We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Room Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Room Ever!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Beautiful resort, rooms are amazing looking out into the trees and over the ocean. Large comfy bed, sitting area inside and on the veranda. Amazing variety of wildlife. Breakfasts were amazing and the dinner we had was equally good. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Only negative was the drive there (minibus) from Cairns which was a bit barf inducing along the windy roads at high speed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cptnobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    295
    70
    41
    10
See reviews for
166
959
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were there few weeks ago with my husband for our "babymoon" and it was such a great place, with excellent service - thank to the staff and especially the reception woman who gave us even better room, the views out of the restaurants and bungalows are really something to remember. We had there a dinner and the breakfast and both were really delicious. It is pricey, but worth it! Very romantic relaxing place, shame that we didn't have enough time to try beautiful swimming pools or the experiences they offer. Next time maybe... Best recommendation!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slangerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent location south of port douglas hidden in the natural forrest. We stayed at a hut with bayview which was absolutely excellent. The bungalows are spacious and clean and the balcony equipped with tables and chairs. Clean and nicely decorated. The pathways within the resort was well lit during the evening makeing it easy and safe to walk from the main building and pool to the hut. The pool was great with waterfalls and a cave and extremely child friendly. Our daughter of 6 has named it 'best pool in the world'. Good 24hr service with fast respons on resolving issues. Children free of charge on the breakfast buffet. Lunch served on the beach on request. We tried it and can recommend the experinence. Overall nice and peacefull, however on the expensive side for stay and dining in the resort.

Room Tip: Opt for a seaview - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Classy lodge, good food, friendly staff and as expensive as anticipated. What a shame then that the management adds an excessive 2.5% to the bill when a credit card is used. Bad enough that many establishments in Australia add 1 or even 1.5% - frankly I think this is completely unacceptable profiteering.

Room Tip: Depends on individual fitness and mobility - in the steamy FNQ climate there are long fairly steep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 61Keeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to Thala. Please be assured that we are not ‘profiteering’ – unfortunately the merchant fees we are charged are non-negotiable, we would love to avoid these if we could. All guests are welcome to pay by cash/travellers cheques to avoid incurring the merchant fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Unfortunately no one told me how insanely expensive australia is! this hotel would have been a nice experience had we not felt like we were being held financially hostage . It's not in a convenient location so every time we leave a bus costs 32$ one way into port douglas The restaurant here is mediocre and shockingly expensive!! 30$ per person for breakfast at least 50$ per person for dinner without drinks. We live in nyc and Santa Barbara California and are accustomed to pricey food and entertainment. But, paying 600$ for three of us to snorkel and 550$ for 4 of us to see crocodiles is a joke. My advice, don't go to australia. It's pretty but not that interesting and twice the price of anywhere I've traveled. P.s. The Great Barrier Reef looks kind of dead and there are poisonous jelly fish ! DONT BOTHER!

Room Tip: Next to big pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are disappointed these clients didn’t enjoy their time in Australia.

NB our shuttle into Port Douglas is $8 per person each way, not $32 as indicated above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Thala Beach Lodge is on top of a hill with awesome views, it occupies a vast area with beautiful beach and nature walks, the photos tell the truth. I also liked the pool a lot, it was beautifully arranged. The staff is super friendly everywhere and the reception booked us a day exploring the outer reef and another in the Daintree forest, both were excellent choices and with transport to and from the hotel. Thala is about 10 km from Port Douglas, there is a shuttle bus about every other hour. We did not have enough days to explore all Thala had to offer but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was OK, maybe not as spectacular as the views from the open air restaurant, the parrots are fun to watch too. The dinners were generally good. Nature lovers will love this place, where you can see and hear the tropical forest around you. It is lovely to wake up and see the sun raise above the sea.

Room Tip: Once there, the sea view is a pleasure, but if you don't have it, make sure you walk down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aila189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

On top of a hill overlooking the crisp turquoise water lies the hotel reception. Among the tropical forest, the rooms are individual wood cabins sprawling from the top of the hill down to the beach (except for the jungle rooms towards the parking). My wife fell in love with the place. Perfect for nature lovers, you’ll love hearing the sound of the waves as you fall asleep at night. The pristine beach has that natural feel of an untouched spot. The food at the restaurant is fine and very good. We stayed for 5 nights and had dinner every night there. I could not convince my wife to try one of the restaurants at Port Douglas. The price is totally in line with the quality of the food served. Congratulations to the chef! Only regret is to have some specials sold out on one or two nights.
Staff is so nice. Ned the porter and Erin at the restaurant were so nice and helpful.
Definitely, cleanliness can be improved. Cupboard was very dusty. Being an eco-lodge should not prevent the management and owners from washing the curtains, cushions and bed cover.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustang_california
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Property: Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing