We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$848
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,552 results
Traveller rating
1,090
329
77
44
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,090
329
77
44
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachnature walkrock poolsgolf buggycoral seamain buildingwelcome drinkport douglaseco lodgeflora and faunaevery other daystinger seasonour honeymoonbird lifethe great barrier reefshuttle busshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 1,552 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Amazing hotel. Natural setting really encouraged the wildlife of which we saw plenty. Private beach was great, with no rips, crocs or stingers. Really loved this place and we'll definitely be coming back for an anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gribler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

from the moment we arrived this was a very impressive place to stay. The service was excellent, the facilities and standard of rooms was of a very high quality, the food was excellent. You can tell that it's an indepednently-owned hotel in the pride that everyone takes in the place. It's not a cutting edge designer hotel, but it is a very comfortable and friendly place to stay which stands apart from chain hotels. And it was also very good value for the quality of product.

We'd highly recommend this hotel and would return ourselves if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbieinhighbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

My parents, husband, one year old daughter and I recently returned to the UK after spending a few days at Thala Beach as part of our Australia tour. We can honestly say that Thala Beach was by far the best location, level of service, quality of food, fantastic self contained rooms and relaxing venue.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by an extremley friendly receptionist and shown upstairs to the bar for our complimentary fruit punch. Our bags were transported to our rooms and when we were ready to make our way to our lodges, a friendly porter drove us to our rooms on a little golf cart.

The reception is based at the top of a very steep hill with the self contained lodges sprawled out below, for those who wish to walk up the hill to the restaurant it is no distance, but those wanting to be spoiled, the porter is available to transport you to wherever you wish on the resort.

Port Douglas is about a 15 mins drive away if you want to sample the restaurants there. We however, opted to stay at Thala and eat at the onsite restaurant. The food was wonderful and the service we received exceptional. To top it off the restaurant boasts wonderful sea views.

At breakfast, you have a large selection of hot and cold dishes to opt for and the hotel staff kindly put out papaya for the local birds to eat which provides amusement for your morning coffee.

If you wish to leave the resort there are golf courses nearby (which my husband thoroughly enjoyed) or you could go into Port Douglas and join one of the barrier reef cruises. We opted for Poseidon who were brilliant, they offer a day of snorkelling, morning and afternoon tea and a lovely lunch. We took our one year old on board so please do not feel deterred if you have children.

If you want to stay onsite at Thala, I would strongly suggest a full body massage. My mum and I treated ourselves, it is well worth the money you pay!

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel to couples or families. You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Thala Beach is a real gem and I only wish we could go back again now!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yatesy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We booked a honeymoon package at Thala for the beginning of October and we will remember our four nights there for the rest of our lives. From the arranged transfers, to the amazing food, deserted beaches and beautiful pool, it was just the most amazing way to spend our first few days in Australia.

We arrived early in the morning, but had no problems getting into our lodge early. The sound of the beach lapping on the shore, and the animals moving around ticked every 'tropical paradise' cliche going and was extremely welcome after 30 hours travelling.

Breakfasts, included in our package, were generous and varied, and enough to keep us full until dinner. Dinner was the best food we had in Australia, and all meals are served in the open-sided restaurant with spectacular views and parrots feeding at breakfast time.

This is rainforest country, and you will see wildlife, but the rooms were bug free, clean and comfortable. Daytime transport into nearby Port Douglas was included in our package (by the time you've paid the cost of getting there in the evening its cheaper, and probably far tastier, to eat in the restaurant) and with the range of free on-site talks and walks, there is plenty to do although if you were staying for longer you might appreciate a car.

In short, the perfect getaway location and somewhere we would love to return to, if it wasn't the other side of the world.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerijenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

An excellent conference location that allows the subject matter to be obsorbed and reflected upon without the usual external infuences of modern life.
Excellent and friendly staff support, aligned with a location that is as diverse as your imagnation ensures peace and rest; specialist inclusive support for trips & excursions allows you to travel around a unique area of queensland, whilst Wi-Fi support allows access to the outer world.
Natural surroundings including the beach, walks in the tropical forest, night observations, clean cool pools and individual accomodation set within the forest all add up to a special experience.
Meals are provided to a very high standard with a good choice to suit all needs.
Cultural presentations also delivered an insight into the indigenous life of Australia.
An excellent location not to be missed when travelling around the Cairns & Port Douglas region.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaip641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews