We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a great start to our Australian vacation. You do need some level of fitness to climb the hill from your cabin to the main building but the privacy of the cabins is great. We really liked the staff. The real highlight was the morning breakfast with the beautiful rainbow lorikeets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The rooms are lodges built on a headland around the main building. Ours was quite far away, but the team there have golf buggies at your beck and call, so you'll never have to walk too far. The room was lovely and had the feeling of "colonial comfort". It's not absolutely opulent, but it's very comfortable.
The hotel is only a short drive from Port Douglas where so many boats sail to the Great Barrier Reef. There are buses that will get you there and back to Cairns, including the airport.
There's no wifi in the room, but there is in the main hotel foyer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulCoyne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We started our trip at Thala Beach Lodge, so we could get over jetlag. What an amazing place. Starting with our check-in, the staff were extremely attentive, knew our names for the duration of our five days with them, and were most helpful in booking tours and recommending restaurants in Pt. Douglas, about a 20 minute ride away. We stayed in bungalow 40, which was close enough to the main lodge to walk comfortably either during the day or in the dark at night. The room was extremely comfortable; the beds and pillows were perfect and the bathroom was large, with a good shower. We had dinner one night at the Lodge and the food was excellent. We thought it was expensive, but later found that the food everywhere, including restaurants in Pt. Douglas, was expensive. We went on an organized nature walk on the property and learned all about trees, birds and the area in general. This was a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the lodge as some are quite a walk up/down a steep hill towards the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our second stay at Thala Beach Lodge and it more than lived up to our expectations and memories. The location is magical; so quiet and peaceful, a perfect escape from our hectic lives. The service was excellent and all the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. We swam at the beach every day & really enjoyed sitting under the shade of a palm tree with hardly a soul around. Spoiled ourselves with great cocktails at the Beach Shack and at the bar before heading into the restaurant for superb evening meals. My only complaint was that 6 nights just wasn't long enough! Eagerly looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Coral Sea bungalows have spectacular views over the treetops across to the Coral Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jan-n-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me and my husband spent our anniversary here recently and were greatly rewarded. This resort is absolutely beautiful. The accommodation, views, food and service were a delight to be had. The cocounut drinks were so refreshing and would have to be the best cocktail we have had anywhere. Highly recommend anyone visit this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Beautiful beach, great location, terrific little bungalows and an incredibly attentive staff. The food is generally good and creative, incorporating fresh local products. The grounds are lovely and the staff obviously cares a great deal for the property. They will go out of their way to make sure your needs are met, including sightseeing, car rental, air transport, etc. Wi fi is available at the lodge, but not in room. However, it keeps you from compulsively checking work emails and texts. Spa services were also very good.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are difficult to access due to geography. If a person has disabilities, they may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank beegirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Thala for 5 nights earlier this month. A special treat for a significant birthday.

Not only is the location extraordinary, the service was impeccable and the food was great. We spent most mornings enjoying a 2 hour breakfast taking in the view and reading the papers (free wifi).

We didn't have a car so sampled everything that Thala had to offer. Dawn ocean swims, star gazing, lazy lunches, wildlife watching, sea kayaking and afternoon lounging by the pool. More than once we drank champagne at each of the gorgeous lookout points.

We normally are adventure tourists, cycle touring, hiking or camping. So this luxurious holiday was out of the ordinary but surprisingly not out of character. This is an eco-resort in the true sense of the word. I loved the fact the owners resisted the urge to replicate a urban concrete monstrosity that is common to port douglas. And have taken great care to rehabilitate the land.

I would recommend Thala to anyone who is looking to unwind and escape from reality. Every cent is worth it as you won't want to come home!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
993 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#14 of 42 in Port Douglas
865 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,583 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range: £142 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing