We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The localization and the food are excellent. Some negative aspects make me very disappointed about this hotel, such as room cleanness, cuisine prices, no beach services (the beach bar one for only one hour in the evening), no wi-fi in your room and a small TV at the same level of the bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are pleased this guest enjoyed our location and the cuisine served in Osprey’s Restaurant.

We apologise that the level of cleanliness experienced didn’t match expectations – this has been addressed this with the relevant managers however we wish they had brought this to our attention whilst in-house so we could rectify. We would like to advise all readers that we are also addressing the television concerns.

We have free wifi in the main lodge building for all guests, we do not advertise that it is available in guest rooms. Herbie’s Beach Shack is open every afternoon to accommodate guests wishing to enjoy a ‘sundowner’ – picnic hampers can be delivered outside these times.

We do not understand why this customer and partner both felt it necessary to write a similar review, however we trust we have addressed all items of concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    303
    70
    41
    10
See reviews for
178
980
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is OK, maybe good. The food of the restaurant is amazing, very tasty, but the quantity of food (with deserts) is insufficient and expensive.
The service is friendly. The AC is very good.

The negative aspects are:
1. The rooms/bungalows (too ordinary forniture with a micro TV that you can't watch from the bed)
2. Cleanness (room, fridge and utensils). I used glasses and cups and they continued dirty after the room service cleaning the room and I had to wash it in the bathroom sink. The fridge had some shed liquid, like a milk.
3. No internet access (you still have lobby internet access so I don't think it's a priority).
4. Breakfast. You pay AU$27 (I'm not right about the price) for it but you have to choose what kind of breakfast you want and you still don't have basic mixed eggs, for example, because it's not part of the breakfast you "bought". For AU$27 I think you could have a good free and complete breakfast, right?
5. The beach from the hotel was "abandoned" in May.

I did a trip to Sydney, Melbourne and Cairns/Port Douglas. Thala Beach was the most expensive hotel I stayed, so I hoped it was better, but it wasn't. I don't think it's a good option for the price.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have big TVs, but it's good to certify your room has at least a 32'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tiago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are pleased this guest enjoyed our service and the cuisine served in Osprey’s Restaurant.

We apologise that the level of cleanliness experienced didn’t match expectations – this has been addressed this with the relevant managers however we wish they had brought this to our attention whilst in-house so we could rectify. We would like to advise all readers that we are addressing the television concerns.

We have free wifi in the main lodge building for all guests, we do not advertise that it is available in guest rooms. Herbie’s Beach Shack is open every afternoon to accommodate guests wishing to enjoy a ‘sundowner’ – picnic hampers can be delivered outside these times.

We do not understand why this customer and partner both felt it necessary to write a similar review, however we trust we have addressed all items of concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the private cabins in the rainforest, the friendly customer service and excellent facilities. We were here for three nights over the long weekend. We ate in the restaurant each night and enjoyed a good selection from the menu as well as daily specials. We paid extra for an ocean view room. It's pricey, but worth it for a special indulgence.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NettyBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This is such a lovely retreat, the cabins are all in the treetops, and ours had a stunning view of the beach. There is a private beach with a little shack that makes delicious cocktails you can enjoy in a hammock by the beach. Osprey restaraunt is phenomenal, they use a lot of local produce in creative ways. The service is great too, absolutely everyone was lovely. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We loved Thala Beach - with each lodge and the restaurant up in the canopy, it was great to watch and hear the parrots and other birds flitting around. The accommodation is spacious, comfortable and beautifully designed, the staff are lovely, we loved the location, and the overall ecofriendly ethos. Fabulous :o)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoochMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a wonderful week we spent within the beautiful surrounds of Thala Beach Lodge. This place has it all there for a couple looking to relax and distance yourselves from civilization for a while. Sprawling property with various walks, interaction with native fauna and flora, always smiling and helpful staff, wonderful food and drink as well as a secluded beach to lounge on.

Would definitely (and already have) recommend to others. Carefully considered resort with conservation high in priority. Terrific stay.

Room Tip: Sounds of the rainforest and surrounding bush are abundant at night at all parts of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Absolutely delightful hotel about 20 minutes outside of Port Douglas. If you're looking for some tranquility, beautiful views, and want to get a way from it all this is a great place. Was greeted by a tiny gecko in my bathroom who stayed with me for the duration of the visit.

Pros
- Lovely grounds with some gorgeous views.
- Bungalows are a nice size, and have large bathrooms.
- Two pools, and private beach (sadly the water is off limits during Box Jellyfish mating season).
- Restaurant is delicious (had three dinners there and they were grand!), and the views from the restaurant are top notch.
- Service with a smile! All of the staff were pleasant, and very helpful.

Cons
- Be prepared for bugs - after all, you're in the tropics.
- No wifi in rooms, but there's free wifi (sluggish) in the main part of the hotel.
- No room service.
- Menu is a little limited, food is delicious, but there's not a ton of variety.
- Pillows were dreadful, they were so flat I had to pile three on top of one another.
- Front desk will arrange travel for you if you want to get into Port Douglas ($8.00 each way).

If you're looking for luxury, a ton of amenities, or something in the middle of it all - this is not for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow close to the main part of the hotel unless you don't mind walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bean_Burrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
814 reviews
7.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
733 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Property: Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing