We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Taste of Paradise for us !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Taste of Paradise for us !”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

From the minute we drove into the immculate coconut plantation, the sweep up to the main Lodge, the Welcome from Reception, the impact of the stunning views from the balconys, the delightful, hard working staff...nothing was any trouble. The net work of wee lodges in the grounds worked so well, complete privacy, very quiet and so comfortable. .....you are actually in the rainforest so be prepared for torrentiall showers big umbrellas provided, perfect. All meals are served on the Balconies of the Main Lodge absolutely delicious and beautifully served. The pool, spa and the Beach are super only issue can't swim in the sea in November ...deadly box jelly fish !! but a fabulous walk we had the beach all to ourselves one day. Could go on and on we had a wonderful time thank you all so much.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanmarie186506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    295
    70
    41
    10
See reviews for
166
959
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed at Thala Beach for a few nights whilst on honeymoon but wish we could have stayed longer! The setting was lovely, from the wooden cabins set amongst the trees to the private beach, it was just so relaxing and we particularly liked the fresh mango juices and cocktails. The service we had from all members of staff was first class, they were so friendly and helpful. We went on the star gazing tour with Rose (something we have never done before) and we also listened to the talk from the local Aboriginal elders, which were both interesting. The only suggestion I would make would be somewhere to purchase snacks rather than a full meal occasionally. Yes, it's true that Thala Beach is expensive but it is well worth it for the setting and the service and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

This is a great hotel with great staff but............be warned, if you are a townie and not used to bugs and critters, you will be in for a surprise. Lets start with all the positive stuff, of which there is plenty.......We had booked for 3 nights for my wife's birthday as part of our Oz tour. I had emailed the hotel ahead and told them it was her birthday and we were delighted that we were given a free room upgrade plus a bottle of bubbly in the room. A lovely welcome! She was also given a free 'birthday cake with candle' upon request. Superb. The food was fabulous and we found that we could survive on starter and dessert as the servings were so big. Breakfast was good and the highlight was the feeding of the parrots in the trees. The setting is lovely and a walk down to the beach revealed a superb, isolated setting.
We went to the coconut talk which was interesting, though given by a guy who believed that coconuts and all their derivatives were the answer to all the worlds ills. Don't waste you time going to this. Instead take the bus to Port Douglas which great, especially the Sunday market. I wanted to attend the stargazing but it wasn't on due to cloudy conditions.

But.....the bugs. Obviously Thala is set on the edge of a rainforest and therefore is full of wildlife. It is just we didn't realise quite how much. After dark, cane toads are everywhere, spiders the size of my hand and other bugs worthy of a bush tucker trial. We were lucky that our upgraded room was close to the hotel complex but the other rooms - eg Jungle rooms - are a walk/golf buggy ride away in the semi darkness and wouldn't be fun trying to negotiate. But the worst problem we had were the geekos in the room. Normally this wouldn't bother us but these were much bigger than usual and scuttled noisily everywhere whilst we TRIED to sleep. The hotel staff where very reassuring and tried to calm us down, but, after we had spent the 2nd night with the lights on (I know, what a couple of lightweights!!), we decided to check out 1 day early.
Even then, the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful in making a phone and fax available for us.
So. The hotel and the staff are great and so is the food. If bugs and critters don't bother you, then you will really enjoy Thala. If they do bother you then reconsider going to the rainforest!!
As my wife constantly said at the time........."I'm a Princess, get me out of here!"

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pudsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2010

The Thala Beach Lodge exceeded our expectations. The grounds were beautiful, we had the gorgeous beach to ourselves, the employees went above and beyond and the bungalow was perfect. On our last day we discovered a flat tire and the valet (I think his name was Sean) changed it for us. I was so disappointed that we had literally just paid our bill with every last cent of our Australian money and there was no ATM, so we couldn't tip him.

My only complaint is that the restaurant was very expensive ($25 for a continental breakfast) and the dinner portions were quite small. My boyfriend was still hungry after every meal. Try to bring lots of snacks or be prepared to drive into town for some meals.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

My wife and daughter from Canada stayed at Thala Beach Lodge in September 2009 and loved the location, the room, the food and staff. They said it was the perfect spot to enjoy great scenery, peace and quiet, among other things.
My wife and I travelled to Australia again this past October 2010 and made a special point of booking the lodge again. It is a very special place to relax, enjoy good food and be pampered. There are plenty of outdoor activities the lodge provides also to enjoy nature in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortyandsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK-Swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed at Thala Beach Lodge for 4 nights. Our room was lovely with stunning views. All thr staff were very friendly and helpful and ensured our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. We had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and again the service and food were exceptional. The hotel about 20 minutes drive from Port Douglas and we used the shuttle bus which stops at other hotels on the way whch can make the journey longer but is good value for money. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The lodge was absolutely lovely, and the service was great... when the service was there. I must say that on a couple of occasions we had to go look for personnel (one time called reception without response, twice at bar that bartender was chatting with colleagues somewhere else) during normal operating hours.
The other thing which is prettly lousy is the WIFI. The hotel claims to have WIFI, and it has numerous (!) networks, of which none seems to work longer than 15 minutes before everyting falls apart.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pladijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Property: Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing