers was the only place available for Thanksgiving night so we booked there.The bar and resturant are very good and met some interesting locals. The local lobster and drinks were excellent.The room they booked us in was the most expensive unit which was overpriced and severely need updating including new mattress and complete bathroom refurbishment. The TV was not working but heard that the cable was not working for two days, something common on Guana Cay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank submarineengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Grabbers is a great place to go drink, swim, eat and have a good time. The rooms are a completely different story. The bathroom smelled and the floors always felt wet. The bed was clean and very comfortable. We had plenty of clean towels which was good because they were not replaced the next day. The condition of the pool water was cloudy and needed cleaning. To be fair, the pool is usually nicer, but the skimmer was broken so the water wasn't being filtered and cleaned. They were working on it when we left. This review is just for the hotel room. The bar service is good and the location is great. The price is cheap for the Bahamas, and now we know why. There aren't many hotels to choose from. A cottage may be a better choice, but wouldn't have the same view. I guess you have to pick your poison.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any as we stayed in the new section. My son and his wife were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby&Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrabbersOnGuanaCay, Guest Relations Manager at Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hey Toby&Jim,

We take great pride in keeping our rooms in tip-top-shape and are sorry to hear that was not the experience during your visit. The pool has definitely been fixed and you'll be happy to see sparkly, clean water should you choose to visit us again and we've made a special note about the bathrooms and floors to try and meet your needs, as well as the needs of our other guests, better in the future.

We hope you'll give us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

OK, I admit that I had higher expectations, but this place - for the money- is not worth it. The loaction is just OK- nothing special- especially when you check out the other cays near MarshHarbour. The staff- nothing special and the rooms were dumpy. Lights that didn't work, curtains torn, poorly maintained . The restaurant was just OK. The catch of the day is the same every day. All in all- I wouldn't go back. This place would have potential, if someone came in and put some money into it. If you want a place for a beer- and a nice sunset-OK- this works.
But there are plenty of better places for the money nearby.
but not on Guana Cay

Room Tip: at a minimum- get a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthlakeDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrabbersOnGuanaCay, Guest Relations Manager at Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hey SouthlakeDD,

We're sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations on your recent visit. We love our location on Great Guana Cay and have found that the relaxing atmosphere, close proximity to the water ferry, and (if we do say so ourselves) some of the best sunsets around usually pleases almost everyone. We are always making updates to our hotel rooms and always want our guests to be comfortable, so we'll definitely think about the curtains in any upcoming changes.

In regards to the food - he catch of the day is sometimes the same for a few days because it just happens to be what was caught on those particular days and sometimes what the chef is in the mood to prepare. We have lots of other fresh seafood options on the menu though, so we hope the variety there keeps things interesting.

We hope you'll give us a try sometime again in the future and that we're better able to meet your expectations. Thank you for the feedback - we love to hear from our guests so we can better serve you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We joined a number of our cruising friends (people on boats) for an afternoon concert by Brown Tip, a Bahamian Rake and Scrape musician. No shoes, no shirt, no problem. Lawn chairs, hammocks, swaying palms, a great beach bar, salt water pool, sandy beach and a glorious view of the Fisher's Bay and the Sea of Abaco, boats at anchor. Locals and visitors all enjoying the music and the ambiance. Tasty drinks and food, but mostly go for the friendly people, the funky atmosphere and the views.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrabbersOnGuanaCay, Guest Relations Manager at Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We're so happy you enjoyed your time at Grabbers! Please make sure to stop by and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We didn't stay here but visited twice in our week long Bahamian vacation. It was our favorite place to hang out. It's casual and nice, the staff is wonderful, the food is good and the drinks are even better! We played in the ocean and pool, boccie ball was addicting and the sunset was one of the most amazing anywhere that I've ever seen!
We went in April and it was actually a little cool. Grabber's is not located on the windy side of the island so the temperature was amazing

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrabbersOnGuanaCay, Guest Relations Manager at Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for stopping by to see us! Our sunsets are calling to you, so come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Guana Cay
0.6 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
279 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
246 reviews
15.5 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#2 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
148 reviews
10.1 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill

Property: Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill
Address: Great Guana Cay- Great abaco | Abacos, Great Guana Cay
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Guana Cay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Great Guana Cay
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Grabbers Bed Bar Grill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing