We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay at a hotel?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrington House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrington House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Barrington B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Why stay at a hotel?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Needed to stay a night in Barrington while on business and a friend recommended the Barrington House. It is much better than even an expensive hotel. Wonderful host and hostess, clean comfortable room and breakfast made to order. Highly recommended to anyone staying in Barrington.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Being used to B&B's in the UK, I couldn't believe what I was seeing when I entered Barrington House, it really is up there with the best of luxury hotels. It has a lovely Colonial feel throughout and the large open plan dining room annexed by the comfortable sitting room and unique classical music corner, complete with string quartet seating/music stands!
The owner's Irish heritage and love of all types of music make this a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymoorefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at Barrington House Bed and Breakfast! This is so close to our house yet made for a perfect getaway. Delicious breakfast, beautiful home, and Mary & Marty are the nicest people you will ever meet! I wish we could live there!

Room Tip: Whitney room is comfy, beautiful and romantic - love the classic bath tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I spent a long weekend, (which included one of our Midwest snowstorms!) intentionally hibernating in this B&B and I savored every minute!!! :) I 've stayed in several B&B's and this one truly is top-notch! I stayed in the Crestview room which was beautiful and gave me enough room to set up my art supplies and catch up on my painting,, journaling, reading and napping!! The Innkeepers were so accommodating with coffee service and the delicious breakfast. And the Butler Pantry was great for self serve beverages and light snacks.
I cannot wait to return with my daughters to treat them to this charming retreat!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QU33N_Momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarringtonHouse, Owner at Barrington House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words. At Barrington House we always endeavor to exceed expectations and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Mary O'Donnell
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our stay at the Barrington House was perfect. I was at first a bit skeptical after going through their website, but just as a reviewer said, their website understates the elegance of this property. I am so glad I chose the Barrington House and I loved every detail of it. The property is beautiful, cozy and super clean, the inkeepers are great, and the breakfasts are delicious. Our expectations were exceeded in many ways. This is definitely a top notch b&b, and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina_XJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having stayed at many other high quality B&B's, the Barrington House sets the bar for excellence! From the warm greeting of the innkeepers to the beautiful home and delicious food, I have never experienced such wonderful hospitality. The grounds are perfect and the home is spotless while exuding comfort. I would most certainly stay here again. Thank you Mary and Marty for making our stay at the Barrington house a wonderful memory.

Room Tip: The Argyle room was a beautiful and spacious corner room with many windows to afford wonderful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiledr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

These guys do everything right. My husband and I have been to many bnb's and this is arguably one of the best in every way. The innkeepers are fantastic, great breakfast, the property is beautiful, bed comfy. We also loved that it was walking distance to the cute downtown area with several good restaurants. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monika301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrington
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Barrington
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
6.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Hoffman Estates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Deer Park
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hoffman Estates
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrington House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrington House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Barrington House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 203 Dundee Ave, Barrington, IL 60010-4203
Region: United States > Illinois > Barrington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrington House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrington House Bed & Breakfast has five charming guest rooms with private baths, full air conditioning, free Wifi and parking, complimentary gourmet breakfast and complimentary refreshments. We're located in the historic heart of Barrington with dining, shopping, the Catlow Theater, and the Metra Train Station all within a short walk. We're Barrington's finest place place to stay and we're looking forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Barrington House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing