We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We started our trip at Thala Beach Lodge, so we could get over jetlag. What an amazing place. Starting with our check-in, the staff were extremely attentive, knew our names for the duration of our five days with them, and were most helpful in booking tours and recommending restaurants in Pt. Douglas, about a 20 minute ride away. We stayed in bungalow 40, which was close enough to the main lodge to walk comfortably either during the day or in the dark at night. The room was extremely comfortable; the beds and pillows were perfect and the bathroom was large, with a good shower. We had dinner one night at the Lodge and the food was excellent. We thought it was expensive, but later found that the food everywhere, including restaurants in Pt. Douglas, was expensive. We went on an organized nature walk on the property and learned all about trees, birds and the area in general. This was a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the lodge as some are quite a walk up/down a steep hill towards the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    290
    69
    41
    10
See reviews for
158
940
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our second stay at Thala Beach Lodge and it more than lived up to our expectations and memories. The location is magical; so quiet and peaceful, a perfect escape from our hectic lives. The service was excellent and all the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. We swam at the beach every day & really enjoyed sitting under the shade of a palm tree with hardly a soul around. Spoiled ourselves with great cocktails at the Beach Shack and at the bar before heading into the restaurant for superb evening meals. My only complaint was that 6 nights just wasn't long enough! Eagerly looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Coral Sea bungalows have spectacular views over the treetops across to the Coral Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan-n-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me and my husband spent our anniversary here recently and were greatly rewarded. This resort is absolutely beautiful. The accommodation, views, food and service were a delight to be had. The cocounut drinks were so refreshing and would have to be the best cocktail we have had anywhere. Highly recommend anyone visit this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORT REPUBLIC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Beautiful beach, great location, terrific little bungalows and an incredibly attentive staff. The food is generally good and creative, incorporating fresh local products. The grounds are lovely and the staff obviously cares a great deal for the property. They will go out of their way to make sure your needs are met, including sightseeing, car rental, air transport, etc. Wi fi is available at the lodge, but not in room. However, it keeps you from compulsively checking work emails and texts. Spa services were also very good.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are difficult to access due to geography. If a person has disabilities, they may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beegirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Thala for 5 nights earlier this month. A special treat for a significant birthday.

Not only is the location extraordinary, the service was impeccable and the food was great. We spent most mornings enjoying a 2 hour breakfast taking in the view and reading the papers (free wifi).

We didn't have a car so sampled everything that Thala had to offer. Dawn ocean swims, star gazing, lazy lunches, wildlife watching, sea kayaking and afternoon lounging by the pool. More than once we drank champagne at each of the gorgeous lookout points.

We normally are adventure tourists, cycle touring, hiking or camping. So this luxurious holiday was out of the ordinary but surprisingly not out of character. This is an eco-resort in the true sense of the word. I loved the fact the owners resisted the urge to replicate a urban concrete monstrosity that is common to port douglas. And have taken great care to rehabilitate the land.

I would recommend Thala to anyone who is looking to unwind and escape from reality. Every cent is worth it as you won't want to come home!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A great spot - quiet and is truly a secluded woodland/beach setting.

A few things to watch out for - we paid and extra $50 per night for the Eucalypt Bungalow which according to the web site "beckons the outside in with all rooms turned to maximise the views from their open sides and superb balconies". Not a hint of a view [mountain or otherwise] from Unit 26 and never had sun on the deck through the trees for any of the seven sunny days. Expected that from the Jungle Walk - that is why we upgraded.

Dinners are fair game but breakfast was what I thought very expensive - $33.50 per head for full. We spent $51 for two the first morning and that did not include a glass of juice for my wife ...

We enjoyed the restaurant and staff.

Room Tip: As above, watch for some semblance of a view with the Eucalypt Bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are so pleased these clients enjoyed our secluded woodlands and beach setting, as well as our restaurant and staff. We are disappointed they didn't enjoy the experience of being amongst the forest canopy during their time in their bungalow - we have many guests choose the Eucalypt Bungalows especially for the views and ambience of wildlife & nature interactions. Regarding breakfast, there are a number of options guests are welcome to choose from according to budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Thala Beach Lodge with my husband and 6 year old son for 4 nights. I have to say that the written descriptions and photos had not prepared me for how lovely it is in real life. A long driveway leads to the main lodge, which sits nestled at he top of a hill and commands majestic views. We stayed in the cheapest lodge available, and although we didn't have the views, we still had our own quiet place with lots of room to move, surrounded by trees.

The bed wasn't all that comfortable, but I so enjoyed hearing the sound of absolute silence at night (with the odd bird call and the ocean in the distance), that I slept really well.

The restaurant is expensive so we only had breakfast there.

Unfortunately neither the restaurant nor the activities offered by the hotel (bird watching, star gazing - which starts at 9.30 pm) cater to children, which I feel is a shame. Nevertheless, our son loved having access to the chess boards and various board games on loan.

The TV in our room was small, as has been noted by other reviewers, but we weren't bothered by that. We don't have this kind of idyll and beach at home, whereas we do have a TV!

I would highly recommend this place, although I do caution families that it is geared to adults more than children.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieWonderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are so pleased these clients enjoyed our setting, views, accommodation, beach, serenity and natural ambience! We don’t provide a children’s entertainment program or ‘kids club’ as we find most families prefer to enjoy & explore our natural surrounds during their time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Property: Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing