We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the little things that count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is in the most beautiful location and the views are amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful but there were a few things that we thought could have been improved.
We ordered a seafood hamper and this came with crab but no crab crusher things to get the leg meat (in my opinion the best part) when I asked they said they didn't have any. The pool although lovely does not have anywhere near enough lounges/seating around it we couldn't actually get a seat. there are about 20 seats for a resort that can have more than 150 guests?
The breakfast is terrible it was tasteless and very over priced. the buffet was basic with a five star price tag. We had the cooked breakfast my husband the big breakfast, which didn't even include toast, I had the bird watchers with very fatty but tasteless hollandaise sauce, the menu doesn't have any healty or basic options sometimes you just want toast but not to have to purchase the buffet. Could not believe we were eating in the same restaurant that served beautiful lunches and dinners - they were perfect.

The menu was also very limited considering there is nowhere else to eat unless you drive, the spring rolls appear on every menu, lunch, snack and dinner. I think thats what they need are some cheap options like toasted sandwhiches, a basic salad when you don't feel like 5 star dinning.

I think with a few minor changes this hotel could be amazing, when you pay a preimum price tag you want perfection.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Thala Beach Lodge at Port Douglas is outstanding. You are first greeted by a member of the staff who talks about all the amenities available to you and makes you feel like you have arrived in paradise - actually you have. Had one of the best meals ever at their restaurant. The accommodations are roomy, clean, quiet and in an absolutely beautiful setting. When you are here you know you have gotten away from it all. Oak beach is beautiful, lots of solitude and few people. We would highly recommend the Thala Beach Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We liked this place and there are many positives. What a great location and unique to feel like you are living in the rainforest. It does feel like a special place. Service was good and staff were friendly and helpful. There are some negatives in our view. The actual room, whilst nice, did feel in need of refurbishment especially at this price point. Also we didn't like the fact the room was only cleaned once every two days. Finally the buffet breakfast is not the quality I would expect (its OK like a mid range hotel but not special). Overall we would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul-ps01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this place enough. Unspoilt private beaches, awesome resort rock pools,great food and the best views around!!!
Thanks to all the staff for being so friendly and making my proposal one to remember forever.
Regards,
Etienne

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EtienneGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I booked my last few nights in Australia after travelling from the west over a month and I can only describe it as paradise!
I was travelling on my own, which meant I stuck out amongst the newlyweds, but the hotel is an amazing escape from the world, where you can simply relax and enjoy the fantastic service by the team.
The cabin I was in overlooked the beach, was a great size and right next to the reception too, so perfect for the bar! I couldn't fault the food either as, although it's not cheap, it was worth every penny in flavour and presentation!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view for the perfect sunrise to wake you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place. The views around the place are amazing. Very friendly and knowledgable staff who were always willing to help or even just stop to chat on the way past. All our tours were booked by the hotel on our behalf with advice given to us on how best to organise our activities so we got the most out of trip. Would love to return again one day.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Highland81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had a fabulous time when we stayed in Thala Beach recently. We knew it was stinger season so wouldn't be able to swim, so although that is a shame because the beach is beautiful, we were prepared. The cabins were lovely, food was absolutely excellent, and the lectures and guided walks superb. Great place to stay if you are interested in nature. Only downside was not having cups and glasses changed on the days we had agreed would not be serviced. Something a bit squalid about rinsing your cafetiere in the sink. Our fault, we should have opted to have the room serviced every day

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
757 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,655 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range: £125 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing