We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A secluded and peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A secluded and peaceful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really couldn't recommend this resort more; it is secluded and beautiful, and the staff are always genuinely friendly and helpful.

The resort is beautifully designed, with winding paths providing seclusion and privacy for the rooms, and hidden spots to sit and enjoy the view. The restaurant and bar area has magnificent views - one way over the ocean, and the other way back along the coast. Even the pool is well-designed, with the sun lounges hidden in different places to give you privacy.

On arrival we were very lucky to have been upgraded to a Eucalypt Bungalow. The room was lovely, a little cabin set on a hillside with a balcony view through the treetops. The room itself was quite simple, but really did have everything we needed. It had a bath too!

We highly recommend the stargazing. We saw the rings of Saturn, and many beautiful constellations, pointed out by a very enthusiastic and warm staff member who was happy to answer any questions.

The restaurant was definitely a fine dining experience, with prices to match. Highly recommended for a special occasion, and the staff were excellent. We were on a bit of a budget during our stay, so we opted to drive to Port Douglas for a few of our dinners. Breakfast too is very expensive ($27 pp, not including hot food), so if you are looking to save some money on your trip, one option is to buy some cereal and milk and enjoy it on your balcony with that beautiful view!

Two beautiful beaches are only a very short walk from every room, and you must enjoy a drink at Herbie's Beach Shack. The beaches are public, but like everywhere else in the resort, you really do feel like it's yours!

We stayed at the resort during the peak school holiday time, but especially in contrast to Port Douglas, Thala was peaceful and the perfect escape for a couple. Thanks to all the wonderful staff who made the stay so special for us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannaRose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    295
    69
    41
    10
See reviews for
164
952
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in May 2014. The place is stunning - on its own little parcel of forest and beach. We stayed in a Jungle Walk Bungalow, set deep into the forest. Very nice and quiet. The main lodge is beautiful, with stunning views over the water. The restaurant is good, if a little expensive (but probably not a whole lot more extensive than many Port Douglas restaurants). Breakfast would have been very expensive if we had eaten there, but we found alternatives. Port Douglas itself is about 15 minutes away. We hired a car from Cairns airport, which I recommend. It gives you more flexibility to get into Port Douglas when you want - which has some nice restaurants and shops - as well as into the Daintree and other attractions nearby. Also notable are the little extras, like the sky gazing. They have a couple of telescopes and one of the staff will bring them out every week and show you various things like the rings of Saturn or double stars. Very cool.

Overall, a very quiet, peaceful and beautiful place will positioned fro Port Douglas, Daintree, etc.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CairoToCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Thala really is a peaceful paradise, but you don't get this bit of paradise cheaply !
We stayed in a jungle bungalow down the hill near the beach and the room was lovely as expected, though the TV was very small by today's standards.
We did the star-gazing activity which was great and run by a real enthusiast ... there are many other nature options depending on your likes, and the matching of your & Thala's schedule.
The beach (and afternoon cocktail shack !) are on Oak Beach which is a lovely beach.
We just had sweets from The Osprey restaurant and they were simply to die for !
However it must be said that for such a place the breakfast was disappointing in quality.
The staff were very friendly and I'd recommend Thala for something special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiny_Norman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Thala in early February. It is like being in another very special and very romantic world. The rooms are lovely and the view from our balcony was spectacular. Meals were uniformly excellent with a magnificent setting including birds, insects and other types of wildlife. Additionally, we got a guided eco tour of the property with our very knowledgeable guide who described the flora, fauna, insects and the history and development of the Thala property. It is truly a magical place and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Thala Beach from 18th-20th June 2014. Our stay was definitely a memorable one as we got married here on 20th June just the two of us.

A transfer from Cairns airport took about 1 hour with great scenery, the minute we arrived at Thala it was just as I expected it to be and the place is definitely at nature.

We had a Coral sea bungalow which was lovely spacious and clean.
We had the four night honeymoon coral dreamings package that included breakfast, one meal at ospreys restaurant and a reef trip it was defiantly worth the money, we wish we had stayed longer.

All the staff here are lovely, very help full and attentive they always had time to answer any questions.
The food in the restaurant is wonderful and very tasty the tiramisu was my favourite.

Our wedding day was amazing and we loved every minute of it and it would not of been the same without the below listed- we used Darlene Woodward as our celebrant and she was just fantastic! Hannes Theron was our photographer and he was also great and took some really lovely photos, Danielle from Cairns wedding make up and hair was my stylist and did a brilliant job! I would like to highly recommend all three of them to anyone getting married here.
Fortunately for us we had a sunny warm day so we could get married at the beach, the beach was my favourite it was just beautiful.
Angie is the wedding co-ordinator at Thala she was attentive when asked a question and she will assist with all the weddings, however she is only best to talk to via email only sometimes phone call, we did not get to meet her until 2 hours before our wedding which was a little disappointing as we would of liked to of been able to see her for a chat and shown around the different ceremony venues options.

We will defiantly stay at Thala again and we hope to stay again next year.

Thanks Thala, Victoria and Daniel

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ve09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was my second trip to Thala... I was here a couple of years ago and loved it so much we stopped off overnight again this trip.

Our rooms, the staff, the location were all amazing... couldnt fault a thing. The private beach with herbies shack is just gorgeous... dinner in Osprey's was to die for.. food was fabulous at both dinner and breakfast.

would def count this is my top 1% of places to stay

Room Tip: if you want to use the private beach, try getting a room as close as it as possible, its quite an up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevlea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I returned to Thala after staying there 3 years ago. We did not regret it. We enjoyed our bungalow with a view of the Coral Sea for 6 days. The Osprey had delicious food and Port Douglas restaurants did, too. The shuttle to town was easy to use. The sea was too rough for us to snorkel, but we found other activities and had a wonderful time in paradise. The free beach discovery tour was fun, and we did lots of outdoor walking that helped burn calories. Thala is a great place for nature lovers. We had terrific massages at their spa on a rainy day, too. A trip highlight was a full day rain forest walkabout with an Aboriginal guide. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We hope to return to this unique resort in future years.

Room Tip: If you are going for the ocean view, stay in one of the Coral Sea bungalows although a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustDucky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Property: Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing