We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NEAR

NEAR
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Barrington
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
197 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The only problem with this place is that you should go there famished or not listen to the waiter who recommended a variety of great dishes. All his recommendations were very good. The eggplant and octopus appetizers and the ravioli. Only problem was we also ordered a pork loin entree and it was way too much food! Probably should have ordered the fish he recommended. That probably wouldn't be as filling as the pork.
The dishes are sized to be shared. Next time the wife and I know to only order 2 appetizers and one main course!
Service was very attentive. We don't drink but the wine list looked quite varied.
We've lived in Barrington 17 years. This place has been open 3. Wish we had found it earlier. We plan on going back and eating our way through the menu!

Helpful?
Thank Wrx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real Italian?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were told this was real Italian and the chef had been to Culinary school in Italy. I don't think real Italian Restaurants give you parmesan cheese from the grocery stone. No fresh grated cheese was surprising. Service was ok. The location is downtown Barrington and easy to get to..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pamjohn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious! A new favorite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Fresh and fantastic! We enjoy a great bottle of wine or champagne and everything we have tried on the menu. We love going as a couple, or with a group of friends. Just writing this review makes me want to go there for dinner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The restaurant is split into two areas; one is an upscale club with live jazz, and the other is a restaurant with exceptional food and service. The halibut with vegetables and mashed potatoes was delicious. The mashed potatoes were light and almost sauce-like. The halibut was cooked perfectly with a wonderful crisp finish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timhr950950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unusually Good Italian Food in the Burbs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Really nice Northern Italian food. Not your usual meat balls and lasagne place. Thoughtful tastey dishes nicely presented.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NEAR also viewed

Barrington, IL
 

Been to NEAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing