We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Barrington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrington
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We made reservation to stay one night on 1/17/2014. Room with 2 beds.
Upon arrival we asked for upgrade.
Mr. Vincent promptly accommodated us to much better room for no charge.We were very satisfied and appreciate very much.

Room Tip: In winter time is better to stay at rooms inside the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 224Belka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

King size bed was real comfy...room decor in need of repair...towels were horribly rough and way too small for a shower use. Donuts and white bread and raisin bran cereal didn't match what we expect from America's Best Value Hotels elsewhere...not much effort given to continental breakfast here! Where's your waffle maker??

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fortunately, this wasn't my first stay at an ABVI property. If this had been my first ABVI visit, I wouldn't have ever chosen to stay at another.

The air conditioning didn't work, the door lock was questionable, and the mattresses needed to be replaced long ago. But the worst part was the bathroom. The area that housekeeping could see when in the bathroom with the open was not very clean. The tub was stained and the corners at the base of the wall were scuzzy. Even worse, housekeeping didn't bother to clean behind the door. There was a used bar of soap on the floor, along with hair from a prior occupant on the floor behind the door. Ick.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SoftballTeamParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashpatel24, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at our property. There is never an excuse for those issues. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of these issues and we would like you to know that we have shown all of your comments to our staff and are taking steps to make the improvements needed. Please visit us again in the future to see the improvements we have made. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Okay I was writing some other reviews and decided to give the final review of the other 3 days I stayed. The new room I obtained was okay. However, the hall going to the new room was straight out of Alfred Hitchcock. The lights lined the right and left wall and the fixtures had to be 40 years old if not older. They were these 1960s inverted triangles. Now here is the creepy part. When you get to the second floor the entire hall is pitch black. They have a motion detector hooked up to the lights so once you move all the lights turn on starting from where you are and then moving down the hall. The bulbs are low wattage so it give a real creepy affect. There is a window air conditioner in the hall, and the floor around this is filthy. It was never cleaned in the 4 days I was there. The hall in general was filthy, but near the air conditioner it was real real filthy.

The second day I was there while walking past the office I noticed this weird little transvestite midget arguing with the desk clerk. A cab had taken him to the hotel and it looked like he had all of his belongings in the cab, as in the entire cab and the truck were filled with trash bags of his cloths..

In a twisted sort of way I found the hall and the midget very entertaining. It was like I was in some B rated movie. I was waiting for the Zombies to jump out and try to eat my brain, but it never happened., also given the environment I would have expected hookers and drug uses, but there where none. I guess that was a plus. Perhaps I should have rated it 2 stars.

Cheers.

Room Tip: Sleep outside, it will probably be better.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashpatel24, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We actually use our guests comments to make improvements at our property. In an attempt to save energy, we did have motion sensors installed, but due to comments from our guests like you, we have removed the sensors and the lights are on all the time. As far as the little person you are referring to, we would just like you to know that we do not discriminate against little people or any other type of person at our establishment. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I came here to stay here for a week. I got a descent room but for the money, I would have expected something better. The management is very good at taking the money but that's about it. The area is patrolled by the police and is quiet for the most part with the train depot behind the establishment along with a park and golf course. My only complaint with my room was the bed was sagging and not very comfortable at all especially for the money. The walls were dirty, doors need to be replaced, furniture just absolute garbage. The bathroom was descent but seriously for the money there are better places around than this. The fitness room does not even exist and the cleaning crew is thorough but very unprofessional in a weird way.

Room Tip: get a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knighttravelmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Got this hotel from Expedia.com it said hotel has jacuzzi tub and it does not. Place was nasty, I barely wanted to shower. No fitted sheet on bed and we were sleeping on the mattress by end of the night. Expedia pics are not really what the place is. Expedia did refund me for the night and I went to another hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank shwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I got fooled into paying 4 nights through Hotwire at this hotel. I only stayed the first. My room opened into an alleyway that wasn't lit well enough to feel safe. All the furniture and the carpets are worn out and should have been replaced at least 20 years ago. I think I got 4 hours of sleep while I worried about being broken into while getting woken up by a squeaky door every couple minutes. Stay somewhere else, there are dozens of better hotels within 10 miles, and don't use Hotwire!

Room Tip: Stay on the office side of the hotel if you absolutely have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Barrington

Address: 405 W Northwest Hwy, Barrington, IL 60010-3041
Region: United States > Illinois > Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrington
Price Range: £40 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story building, both interior corridor and exterior corridor rooms. Pet friendly. Lounge on site. Renovated 2011. No pool. FREE parking, HSIA and guest breakfast. Fitness and Business Centers. At intersection of US 14 and IL 59. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrington Days Inn
Days Inn Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing