We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mdumbi Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hole in the Wall(Coffee Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mayfair Hotel(Mthatha)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
uMhlanga Sands Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
110
19
1
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
19
1
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal communitysouth africathe riverwild coastoff the beaten trackvery special placelaid backan amazing placebeautiful locationprawn curryfriendly and helpful staffbreadremote placepeace and quietstayed for nightsamazing viewsspecial memories
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was the fourth day of our hike down the Wild Coast. We were here in 2006 and it has improved vastly since then. The beach is still brilliant, the accommodation great and the seafood dinner was wonderful. It is much cleaner than some of the other Backpackers. The only complaint is the mosquitos at night. At Amapondo there were Mosquito nets over the beds. This would be a good thing to do at Mdumbi. The staff were friendly and the showers worked well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0kk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannMdumbi, Owner at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Hi there,
Thanks for your review and return visit! Pleased to hear you liked all the improvements since your last stay. Glad you enjoyed the seafood dinner and found the bathrooms and showers clean and working well. Thanks for your advice about the mosquitoes...we have mosquito nets now for the double rooms.
All the best,
Johann, Mdumbi Staff and Mankosi Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I travel the world, visiting backpackers going to beautiful beaches and mountains!
In 2013/2014 i tented and backpacked the entire, East and South coast of Southern Africa.

Mdumbi Backpackers is without a doubt the Best, most accommodating and beautiful facility and family that i have ever stayed at. I will be taking myself, friends and future family there for many many years to come!

The Transkei is not complete without at least a weeks stay at the Beautiful Mdumbi Backpackers!

Thank you to everyone that made my trip and New Years the best and most Beautiful i have ever had! i cannot wait to come visit again!

XXX
David Jaffe

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperJaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannMdumbi, Owner at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Hi there,
So pleased to hear that Mdumbi is your favourite backpackers! Thanks for spending the holidays with us and see you again soon. :)
All the best,
Johann, Mdumbi Staff and Mankosi Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I came to Mdumbi intending to stay a day or so before heading to coffee bay but ended up staying for both Christmas and New Years. The staff feels like family and has what I feel is a unique, and all too rarely found partnership with the community (as far as most backpackers are concerned anyhow). I came alone and ended up meeting some of the most special people I'v ever been lucky enough to spend two and a half weeks with. Whether taking a short but breathtakingly beautiful hike to a cliff jump, swimming in the sea and then relaxing on the beach, chatting with friends, dancing to some local beats, or kayaking on the river...Mdumbi is a place that really captures the soul. 100% Recommend. One of my new favorite places of all time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannMdumbi, Owner at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Hi there,
Thanks so much for the great review! So glad you met such special people and that Mdumbi ranks among your favourite places. Thanks for supporting our activities and hope to see you again soon!
All the best,
Johann, Mdumbi Staff and Mankosi Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a great week of camping at Mdumbi. We had a good, sheltered space to pitch our tent, close to ablutions ( which were clean!) and the main lounge area. The chalets and dorms seemed cosy enough, and the kitchen below was well equipped. Beach was a quick walk away, lovely warm water - fabulous week away. The meals in the evenings were yummy - you need to sign up by noon on the day. We felt very safe, and were happy to drive our car (polo vivo) along the dirt road - just go slowly - it's do-able! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannMdumbi, Owner at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Hi there,
So glad you enjoyed camping with us and pleased to hear you found the facilities were clean/ well equipped. Hope to see you again!
All the best,
Johann, Mdumbi Staff and Mankosi Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place is just absolutely magical! Relaxing on the the beach, swimming in the sea, walking along the coast, kayaking on the river and relaxing in the forest, meeting amazing people from South Africa and around the world - Mdumbi really has it all. We spent two weeks on the campsite and we enjoyed every moment of it - the people are great, there are all the facilities available to live happily and comfortably and the scenery is beautiful. This was by far my best summer holiday ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannMdumbi, Owner at Mdumbi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Hi there,
So glad you really enjoyed your summer holiday here! Seems like you did a great job of exploring the surrounding area and appreciating all the beauty. Thanks for supporting our activities and for taking the time to review us.
All the best,
Johann, Mdumbi Staff and Mankosi Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews