We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liz, Gaby and CJ make a difference!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bedford Park
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Liz, Gaby and CJ make a difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

When we checked into the Residence Inn Chicago Midway on 10/5/13, the front desk person (I don't recall her name) was as about as indifferent as you can get. She didn't say much to us at all, just gave us our room keys...no directions to the elevator, reminder about breakfast, enjoy your stay...nothing.

The next morning, the day shift staff turned it around and reminded us what kind of customer service we expect from Marriott brands hotels. Liz and Gaby were phenomenal in the breakfast bar area, meeting customer requests and cleaning up to insure a clean dining space for all guests.

CJ (I'm not completely sure of her name. When I asked her for names so I could write a review, she told me it was her last Sunday and to just list Liz and Gaby...in fact, when I gave her the paper to write the names down, she didn't write her own name down). This front desk staff person was friendly and personable and offered suggestions for this and future visits to Chicago. I hope she is going to another Marriott property, she's a keeper employee!

We normally stay a little closer to the city when we are in Chicago, but the nicely sized and appointed rooms along with lots of free parking may make this our Chicago home away from home on our many visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret D, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Residence Inn! We truly appreciate the compliments about the staff. Liz, Gaby & CJ are very grateful, and I have taken your review and posted it for the team so they each can be properly recognized. It was very nice of you to take time from your busy day to complete ths review. Thank you for your business. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Warmest regards,
Margaret Dye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    51
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
61
27
5
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is one of the nicer Residence Inns we've stayed in - it is relatively new (or at least looks so) and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was clean, quiet, and roomy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is a free courtesy shuttle that runs every 20 minutes from the hotels in the area to the airport and there is a El stop (Orange Line) at the airport that takes one straight into downtown (the loop). We found this to be very convenient. Breakfast was free and was somewhat better than other free breakfasts we've had.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret D, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Residence Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and that the amenities were comfortable and convenient. It is great to hear that you were able to utilize our convenient 24 hour shuttle. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

All the best,
Margaret Dye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We (parents and two teenage children) stayed for four nights. I picked the Residence because it offered free parking and free breakfast. It is located in a cluster of hotels near Midway. There is a free shuttle from the hotel area that came right to the Residence door and dropped us off at Midway, where we caught the Orange Line to The Loop. Many places we wanted to see--including The Bean and the Shedd Aquarium--were within walking distance of our stop. The hotel is obviously well-managed because every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful, and the lobby, hallways, and rooms are clean. Our room included a full-size refrigerator and stove as well as a microwave. There were different choices available each morning for breakfast (loved the biscuits!) and we took advantage of the pool and the exercise room. I highly recommend this hotel for budget-minded travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvSWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret D, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Residence Inn Chicago/Midway. We are so happy that we were able to provide you the convenient and comfortable amenities you were looking for while in Chicago. It is great to know you were able to utilize our shuttle to reach the orange line. Our city is so much fun, so it is wonderful that your family was able to take in all it has to offer! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next trip to Chicago:)
Warmest regards,
Margaret Dye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Middle of the night check in was well-handled - thank you to Robert for the assistance. The room (bedroom and living room) was very nice - clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was not great - out of oatmeal, waffle mix, but overall was OK. The airport shuttle, which was shared with a few other hotels in the immediate vicinity, was good. Only a short drive. Overall, the experience was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank factlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret D, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Residence Inn Chicago/Midway. We apppreciate your compliments about your room and about the service you received from Robert. I will make sure we recognize him for his efforts. We will also use your feedback on breakfast to improve in this area. We appreciate your time and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
All the best,
Margaret Dye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were moving our daughter to college and were driving a long truck with a trailer behind it. Parking in Chicago with a rig this long can be a problem. That is what prompted us to stay in a hotel at Midway Airport...their is ample parking that can accommodate a truck and trailer. Then it came down to which hotel. This Residence In had it all.

1) FREE Parking (most other hotels charged)
2) FREE WiFi
3) FREE breakfast
4) Suites (since we were traveling with 2 college kids that like to stay up later than us old adults)

When I called to make the reservation en-route, the person at the desk remarked it was "cookie night." I told her we would be there in time for cookies. So she promptly offered to set some aside for us. And she did! That is EXCELLENT service.

We were very happy with our stay. The hotel was excellent and had everything we needed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeGee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret D, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Residence Inn. We are so happy we were able to make your trip comfortable, especially with the stress of moving a child into college. We appreciate the kind words about the service you received. Best of luck to your daughter as she enters this exciting stage in her life. We sure hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
All the best,
Margaret Dye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the location was great. The room was very clean and the pool was as well. It was also surprisingly quiet at night even though it is not far from the airport. My ONLY suggestion here is that they add on-site parking for people who are flying out of midway, because we did have to drive to another location in the morning to park our vehicle! Otherwise a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carm2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret D, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Residence Inn Chicago/Midway. We appreciate the kinds words about the staff and cleanliness. Also, I wanted to make sure you are aware that we do in fact have on site parking for our airport guests. You can book the convenient Park, Sleep & Fly package which covers your room for the night and parking for up to 2 weeks while you travel. Our 24 hour complimentary shuttle service will take you to and from the airport. Any hotel staff member can assist in making these reservations for you.
Thank you for your business, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon,
Margaret Dye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I was first hesitant to book this hotel since it was about 8 or 9 miles from downtown areas. But when I saw the daily parking rates at the downtown hotels, I changed my reservation to this hotel. I am very glad for this change. We booked a larger corner suite for 2 nights and wanted to extend for one more night, even though the hotel was sold out, the staff went out of their way to accomodate us in the same room for the 3rd night. This suite is almost like a 2 bedroom suite with a complete privacy between the sleeping areas and with separate access to the bathroom. The suite was cleaned very neatly every day. The food served for breakfast and the evening reception were very nice. The staff are extremely pleasant even offering to clean your table after breakfast and evening social. To see this consistently with the changing staff says something about the quality of training the staff receive and the management here. They guided us about the public transportation CTA train service to downtown ("all you need is the Orange line; dont worry") which saved us a lot of money in parking. We highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amynaadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford Park
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Midway
Chicago Marriott Midway
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Address: 6638 S Cicero Ave, Bedford Park, IL 60638-5838
Region: United States > Illinois > Bedford Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bedford Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport hotel located just two blocks from the terminal, is among the most convenient hotels near Midway Airport. We offer a free shuttle service to MDW and business-friendly park-and-fly packages. Each pet-friendly suite features a fully-equipped kitchen, free WiFi, flat-screen TV and 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Guests enjoy a free hot breakfast buffet each morning and free weekday evening social with appetizers and drinks. You have plenty of dining options just steps away including TGI Fridays, Dempsey's and even Starbucks. Downtown Chicago is a quick ride away on the Orange Line El Train just five minutes from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Midway Hotel Bedford Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing