We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,639)
Filter reviews
1,639 results
Traveller rating
1,159
342
78
47
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,159
342
78
47
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach nature walk rock pools coral sea golf buggy main building welcome drink port douglas flora and fauna every other day stinger season our honeymoon bird life the great barrier reef shuttle bus shuttle service peace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,639 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2019

enjoyed a romantic getaway with the husband. the tone was set right from arrival - steep drive way up to reception, leave the car there, have a welcome drink, luggage transferred to room, car parked for you, room amazing - glimpses of the ocean - spacious, well appointed, very comfortable bed. two different pools on the property, both beautiful. several walks over the property. private beach with lounging chairs, as well as hammocks. all staff so so helpful and friendly. restaurant: could not choose!! beautiful food, well presented seated overlooking the Coral Sea, enjoying the sea breeze so it was not too warm. (the restaurant is undercover, otherwise open.
bit of a walk to the room from reception and unfortunately no lights on the path...
would recommend stay for anyone enjoying nature, away from it all and luxury.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cameronfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, General Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Cameronfromoz for your five star review. It was our pleasure to help make your romantic getaway a very special one to remember and we're thrilled to read your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Johan Klindt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

We stayed here with our three teens in two separate cabins. We loved it! The customer service is impeccable, rooms are secluded and quiet, easy access to the beach, wonderful view from the deck, excellent food in the restaurant, beautiful pool. There is a lovely, forested walk from the cabins up to the lodge, where we saw frogs, lizards, butterflies and birds. Rooms were clean with a nice bathroom with a tub. Wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of the waves and nothing else. Even though the room didn't have wifi, the teens didn't want to leave - I think that says something! (wifi is available in the lodge) Parking is free, and bell service is excellent. Offered towels to take on our scuba trip, which was a nice touch. Easy drive to Port Douglas and Cairns.

Room tip: Cabins 1 and 2 have amazing, unobstructed views of the Coral Sea with quick access to the beach and a short walk to the lodge.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LTA0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, General Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Thank you so much LTA0118 for choosing Thala for your family holiday. It's such a thrill for us to hear how families enjoy spending time together exploring the forests and its animals.
We do hope to see you again!
Best wishes
Johan Klindt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

The hotel is in a stunning spot with views out to the landscape from the restaurant and bar. The resort has a very homely, relaxing feel and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The beach is so beautiful and unspoilt unlike many other beaches on the east coast. It still feel very wild but still comfortable with hammocks and loungers. It was a shame it was stinger season and we couldn’t swim in the sea.

The pools were cool and a bit different to a typical hotel pool. Only down side was there wasn’t really enough sun loungers for everyone.

Although I had a wonderful time, these are the improvements I think are needed:
- bathrooms need an update. They were a bit run down and cheap looking. For the price, I’d expect a more luxurious bathroom.
- shuttle to Port Douglas should be complimentary - currently costs $20 return
- breakfast was too expensive at $25 per person. Ideally it would be included in the room rate.

If you stay here I’d recommend renting a car so you can explore the area. It’s an amazing part of the world and you’ll have a fab time at Thala.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank annabelm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, General Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Thank you very much annabelm2016 for your terrific review and feedback. We're delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
The shuttle service is operated by an independent business who sets the rate for pick up & drop off at Thala.
We are indeed planning an upgrade to all bathrooms, which were last updated in 2016
We do have packages available that include breakfast, or even breakfast & dinner, which offers big savings when you book these packages before you arrive.
thanks again for choosing Thala and we hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Johan Klindt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

Well not often you get to stay in a resort in the rainforest but wow this place is out of this world. The wife and I came here with no expectations and left with memories that will be with us forever. The pole homes are scattered throughout the forest and the views are something you need to see to believe. Although it was raining for half the time it was still excellent. The walking tracks and the beach shack with a secluded beach hammocks and no one else wow. The staff didnt stop trying to make the stay a beautiful memory. Life is built on memories and the more the good better the conversation. We will be talking about our stay forever. Thank you to all that made Janet and myself welcome. You rocked it.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shanem12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, General Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2018

Oh my Shanem12345, we are flattered by your kind words and terrific feedback. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience at Thala - we are so thrilled to have helped create wonderful memories to last a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon!
Best wishes
Johan Klindt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2018 via mobile

Just an amazing place. Great nature tracks to explore and relax. Very friendly and helpful staffs. Good selection of spirits wines and cocktails. Cheap transportation to CAIRNS and port Douglas. A must visit resort

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gobieji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, General Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2018

Thanks so much Gobieji for choosing Thala for your weekend getaway and for sharing your terrific feedback about our helpful, friendly staff, great drinks selection and cheap transport options to Cairns & Port Douglas
Best wishes
Johan Klindt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews