We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Night in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A Night in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Absolutely magnificant location, beautiful lodge and the staff could not have been more hospitable. One night was not enough!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    295
    69
    41
    10
See reviews for
164
952
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I knew our stay would be great from the moment we entered the long driveway leading up to the main building. (and even before that we were impressed when the lodge rearranged our pick-up time for Cairns.) As we got out of the car at the bottom of the beautiful stairway, a staff member met us, brought up our bags and then had juice brought to us as we waited on a picturesque balcony. We were given a clean, roomy, comfortable cabin with a stunning sea view. Our dinner was yummy, and the next day we discovered the nature trails. We then spent a lazy afternoon at a beach that seemed like the one every postcard uses - it was stunning and had hammocks and beach lounges placed about so that each couple or group could have some space to themselves.
Unfortunately we only had two nights booked, but I would have gladly stayed longer, and hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Amazing hotel. Natural setting really encouraged the wildlife of which we saw plenty. Private beach was great, with no rips, crocs or stingers. Really loved this place and we'll definitely be coming back for an anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gribler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

from the moment we arrived this was a very impressive place to stay. The service was excellent, the facilities and standard of rooms was of a very high quality, the food was excellent. You can tell that it's an indepednently-owned hotel in the pride that everyone takes in the place. It's not a cutting edge designer hotel, but it is a very comfortable and friendly place to stay which stands apart from chain hotels. And it was also very good value for the quality of product.

We'd highly recommend this hotel and would return ourselves if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbieinhighbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My parents, husband, one year old daughter and I recently returned to the UK after spending a few days at Thala Beach as part of our Australia tour. We can honestly say that Thala Beach was by far the best location, level of service, quality of food, fantastic self contained rooms and relaxing venue.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by an extremley friendly receptionist and shown upstairs to the bar for our complimentary fruit punch. Our bags were transported to our rooms and when we were ready to make our way to our lodges, a friendly porter drove us to our rooms on a little golf cart.

The reception is based at the top of a very steep hill with the self contained lodges sprawled out below, for those who wish to walk up the hill to the restaurant it is no distance, but those wanting to be spoiled, the porter is available to transport you to wherever you wish on the resort.

Port Douglas is about a 15 mins drive away if you want to sample the restaurants there. We however, opted to stay at Thala and eat at the onsite restaurant. The food was wonderful and the service we received exceptional. To top it off the restaurant boasts wonderful sea views.

At breakfast, you have a large selection of hot and cold dishes to opt for and the hotel staff kindly put out papaya for the local birds to eat which provides amusement for your morning coffee.

If you wish to leave the resort there are golf courses nearby (which my husband thoroughly enjoyed) or you could go into Port Douglas and join one of the barrier reef cruises. We opted for Poseidon who were brilliant, they offer a day of snorkelling, morning and afternoon tea and a lovely lunch. We took our one year old on board so please do not feel deterred if you have children.

If you want to stay onsite at Thala, I would strongly suggest a full body massage. My mum and I treated ourselves, it is well worth the money you pay!

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel to couples or families. You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Thala Beach is a real gem and I only wish we could go back again now!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yatesy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We booked a honeymoon package at Thala for the beginning of October and we will remember our four nights there for the rest of our lives. From the arranged transfers, to the amazing food, deserted beaches and beautiful pool, it was just the most amazing way to spend our first few days in Australia.

We arrived early in the morning, but had no problems getting into our lodge early. The sound of the beach lapping on the shore, and the animals moving around ticked every 'tropical paradise' cliche going and was extremely welcome after 30 hours travelling.

Breakfasts, included in our package, were generous and varied, and enough to keep us full until dinner. Dinner was the best food we had in Australia, and all meals are served in the open-sided restaurant with spectacular views and parrots feeding at breakfast time.

This is rainforest country, and you will see wildlife, but the rooms were bug free, clean and comfortable. Daytime transport into nearby Port Douglas was included in our package (by the time you've paid the cost of getting there in the evening its cheaper, and probably far tastier, to eat in the restaurant) and with the range of free on-site talks and walks, there is plenty to do although if you were staying for longer you might appreciate a car.

In short, the perfect getaway location and somewhere we would love to return to, if it wasn't the other side of the world.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerijenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

An excellent conference location that allows the subject matter to be obsorbed and reflected upon without the usual external infuences of modern life.
Excellent and friendly staff support, aligned with a location that is as diverse as your imagnation ensures peace and rest; specialist inclusive support for trips & excursions allows you to travel around a unique area of queensland, whilst Wi-Fi support allows access to the outer world.
Natural surroundings including the beach, walks in the tropical forest, night observations, clean cool pools and individual accomodation set within the forest all add up to a special experience.
Meals are provided to a very high standard with a good choice to suit all needs.
Cultural presentations also delivered an insight into the indigenous life of Australia.
An excellent location not to be missed when travelling around the Cairns & Port Douglas region.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaip641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Property: Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing